We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Wait”
Review of Folk Art

Folk Art
Ranked #116 of 3,945 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Sunday Brunch, day of the Inman Park Festival, peolple crawling all over the place. Worth waiting for. Breakfast and brunch items on the menu, hamburgers or lamb burgers, pancakes (which were the most popular items), sandwiches, omelets, etc. Good bloody mary's, strong coffee. Quick, efficient service, moderatley priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    41
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice food, fun atmosphere, bad service”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Folk Art for dinner with my wife, brother and his girlfriend on a Thursday night. We were excited to try a new restaurant, and had heard that Wisteria is excellent so assumed that would translate to Folk Art. The atmosphere is very comfortable, and we were surprised that there was a decent crowd on a weeknight. We didn't have to wait for a table, and perused the great drink menu while we waited for our server....and waited, and waited. Waiting was the theme of the night, as our courses, drinks, an entrees came in shifts for the four of us. Not one order, either drinks, appetizers or entrees came together. My entree didn't even all come on one plate - I received the sides a few minutes after the rest of the table received their entrees, and then after another five minutes the fried chicken breast was delivered, leaving me with several half-full plates. Despite the bad timing, the food was delicious. It seemed like the server just didn't care, which was frustrating, and we were finished our meal at an hour and 45 minutes. I'm assuming that it was just an off night, and we will go back because we really enjoyed the food, but the service really needs to be shored up.

Helpful?
Thank TateEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great environment,”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Went there for breakfast,great atmosphere , food was excellent, good neighborhood joint, it might sound out if it but their orange juice is one of the best I've ever had,will return!

Helpful?
Thank F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch in Inman Park”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Located on Highland Ave, this is an eclectic type of place I would expect in the Inman Park neighborhood. Went for lunch on a Friday afternoon with spouse and daughter. Nice menu, reasonably priced. Unfortunately, we all had the grilled 5 cheese sandwich so this review is limited! I can say it was delicious...I wish I could make a sandwich like that! Daughter and I also shared a nice salad of mixed greens, cranberries and bacon, while husband had the fries (which were really, really good). Food served to other tables looked generous and tasty. Would definitely go back for lunch or breakfast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldenmom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, GA
Level Contributor
370 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Simple Food For Simple Folks”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Simple Food for Simple Folks is their mantra and it is pretty accurate. They have a breakfast, brunch and lunch/dinner menu. My partner chose the lamb burger and I chose the fish and chips. I think his was better, so I will probably have a burger the next time I go. Fish and chips were good, but I have tasted better. Very greasy. Their french fries are the best thing I have tasted. They are home made fries which I really like. We went there because he had a 25.00 gift card and I liked the fact that the menu is reasonably priced. I liked the fact that there was a good variety between plain food and slightly unusual fare. Worth going to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwriter52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folk Art also viewed

 

Been to Folk Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing