We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertainment was sparse” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Fez

Imperial Fez
Ranked #545 of 3,907 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: US$35 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Buckhead
Description: Be prepared to leave your shoes (optional) and your worries at the door when you dine at Imperial Fez! First things first, ask your hostess you want to remove your shoes, and get ready to relax and eat with your fingers (Silverware available at your table) this traditional Moroccan restaurant encourages you to do as the Moroccans do. As you settle into the benches and soft pillows, your server will explain the customs and traditions that they observe at this unique restaurant. To begin, your server will bring a Tass (a silver hand-washing kit) and gently pour warm water scented with lemon to allow you to wash your hands at the table, and will give you a clean towel to keep on your left shoulder. Your server will explained the menu and the order of the meal, take your order and your journey will truly began as Chef Rafih Benjelloun and his wife Chef Rita Benjelloun work on their culinary magic. At Imperial Fez, the "happy drink" is called The Marrakech. It's a fruity beverage of multiple spirits and juices that will undoubtedly leave you feeling just that - happy. Nightly entertainment starts around 7:30pm. The belly dancers bring energy and life to the quiet restaurant and complete your Moroccan experience! For anyone willing to go beyond the norm, an evening at Imperial Fez can be a full night of pleasure for the mind, the body, and the spirit. "I want them to walk away better than they came in," explains chef Benjelloun.
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Entertainment was sparse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We went with the expectations of having dinner with entertainment. However, the entertainment was very sparse...the belly dancer would dance for one song and then disappear for 30 minutes. I expected to have a lot more dancing. We even requested for the dancer but alas!

The food was good... Cornish hen and Lamb shank.

The bathroom had not been cleaned and the servers did not know their own specials. We were disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasudha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    50
    24
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Know why you are going! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This is one of the truly wonderful places in Atlanta. This is not for casual dining! When you go to a place like this it is your evening entertainment! Only a fool would choose to go to one of America's top fifty restaurants and expect to get fast food and a cheap menu. If you want that, then stick with Denny's. this is an experience and you should go for the experience. The food is as good of food as is available in Atlanta, but it is not American food. It is a true ethnic food and the spices are so beautifully blended as to create an all out assault on your taste buds. As a home chef, I am inspired by the foods that Rafih creates. I have never had a bad experience here, but then I never expected a bargain basement dinner either. You must expect to spend both money and time there and if you can't do that, then don't go here. I believe you will not enjoy it if you go expecting it to be cheap, fast, and quiet. I love this place and I love Rafih and his wife and the food they create. THIS IS AN EXPERIENCE!!! Expect this and let it happen and you will be thrilled by it. Expect a large pricetag, but expect a topnotch experience as well. If you go for anything else,you will be unhappy.
About the food, if you have ever made (or tried to make) a bistilla, then you will know exactly how much effort goes into just the simple appetizer. This a complex and well balanced spiced dish that will leave you wanting more. The salads consist of multiple small fragrant salads that require extensive preparations and are very flavorful and complimentary with each other. The cornish hen with apricots and preserved lemons is an excellent example of a typical tagine dish. The lamb dishes are all wonderful as are the shrimp dishes. If you want a real experience ask the chef for recommendations for a group. This is a great place and I have been many times.
If you want cheap food that all looks alike and tastes alike there are plenty of garbage places around, try going to a chain. I think Ted's Montana Grille needs some new customers. If you want a real experience that you can remember, then this is the place for you!

Helpful?
5 Thank 9753MD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Try this for a different evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

First, be sure that you check when the belly dancers begin to perform before you make your reservation.. Second, if you know nothing about Moroccan food, and are not adventurous about new experiences, check the menu on line to be sure that you wish to go here (you can see belly dancers less expensively elsewhere!). Third, check prices before to avoid "menu shock." Food is excellent, service attentive without being intrusive. Our recommendation here, is "relax and enjoy." While not on our normal list of places to eat, we book here occasionally for the very pleasant, different ambiance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you want to eat in Morocco without leaving Atlanta this is the place! Great atmosphere great food a bit pricy but worth it! Your hosts are great Rafih and Rita are superb this is my 15 th time and we love it! The lamb and steak is my favorite my daughter loves the bastilla and my wife love the soup and salad plate!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ponce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This was a wonderful night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Last night I had an amazing experience at Imperial Fez in Buckhead to experience firsthand, Moroccan cuisine. We were able to meet the head chef Rafih who was an absolutely delightful character. He is such an educated man who has a passion for sharing the history and culture of his origin. Once the group arrived we were directed to softly lit, expansive room with beautiful tapestries and low to the ground tables and seating. There were lovely rugs covering the floors giving the entire space a warm, welcoming feel and an exotic ambiance. Our host explained to us the five course meal and we were left to choose our main course. Once we had all ordered a large pot was brought to the center of the table where warm water was poured over our hands to prepare for our meal without utensils. Our wonderful chef who sat with us off and on throughout our meal explained very humorously that to eat with our hands we were given two chopsticks and the thumb is used as our insurance. The first course of assorted Moroccan Salads with a Side of Red Harissa was served with Moroccan Bread -Whole Wheat & Honey, & Moroccan Crackers (Fekkas) once this course was enjoyed we were served Appetizer B'stella– Filo Dough Stuffed with Cornish-hen, Roasted Almonds, Spiced Eggs and Cinnamon. I would have never thought to serve a savory filling wrapped inside a flaky puff pastry with powdered sugar and cinnamon but they complimented each other so well, it was delicious. During the appetizer course of our meal we were treated to a spectacular show of talent when the belly dancer entered the dining area. At the end of her performance we were served our main courses which varied from Cornish-Hen Tagine with Green Beans, Sweet Peas & Baby Carrots Baked in Saffron Sauce Moroccan Preserved Lemons also Grilled Filet Mignon Black Angus Beef Kebab, Grilled Quail, and Couscous with Lamb or Cornish-hen Garlic & Olives and finally the sweetest option was Cornish-Hen Tagine Baked with Apricots, Ginger, Cinnamon & Honey Sauce Roasted Almonds & Sesame Seeds. During the main course Rafih joined us it was so nice to listen to his stories. After the main course we once again washed rinsed our hands at the table only this time we received a splash of rose water and orange blossom water this acts to remove the aromatic qualities of the spices on our fingers. Once this was complete we were treated to Chef Rafih’s Signature Dessert of puff pastry stuffed with chocolate and dried fruit this was served with Fresh Fruits & Moroccan Hot Mint Tea. At this time we enjoyed one final performance from the belly dancer who this time invited my daughter up to dance this was so cute and really made my little one feel extra special. This was a wonderful night spent with very nice people made even more special by the royal treatment that we received from Chef Rafih.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raenbow14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Imperial Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing