We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock and roll in Atlanta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #80 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Rock and roll in Atlanta”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Spent the weekend of May 14, 2011 at this Comfort Suites in Atlanta, Georgia. This hotel is located on West Peachtree Street in the lower part of downtown Atlanta. My wife and I have stayed at the Quality Inn on Luckie Street many times and wanted to give this place a try. When we pulled into the suites, we instantly recognized it as a former City Suites that we stayed at several years ago. It is located next to underground Atlanta and the Marta station. BE WARNED; This area is very busy and has some unsavory characters floating around the streets near the hotel. This would be the only negative that we experienced during our one night stay.
Our room included a jacuzzi tub with shower and a separate bedroom (room 1205). Looking out the window you can see CNN and the Philips Arena just several blocks away.
Since there is no parking available in the area, we payed for valet parking and were extremely happy with the choice. The guys who do the parking are hardworking individuals and were always laughing and cutting up.
We had no problems with the hotel staff. They were very curteous and friendly despite some mouthy guests complaining about things.

Room Tip: Book early and use the discount rate if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    180
    103
    48
    49
See reviews for
164
75
23
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The hotel was nice but the neighborhood sucks... keep you pocket book close to you chest and the panhandling is the WORSE!!!

The customer services was great the morning breakfast was a nice also...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbarton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsmith8600, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Thank you for your comments. I would like to specifically thank you for taking the time to respond to your most recent stay with us, it is important that we know what your experiences are so that we may translate them to all of the parties that affect our surrounding area. With that being said, I would like to apologize if the urban area was offesive in any way.

We are a "downtown" hotel and Atlanta being the largest major city in the Southeast sometimes the "GREAT" can be over-shadowed by the not so good. I hope that you allow us (the hotel) the opportunity to be your destination in the future, as we are working with multiple outlets to continue to deliver "excellent" service to you and your guests.

Thank you again for your comments, I will constructively apply your kind words to our future actions.

Truly,

Daymain C. Smith
General Manager
Comfort Suites Atlanta Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Very bad location. No self parking, valet is $18/night, and my phone charger (the only thing I left in the car) went missing overnight. Hotel staff very unfriendly. Worst of all, when I reviewed my credit card statement I noticed they had charged me for an extra night, then wouldn't return my calls. I generally think Comfort Suites are decent hotels and priced reasonably, but this one was BAD!

Room Tip: No somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BigTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsmith8600, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Guest,

First I would like to say that "I am sorry for the issues that you experienced in connection with your stay with us". I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced at our hands and would like to encourage you to reach out to me directly in regard to this issue. I believe that we have resolved this, but I would ask that you allow me to address it further.

Sometimes we have to just accept that things slip through the cracks, and it is obvious that we did not do the best job possible based on your comments. This is not a consistent theme at our property but every impression is important, hence my reply. My team of professionals are dedicated to creating memorable moments daily, with every guest, and when we do not meet that expectation we have not successfully fulfilled our obligations as "servants".

I ask that you allow us an opportunity to correct things with your next stay and I encourage you to reach out to me personally so that I your comments are addressed. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your guests and I hope that you allow us the chance to make it right in the future.

Truly,

Daymain C. Smith
General Manager
Comfort Suites Atlanta Dowtown
E-mail: gm.ga517@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We booked the room under the assumption that it was close enough to walk to the aquarium, world of coca-cola and restaurants. However, when we arrived we were shocked to see that right around the corner was the "recovery center" and down the block was the court house which made for an extremely uncomfortable environment. We did not feel safe enough to stand outside and wait for our car, let alone walk the 15 minutes to sight see and dine. YOU MUST VALET your car, which at $18 a night is reasonable but they only have 1-2 valets and the parking garage is a couple blocks away, which led to us waiting around A LOT for our car. You can't call down and request that your vehicle be retrieved for you 10-15 minutes ahead of time because there is only 1 person at the desk and they cannot leave to ask one of the valet to grab your car and there isn't a direct line to the valet so you are pretty much left waiting on the curb in an unsafe neighborhood. As for the front desk service we were not greeted when we walked up to the desk and the man was out of sorts because he had been locked out of the computer and couldn't log back in, so he photo copied the credit card and license and then just folded it up on the desk which we later retrieved because we felt as though it wasn't handled properly. There are ONLY 2 elevators for the hotel so expect to waiting for atleast 5 minutes for one, maybe 10 minutes for an empty one. The rooms were clean and they are newer and modern and up to date. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were great. Breakfast was hot and there was a variety of options and several juices, coffees and teas to choose from. Overall I would not recommend this hotel... While it is clean and the breakfast was good, the bad service, unsafe neighborhood and the lack of valet workers just wasn't worth saving $30 a night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docaroni15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsmith8600, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for your response. I am in reciept of your comments and I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. I would like to reply by category so that I don't miss any of the important elements of your comment.

- Valet, due to the location of the property we do offer valet parking, but it is not "mandatory". We can and will offer additional options for travelers/guests that would like to self-park. Our valet option is more economical, and in the interest of the guest it is our first recommendation but it is never a requirment, and I apologize if the attendant implied that it was.

- The desk clerk situation (credit card copying); this is not something that we train nor promote regardless of the technical issue. I have personally addressed this matter with my team and this will never happen again. Also, I completely understand the concern that you would have regarding your personal information and you had every right to recover this information. This was a situation that was mishandled by our desk team and it was an obvious displeaser.

- Outside (immediate hotel area); I am very aware of our location and unfortunately in any "inner city" location you will have (a.) constant flow of foot traffic, and (b.) the occasional undesirable element. The geography of our hotel is a daily civic topic, but we do provide uniformed security and have an outstanding working relationship with the Atlanta Police Department which is dedicated to creating a "feeling" of saftey and security for visitors and locals.

In addtion, the immediate area around the hotel and city streets are safe. We have both Federal, State and City offices in addition to Atlnata's Ambassador Force that patrol our area and blanket Atlanta's Downtown. I have read guest reviews and I know the general area may appear busy with people walking from one destination to another, but this is exactly what it is. Most of our traffic is just traffic, the people that occupy our immediate area are generally commuting to or from a destination, and have proven to be cordial and often times pretty nice. The stigma attached to urban areas such as ours is unfortunate but I respect the opinion of the guest and after all this site is a sounding board for personal experiences. New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Detroit, Boston, and Washington, DC are all major cities and Atlanta is still one of the safest cities among them.

I appreciate the comment about the rooms, and the breakfast and we will continue to work with the exterior elements of our property to improve them so that every hotel guest has a "safe and comfortable" stay.

Daymain Smith
General Manager
Comfort Suites Atlanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester NJ
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Although the hotel itself was quaint, the location is absolutely dangerous. Upon arrival at night, the main road was lined with thug looking men standing guard about 10 ft apart on both sides the the street. The next morning the Underground was not much better. Again the thugs were standing guard outside the restrooms not allowing anyone in.
Since our car was valet parked two blocks away, we left 3 pieces of luggage with the valet service while we checked out the Underground. When we were ready to leave, they retrieved our vehicle. We have a large stroller that is a challenge to fit in the car so my husband tipped two of the valets very well to help us pack our vehicle. Even though he asked if we had all three pieces, our garment bag was left behind. I called and they said they had it and would send it to our home. After a week, called again, told yes they have it but it was never sent. Finally spoke with the manager Damien Smith. His story was it was found outside. What a lie! Our car was backed up to the front door and after using the hotel restrooms, we both walked completely around our car. We would have tripped over it. Damien gave me his word he would send it. Two weeks later, called again and was told "I don't see it, therefore it was sent." Damien was on vacation and the other manager refused to call me back. We finally called Comfort Inn Corporate and lodged a complaint. They had 72 hrs. to respond. They did not. Called Corporate again, and this time they called the local hotel. It was confirmed that they had shipped our luggage but it was returned due to an incorrect address (yeah right). Corporate gave them the correct address and told them to mail it again. Three weeks later and still not returned.
Whatever you do, DO NOT stay at this hotel. Damien Smith and his staff are a bunch of liars and all need to be fired. They have even lied to and ignored the Corporate office. Based on other posts, I am sure Damien will respond with his spin on things. Just remember, CORPORATE told him to send me my luggage and he has REFUSED! They have lost my business forever!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyStrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsmith8600, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
In replying to this comment, I would like to first thank the guest for their comment. This is not a easy explanation and at this point the ownership of the issue is in my opinion the only responsible thing that can be done.

The ball was dropped, and my team and myself are the responsible parties. This issue is being investigated and, eventhough my word has been questioned, I offer assurance that this issue will be handled today 100%.

I would like to offer my apologies to the guest and their family for the articles that were not returned and for the inconvenience that this has caused.

Daymain Smith
General Manager
Comfort Suites Atlanta Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We had never been to Atlanta before, so we weren't sure where to stay in order to walk to the Georgia Aquarium and World of Coke. This hotel is very close and easy walking distance BUT I WOULD NEVER WALK OUTSIDE OF THIS HOTEL. It is right next to "Underground Atlanta" and a bus station. There are people swarming everywhere and I honestly feared for my safety if I stepped outside of the hotel. You had to valet park but there was never a valet person around to take the ticket! I was so surprised by the awful location when we first pulled up to the hotel that I looked at the man taking my car for valet and asked "where do you park my car at night and are you sure it will be safe??" You will wait at least 5-10 minutes for an elevator in the morning when everyone is heading out, and the walls are paper thin. On a good note, the rooms are very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMW1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsmith8600, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel rooms, and I hope that the service we provided met and/or exceeded your expectations. We are working tirelessly in efforts to influence the community around us in every aspect. The hotel is located in a high traffic-urban area so therefore often times it looks alot busier than it truly is. I assure you that the local enviornment is reasonably consistent with other major metropolitian cities of similar size or larger.

We offer 24 hour security, 24 hour staffing, 24 hour valet parking service and 16 hours of compimentary shuttle (within 2.0 miles) service daily. These amenities and services are here for the guest use and are offered as an alternative for guests who are not frequent travelers or unfamiliar with the Downtown Atlanta area. We are a service focused hotel with a staff of professionals dedicated to serving the needs of every guest in a personal manner.

I encourage you to allow us another opportunity to serve you and not allow distracting factors to dissuade you from visiting our fair city and our beautiful hotel!

Truly,

Daymain C. Smith
General Manager
Comfort Suites Atlanta Downtown
E-mail: gm.ga517@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2011

When I arrived at the hotel the area was VERY scary. Do NOT plan on walking around at night. There was a man harassing a woman, screaming at her and ultimately overturned a newspaper dispenser. I also was a witness to a fight between two belligerent men right outside the hotel. The bell man met me right at my cab door and quickly brought me into the hotel. My room was very nice and the employees of the hotel were great but the neighborhood really soured the experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyofMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsmith8600, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to respond to your comments above regarding the incidents that you witinessed during your stay. First off, I would like to thank you for your comments, often times we recieve comments that challenge us to look at ourselves and dig deeper as professionals to rise to the needs of our guests, this is one of those situations. We are located in a urban-downtown neighborhood and being so close to everything we also at times get the occasional unwanted occurance such as the aforementioned.

As thehotels General Manager it is my daily focus to provide the safest and cleanest hotel environment possible, and I want to apologize for what you witnessed, but at the same time assure you that this was and is a controlled incident and not the norm in our neighborhood. As with any large city you will have a equal mix of people and some personalities are stronger than others, that being said we have and will continue to provide 24 hour security and present a safe and clean accomodation for all guests patronizing our facility and the Downtown Atlanta market and sites of interest.

Thank you for your comments, and I appreciate you taking time to share your comments with us in an attempt to make us better.

Truly,

Daymain C. Smith
General Manager
Comfort Suites Atlanta Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 171 in Atlanta
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.7 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#46 of 171 in Atlanta
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown
Address: 54 Peachtree St SW, Atlanta, GA 30303-3151 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a premium, boutique downtown Atlanta hotel, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining, and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking Atlanta skyline, the Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown is within walking distance of attractions such as the Georgia World Congress Center, the Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center, Centennial Olympic Park, and Georgia State University. Set in a historic building, our all-new hotel underwent a multi-million dollar transformation with 11 floors added to the a five-story structure originally built more than a century ago. We kept the historic exterior intact, and several elements within our hotel have been incorporated into our hotel's unique design including the original iron staircase located in the lobby. All of the rooms in the hotel feature marble-topped wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators, sleeper sofa, free WiFi, two LCD televisions, and deluxe pillow-top mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing