We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel for the money”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in November 2013 to go see a show at the Fox. It was important to me that we be within walking distance of the venue, but I didn't want to shell out $200/night to stay right next door. This hotel was fantastic. It was beautiful with plenty of helpful, professional and very friendly staff. Our check-in moved very quickly and smoothly and the desk attendant took out plenty of time to give us restaurant suggestions and walking directions to/from the restaurant and venue. I was a little nervous because there was a performance at the conference center and a nearby performance by Elton John that night, but the hotel remained calm and pristine despite all the traffic coming through. The rooms were nice and had a really neat view of some of the GTech classrooms. It was clean, comfortable, convenient and affordable. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value our position in the market place and are committed to provide clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations while striving for service excellence for all our visitors staying at our hotel. We will share all of your comments with our entire team and look forward to hosting you again should your travel plans bring you back to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    286
    56
    30
    15
See reviews for
188
116
45
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Will keep this as short as possible: spent hours looking up hotels, decided on this one and we were not disappointed! Rooms and property were very clean. Some noise from street (sirens) - and we were on the highest floor (8) - but that is to be expected downtown in a large city. Liked the eco-friendly shampoo/containers. Beds were very comfortable. Neighborhood felt safe - walked to Starbucks across the street for breakfast, the Varsity down a few blocks for dinner. Overall great stay!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeffMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity for share your feedback with the thousands of visitors to Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We will share all your comments with our entire team here at the hotel and look forward to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was looking forward to my trip to Atlanta. On my way to Atlanta, I discovered that I would be arriving earlier than expected so I called to see if I could arrive before check-in. The woman who answered the phone rudely cut me off before I finished speaking to tell me that it would not be possible for me to arrive early, so I waited until the appropriate time to check-in.
Upon arriving at the hotel, the front desk agent made an unnecessary and insulting comment that I looked too young to check-in alone. I work in the accounting and finance department at a five star hotel and have been in the hospitality industry for over five years, and I have never been treated this poorly by a hotel. At my hotel, we strive to make every guest feel important.

While in my room, I ordered room service for myself and my guest. Upon delivering my food to my room, the delivery person felt it acceptable to “inform” me that I could not charge it to the room if I was “using daddy's credit card.” Though I may look young, I am an adult and a professional, and this treatment and behavior by a hotel at which I am paying to stay is unacceptable.

Later on that night, while watching a football game on the television in my hotel room, a manager came to the room door and threatened my guest and me. After the frustrating night, we went to sleep only to be awakened at 9:00am by a housekeeper ready to clean the room. She did not understand that we were checking out at 11am, and we were basically forced to leave the hotel early and in a rush.

After more than five years in the hospitality and hotel industry, I, more than most, understand how a hotel should be managed and run. This hotel is an embarrassment to the industry. I travel to Atlanta fairly regularly, and I will not stay at this establishment again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback during your recent visit during the New Year's Eve Holiday. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused you as a result of an extremely festive evening in the hotel but we do certainly hope you allow the opportunity to earn your business in the near future. We will share all your concerns with the entire team here at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with the main intention to help my daughter settle into her rental apartment before her term starts in Georgia Tech. We were given a room on the 8th floor at a really fantastic student rate! Room was spacious and comfortable. Hotel location was suitable for our needs, we had a great breakfast at Waffles House and the mini Walmart had everything we needed. We took the MARTA and the tech trolley everyday and covered Downtown, Midtown, Decatur and Perimeter Village. Enjoyed our CNN tour on 29th Dec, Sunday and also had the rare opportunity to immerse into the 'excitement' of the crowd making their way to a football game that Sunday afternoon. We met many friendly locals. We tried the food outlets in Midtown and nearby Piedmont Park, and the food court in Perimeter Mall. Efficient check in/check out and smooth ride via tech trolley and MARTA from and to the airport. When we called to report a problem with the toilet flushing system on one of the days, it was immediately attended to and the problem rectified within minutes. A warm 'thank you' to the management and staff! We really enjoyed our stay in Atlanta!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Atlanta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Welcome to the Ga Tech Family. We are delighted you allowed us to be your gracious host during the recent student move-in. Thank you for sharing all the wonderful comments about your stay which we will share with our entire team here at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again during future visits. Goooooo Jackets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for my son's graduation from Georgia Tech (I also had stayed there for his freshman orientation!) It is a lovely hotel and well maintained. The staff was very attentive and helpful. It is on the Georgia Tech trolley route, so it is very convenient to campus and to MARTA. (Used MARTA to come in from the airport for only $2.50!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oh_mikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your recent stay. We are delighted that you allow us to be your gracious host and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The rooms were big and roomy, the service was attentive, and the food was better than we expected. I attended a conference here during the first week of December. I stayed in a king room, but even with the big bed I still had room to move about. I didn't get a chance to use the workout facilities or the pool. The food they had sitting out for us was great. And, all the staff I interacted with were pleasant and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebaspack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for all the wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. We wil share them with our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hephzibah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Although this is not the cheapest hotel in Atlanta, if you are a Tech fan then you must stay at this hotel! There is a replica of the Ramblin' Wreck in the lobby and everywhere you look is gold, white and blue. Then when you look out your window, it is everything Tech! There are buses going by with Buzz on the side, students everywhere and more. It was the closest we will ever be to actually being Tech students! The hotel is clean, very well maintained and the staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Room service was very good and very affordable. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The hotel is very well laid out. I do not think there is a bad location to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyhhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaTechHotelRevMgmt, Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted that you took to tell all the TECH LOVERS "YES". We sincerely appreciate all your comments and will share them with the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#15 of 173 in Atlanta
1,677 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#40 of 173 in Atlanta
3,069 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 800 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30308-1015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#8 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the vibrant streets of Midtown Atlanta and the Georgia Tech campus, our innovative hotel offers modern accommodations for high-energy business and leisure travelers who demand the luxuries of home and office. Designed for maximum comfort and capability, our 252 newly renovated guest rooms deliver a refreshing mix of urban flair and innovative technology that inspire creativity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Georgia Tech Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing