We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just not ready for large scale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #46 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“just not ready for large scale”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We decided to try a staycation for our 23rd anniversary and chose the ALOFT. when we arrived we had to go around to the back where there are no clear instructions on parking. we get inside and was met by a host that was less than professional he proceeded to carry on a conversation with a young lady( a co-worker) standing at the front when we checked in. He tells us that parking is $20.00 and not to pay the machine out front. Good thing we did not. After checking in we went to the bar the bartender was less than professional as she did the very thing ordering dinner and carrying on a conversation with someone sitting at the bar it took 20 minutes for her to even ask what we were having. The hotel does not have room service, and the walls are paper thin. when we checked out they charged me twice and told me it would be 7-10 days before it drop off. When I inquired why I was charged twice they said they charged me when I checked in as a hold then they charged me again when I left. I can not recommend this hotel. they have a lot of work to do before making a good nome for themselves

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newshoes1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear newshoes1965,
We are very sorry for the service you experienced during your recent stay with us. Providing excellent service to each of our guests is very important to us, and it sounds like we have a training opportunity with our team. Thank you for sharing with us, and we hope that the rest of your 23rd anniversary staycation was a good one. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    237
    116
    51
    40
See reviews for
172
116
40
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Came in for a conference, several of my colleagues received cheaper rates. When I asked about their best rate guarantee they told me the others had booked through Internet sites so no I couldn't have those rates. There is no restaurant associated with thus hotel, a cooler with stale sandwiches are available. The pool is the size of a postage stamp! There were no information packets / brochures for tourists. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Really no special amenities that make this hotel worth the $299.00/night. I wouldn't stay here again and I definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone....overpriced and lacking in customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Melissa K,
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Our rates are based on availability and will adjust as demand increases. Those who booked online very early were able to enjoy the lower rate. Our Re:Fuel area does offer hot food in addition to cold sandwiches and salads, and we are sorry you were dissatisfied with the selection. While our pool is small, it does have the advantage of being a current pool which allows guests to swim again the current. We apologize for not meetings your initial expectations, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited the Aloft Atlanta Downtown in May 2014 (a couple of months after it opened). We had numerous problems with our stay, especially with housekeeping -- the room was not cleaned on two of the four days we were there. Any requests for items to be brought to the room (for example, extra coat hangers, cups for water that had not been replaced by housekeeping) were simply not brought. Staff did not appear to know what was going on. Hopefully they will iron out the kinks over the next few months but our impression was of a staff and management that were incompetent, disorganized, and not customer-service oriented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finocchiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear finocchiata,
We are very sorry for the inconveniences you had with housekeeping during your recent stay with us. It is our priority to provide the best experience for our guests, and we apologize we fell short on your expectations. This type of information is very helpful in pinpointing opportunities of improvement, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Atlanta. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Township, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This place was more like a nightclub than a hotel. Excruciatingly loud music in the lobby and by the pool (& you can hear it in the rooms). Scantily dressed people dancing all over the place. NOT for kids.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karliesjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I called the hotel from the Atlanta airport where I was stranded. They could not find my business account on the phone---even though I have a corporate account and are one of the largest companies in the world. I was too tired to keep asking the operator. I booked and then immediately---and I mean immediately called twice to cancel as I didn't understand how far away the hotel was from the airport. I called twice and my question was brushed off. Both operators were very professional, but were obviously trained how to brush off those questions and immediately ask if I wanted to book something else. I have stayed all over the world for decades and have never, ever been charged a no show for cancelling within a couple minutes of booking. Heck, I've even been refunded airline tickets when I immediately cancel. You can tell me it was "your policy", but the hotel seriously lacks the desire to do the right thing. I have stayed in another Aloft before and have been a faithful SPG member for many years. I assure you that I will avoid this chain and will spread the word within my company to do the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tampa_Dude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Tampa_Dude2,
We sincerely apologize for your dissatisfying experience while booking your stay. It’s our goal to provide excellent customer service to our guests throughout the entire booking process, and we are very sorry we fell short on this during your cancellation call. We completely understand your frustrations, so we would like to rectify your experience by refunding your cancellation should you decide to personally contact us with your confirmation number. Please email our General Manager, Terry Hitt, at tery.hitt@aloftatlantadtn.com, to further amend your situation. Again, we are very sorry for your experience, but we hope you will consider staying with our hotel when you have more time to visit the Atlanta area. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This W spinoff hotel was great. We stayed here during Memorial Day weekend 2014, and though they had issues with locating our reservation due to using an outside vendor (I think it was hotels.com), the manager came by and was very courteous. All was well in the end.

Pros: Bliss products in the rooms (!!!!), plenty of parking available, walking distance to downtown attractions, decor in lobby and room was so cute, free wifi in room, comfy bed

Cons: Breakfast was wanting, some of the guests looked sketch (but I won't hold it against the hotel), pool is a bit small

Bottomline: would stay here again, great bargain

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LatteGoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewood
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here one night on our way home from Florida. I've never stayed in downtown Atlanta BUT that's a different story ( will NEVER be back)..... The hotel is modern deco which I like, bed was extremely comfy rooms were nice and spacious. I did a lot of research on rooms before picking this one. They are ONE OF THE ONLY hotels in atlanta that is NOT listed on the bed bug registry. The pool is extremely small which was a bummer because the kids wanted to swim, one family inhabited the whole space. We have three children whom I did not feel safe having there. It's a great location if you are single or with friends, walk up the street and have multiple restaurants on either side of you HOWEVER it's is one of the most ghetto cities I have been to. I kept my taser in my purse while we were out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear EF3,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing us your honest feedback about your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in the Atlanta area. However, we are delighted to hear that you and your family liked the Aloft style and enjoyed our guestrooms. We appreciate you staying with our hotel and hope that you had safe travels back home from your Florida visit. We hope that you will consider staying with another Aloft hotel in the future so that you can continue to enjoy the Aloft experience. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 171 in Atlanta
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#100 of 171 in Atlanta
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#47 of 171 in Atlanta
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Atlanta Downtown

Property: Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Address: 300 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, Aloft Atlanta Downtown is directly across the street from AmericasMart. Youll be steps away from the World of Coca-Cola Museum, Georgia Aquarium, Georgia Dome, Centennial Olympic Park, and Georgia World Congress Center. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss(R) Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! For your convenience we offer guest self and Valet parking - please inquire with the hotel staff for rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing