We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Gem”

Mezcalito's Cocina & Tequila Bar
Ranked #665 of 3,958 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Mezcalito's Cocina & Tequila Bar is an authentic Mexican restaurant with a twist. Our head chef prepares all the dishes based from his hometown of Acapulco. At Mezcalito's, we pride ourselves on fresh, homemade meals. We even hand squeeze lime and lemon juice for all our margaritas.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were in Atlanta for the weekend and headed over to Mezcalito's Cocina & Tequila Bar after discovering the other nearby restaurants had too long of a wait. We're glad we did. What a surprise to find such a gem. The food and service were excellent. I don't think I'll bother going to the other restaurants on Memorial Dr ever again. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a great place to eat in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jboke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food at a great place”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Wasn't the easiest place to find, but on a sunny evening it was well worth the effort. Sat outside on their large terrace and was tempted by their various margaritas!! Dips followed and what a great selection. Main course was just a problem choosing - so many great options! As for their specials - well that just added to the choices. Finished up with some great desserts - all in all a very worthwhile trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I wanted to like it more”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I remember the Billy Goat Cantina days and knew that the menu and decor were similar. But the food was just o.k. Back in the day, the old Billy Goat Cantina was better (in Oakhurst). The space, decor and outdoor patio were good. The service was average. The margaritas were pretty good. The prices were a little high for the quality of food provided.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HonestTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“If you Don't Look For It...You Won't Find It”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Tucked on a side street, behind Tin Lizzy's on Memorial drive, you will find a quietly kept secret. Mezcalito's Cocina has great food, great drinks, and great service. This is the sister location to the Decatur Square original. We have been there several times...each with the same level of excellence.

This trip we had the fish taquitos and the chilaquiles -- both were excellent! We did dessert this time (cranberry bread pudding and churros). The laid back atmosphere, and wonderful decorations make this an easy spot for lunch or dinner.

It is also real easy on the pocketbook!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drm710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More great food across from Oakland Cemetery”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Within the past week, I've had two meals (lunch and dinner) at the Mezcalito's Cocina and Tequila Bar location on Oakland Avenue. I was impressed that they have safe parking behind their location in what appears to be a converted quonset hut. I wasn't expecting much in ambiance but was very pleasantly surprised at how attractive and welcoming the interior is. I'm also impressed with the food. For lunch, I had a sampling of their $2 tacos with sides of their black beans and signature "green" rice. The tacos were generously filled with very tasty ingredients and the side dishes quite nice. When joining friends for dinner several nights later, we chose to dine on their spacious outdoor patio. Food quality and service were great then, too. I highly recommend trying this Mezcalito's location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank phulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mezcalito's Cocina & Tequila Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mezcalito's Cocina & Tequila Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing