We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointed in Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elberton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed in Recent Stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am extremely disappointed in my most recent stay. I made reservations three months in advance for a course I was attending through Georgia Tech Professional Education. When I arrived at the hotel, I was informed that the hotel was overbooked and that they would move me to another hotel and take care of those charges. Additionally, the hotel that they sent me to was substandard. After already having one horrible experience at the GA Tech Hotel, I made reservations to stay again because the course I was taken was held at the Global Learning Center. One would think that guests who reserve a room three months in advance for the purposes of attending a Georgia Tech course at the Global Learning Center would be guaranteed a room. However this was not the case. I would certainly have appreciated a phone call in advance of check-in notifying me of the error. That way I could make arrangements at another hotel that met my expectations, as opposed to the hotel that I was referred to. I was also informed that it is common practice of the hotel to overbook to allow for cancellations. While this is probably customary in the hotel industry, it is poor customer service, especially to those customers utilizing more than just the hotel. I would absolutely NOT recommend that any of my colleagues, family, or friends stay at the hotel, not only because of the generally unfriendly staff, but also because of their inability to meet customer expectations on many different levels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwaysonthego4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
On behalf of our entire staff please accept our sincerest apology. We indeed where over one hundred percent capacity on your arrival night and this unfortunately resulted us relocating your reservation. We truly understand the inconvenience this may have caused and made every effort to provide comparable accommodations (at no charge) for you at a neighboring hotel. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to regain your trust and allow us the opportunity to be your gracious host should you travel plans bring you back to the Midtown Atlanta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    283
    55
    30
    15
See reviews for
187
115
45
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our company hosted a 600-person industry conference at the Georgia Tech Hotel & Conference Center last month, and could not be more thrilled with our experience there! In fact, we loved it so much, that we're bringing the event back to the GTHCC next year.

The entire planning process (8 months) was smooth and flawlessly executed from the sales stage to the actual live event. The conference space is very professional. Many of our attendees stayed on site and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The food served was by far the best we have had at any conference we've run (and we do these events in 4 continents!).

I have to comment on the service we received from the GTHCC staff - they were EXCEPTIONAL, both in the planning process and on-site. Anytime we needed anything, we were helped quickly and with a great attitude. We loved our event manager, Yolanda, so much, that we demanded to get her next year (and it's in our contract ;)). Stephanie in Sales, Warren in catering, and Candace at PSAV (the in-house tech supplier) were all fantastic to work with.

Can't recommend hosting an event (or staying) at the GTHCC enough. Thank you for making our event so great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback form your recent visit with us. We are delighted that you allowed us the opportunity to be your gracious host and look forward to hosting you again should your travel plans bring you back to Midtown Atlanta in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Georgia Tech Inn and Conference Center was clean and comfortable. The staff at the reception desk were friendly and extremely helpful. We requested directions to several area attractions and information was swiftly and accurately supplied.

The hotel features wireless throughout and iMac computers in the lobby for guests. It was a convenient location from which to visit Georgia Tech as well as do a bit of sight seeing. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 84KristalE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for allowing us to be your gracious host. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were in town for an event at the hotel and arrived early so we went into the Lobby Bar. Kenny and Lee were our bartender and server! Best service I have ever received from a bar/restaurant. The food was outstanding and the service from both .was beyond excellent. They were able to tell us about the buffet they do on GT game days, parking in the area, etc. We had such a nice experience with an early dinner because of them. So friendly I felt like I had found a bar like "Cheers". Will definitely return when I am back in Atlanta.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paris2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for wonderful review. We are delighted that shared this wonderful experience with the thousands of visitors to Trip Advisor. We aill share all of your comments with our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not the cleanest bathroom, but fabulous location to get to football games, freshman dorms and west side of GT Campus. Actually, it is ON a newer part of campus that crosses over I-85/I75. Also, the GA Trolley stops right at hotel.
The breakfast was expensive $15 and it was a nice buffet and omelet station, but for my money, I prefer the Waffle House right out the north door of hotel and full breakfast for $5. Don't fret, it was a nicer "GT" WH. Many choices of restaurants right out the door. Park your car and leave it there!

I do have to note that the person who services the room wore her plastic gloves in the bathrooms and then came over to fluff up our pillow and touch our sheets:yuk! The bathroom floor was not clean and few other problems with bathroom, but seemed like a nice enough hotel. Hotel is cute --decked out in gold and navy for GT with a "rambling wreck" automobile in lobby.

Room Tip: It is in a city: you are going to hear noise so higher up the better. Maybe the rooms on the west si...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing really evident Except for the average "re-use your towels unless on the floor" and new sheets only every fourth day,
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We ceratinly appreciate and value all of your comments and will share them with our entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFayette, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for my son's FASET orientation at Georgia Tech. Everything was great and convenient!! Enjoyed the breakfast - BEST omelet (house special) ever!!! Staff was very friendly. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feebdack with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again during a future stay in Midtown, Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Located in a nice safe area in the city close to everything in midtown and downtown Atlanta. The service in the hotel was amazing. The food was great and available all day. We walked everywhere. Has a small fitness center and small indoor pool. Very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky P, Guest Relations Manager at Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you feebdack with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again during a future stay in Midtown, Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,663 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 800 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30308-1015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the vibrant streets of Midtown Atlanta and the Georgia Tech campus, our innovative hotel offers modern accommodations for high-energy business and leisure travelers who demand the luxuries of home and office. Designed for maximum comfort and capability, our 252 newly renovated guest rooms deliver a refreshing mix of urban flair and innovative technology that inspire creativity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Georgia Tech Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing