We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time was terrible”
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #2,344 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighbourhood: Poncey-Highland
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Poncey-Highland
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This time was terrible”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Im unhappy to write that I will no longer return to El Azteca. We had been going there at least 2 times a month. This last time was a Friday and they couldnt handle the rush. We were seated at a terrible table and surounded by kids blowing horns. When I asked the manager to move us or ask the tables to have their children stop blowing the horns they couldnt accomodate. We decided to leave and rather than comp us for our half eaten appetizer and barely touched drinks, they made us stand there and wait to pay for that. I wouldve came back and gave it another try but the manager (or lack there of) offered no solution and made us pay. I wont return. We went to Uncle Julios 2 blocks up, had a fantastic meal, friendly staff and a manager who was truly concerned with his restaurant. You should take a trip up the road to see how to run a restaurant when it gets busy...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wrong Order- Again!”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have gotten take-out from here a few times. The last two out of three times the food was not what we ordered. The food itself is good, but why can't they get a simple order right?
Will not go back as there are too many other better options close by.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLvr646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!! Good Food!! Strong drinks!!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The moment you sit down, there is fresh chips and salsa in front of you, the drinks are strong- margaritas very good- and the service is friendly! We had very little wait time for any of our order and the staff was extremely friendly. You get a lot of food and the qualitiy is muy bueno!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap, efficient and decent food for a quick, filling lunch”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This was a quick stop and as with much Mexican food, this was very filling for very little money. I had an appetizer of mushroom enchiladas which was supposed to include chicken and there was an entire plate of slided pieces with about three strands of chicken someplace. It was a lot of food, even if it has been a main course. There was a cute outdoor cafe in back by the parking lot. A few items of folliage helped not see cars the entire time but then there were the noise of cars pulling in and out plus fumes. As for ads lauding the extensive margarita list, it is not all that much to brag about at all. Forget that hype. You aren't in Santa Fe.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gogreen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent Tex Mex at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I've had Nachos Locos on several occasions and while good each time, the preparation is inconsistent. My partner had the Carne Asada, and it was better than average.Will go back again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLvr646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing