We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BBQ!”

Fat Matt's Rib Shack
Ranked #10 of 3,924 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Morningside - Lenox Park
Norwood,MA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This place has wonderful southern BBQ - no frills, just awesome food!

It's very basic - you walk in, hurriedly place your order (because it is busy!) and sit down. I had the ribs which were wonderful and rum baked beans which were quite awesome as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    647
    247
    76
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent ribs!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I can't understand why you'd order anything but ribs for your main course at this place, but some of my friends did and seemed happy. The ribs were outstanding and the sauce was excellent; as some people of commented, the sauce has a nice kick. The cole slaw was average. The ribs come with a wonder-bread style of white bread, not the best, but worked ok with the ribs. They had some decent beer choices too, including Fat Tire, 420, and Sam Adams lager. I can't recommend the pecan pie; I've had way better. The had a pretty cool blues band playing, which was an added surprise. Overall, great dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a small great little restaurant that has great ambiance. The food was relish and they had music to boot. not for people who are not comfortable siding family style. Loved it, wish it were in my neighborhood in N.Y.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouLou7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BBQ with a kick”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I was expecting a restaurant with some awesome food and some really cool decor. It is a very laid back (slightly run down) establishment with limited food choices. My husband loved the ribs! The pork sandwich I had was good with a kick to it but it was average and it only comes with chips ... No substitutions! They play old blues music which my husband was more of a fan than I was and the bathrooms had no soap. I had less than a stellar experience here. Would I go again? Ehhhh... Maybe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank crstyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome ribs and tater salad!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Some of the best ribs I have ever eaten. Awesome ambiance and very down to earth. The sauce is killer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhud12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Matt's Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Fat Matt's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing