We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see if in Atlanta!”
Review of Carter Center

Carter Center
Ranked #44 of 289 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum honoring former U.S. President Jimmy Carter.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must see if in Atlanta!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Really educational and authentic! You learn a lot that you probably never knew before...especially regarding the middle east peace talks. Hats off to Pres. Carter for all he has done since leaving office!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CapitolMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    44
    11
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Things you didn't know about the Carters”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I loved the Carter Center. I had been wanting to visit for quite awhile because of my interest in the Carter's humanitarian efforts. This was such a peaceful and informative experience. The site is lovely. From the gardens you have a view of downtown Altanta skyline which is such a nice contrast with the peacefulness of the gardens. Energy and calm.

The museum was fascinating. The Carters do so much for the people of Africa and around the world in spearheading health improvements for impoverished nations. No matter what you thought of Carter as a president, you have to be impressed with his thoughtful efforts post presidency. Although I can imagine he might be a bit troublesome to a sitting president, you can't fault his humanitarian efforts. He and Rosiland make quite a couple!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank toujoursparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
348 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Presidential History: Past and Present.”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have lived in Atlanta since 1996, and had never toured the Carter Center, and the Presidential Library until recently. We were blown away by the Presidential Library. The tour of the Cater Center is also very interesting as there are many artifacts from the work they do. The tour guides are very knowledgeable with tour lasting about 45 minutes. The Cater Center grounds are beautiful so allow some time to walk the grounds.

The Presidential Library is attached to the Cater Center, and is a separate operation. It is a remarkable piece of history. The Noble Peace Prize medal is among the many wonderful artifacts.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MacAtlantaGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
303 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Nice Little Presidential Library”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I noticed there was not a lot of advertisement for people to come to this museum. I went there because I am trying to visit every Presidential Library wherever I travel. This one was small compared to the others I have visited and did not have a lot of interactive exhibits. I heard that President Carter and Rosalyn usually visit their Library once a month. Unfortunately, they wasn't there on the day I went which would have been the highlight of the day if they were actually there. Regardless of political beliefs, it is educational for most people.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhead GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Remarkable man, remarkable visit, important part of our history.”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have just completed a morning at the Carter Center and have truly enjoyed it. The Center is situated in a beautiful, park-like setting on immaculately landscaped grounds. The Presidential Library and Museum present the details of this often-overlooked President's accomplishments not only in the White House, but also in his years as a Naval Officer, Governor, and the post-Presidential years as Humanitarian.

I was particularly fascinated to see his Nobel Prize, the first I have ever inspected "up close."

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmcnally56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carter Center also viewed

 

Been to Carter Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing