We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay at the aloft in atlanta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my stay at the aloft in atlanta”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I travel for work. What I need in an acceptable room is: good lighting, hooks in the bathroom, drawers for my clothes, some kind of music system to drown out the dead silence, reading materials about the city I'm staying in, good lighting, and helpful signage in the hotel.
The Aloft Atlanta is a very hip and attractive hotel in the lobby. The pool is small and the water much too warm, but a welcome respite after a long day working. However comfortable the bed is, the room is severely lacking in adequate light to work by, storage, and creature comforts as simple as making the room feel slightly homey. If you have a great rate to stay here then do. But I can barely find my belongings in this room that is large but so underlit I'm feeling like I'm staying in a cave. Maybe this is the new modern, but my eyes are struggling.
Signage is utterly lacking...I think the owners assume we know where to find what we are looking for.
Charming hip lobby. Don't eat here but drinks are affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veh235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    191
    101
    38
    27
See reviews for
137
98
35
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I picked the Atlanta Aloft for a few reasons. The most important reasons were location and the Aloft brand.

My first Aloft stay was in Tallahassee. I was very impressed by the decor and hip vibe. So when my family and I decided to do a little sightseeing in Atlanta we picked Aloft. Location is great for those looking to sightsee with kids. It was an easy walk to Coca-Cola, the aquarium, CNN and the Olympic park. It was also super easy to walk to dinner. We never felt unsafe and we stuck to the perimeter of Peachtree area restaurants and the before mentioned tourist traps.

Now the not so good. I'm an easy reviewer so for me to give three stars it's got to be remarkable. First of all my husband had to stand around waiting to be checked in while the front desk person spent quite a bit of time on a phone call that should have been placed on hold. They seemed to be understaffed.

When we went up to the room we went up the elevator with a security guard carrying towels (again understaffed) we thought "that's interesting" and forgot about it. We remembered that security guard when we went to take showers and there was ONE towel in the bathroom. Towels were delivered quickly though. Not too sure what's that about. On the topic of the bathroom the body wash and shampoo dispensers were almost empty. Also the sink for a double queen was exceptionally small. Only one person at a time. No room for toiletries.

More gripes. One blind was broken. No smiles from the staff. The atmosphere of the lobby was a little depressing. The SPG channel was not working so we couldn't watch any programming discussing city highlights. We took the SPG channel for granted as we noticed when it was not available. Walls were paper thin (I'm so grateful we brought our portable stereo...I think they were dancing next to us).

The hotel is beautiful. The beds were heavenly. The hotel has got the looks but lacks the substance.

Expect to go out for all meals. The hotel food selection (located in the lobby) is poor and again service is not with a smile. Consider packing your own breakfast if you want a early start doing your touring. No room service at Alofts.

But, you may want to take my gripes with a grain of salt for the future. They recently opened and are likely working out the kinks. Keep checking the low star reviews to see if the common complaints become less frequent. If they do check it out. If not you may want to wait until they get it together. Good luck with your decision! If you go there anyways it's certainly tolerable. I've just been around the block a few times and I made these observations through my experience. Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear infl,
Thank you being a loyal Aloft guest and writing us a review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our easy breezy location near all of the favorite Atlanta attractions and restaurants. We will address your comments with our team to ensure guest experience is improved. Thanks again for your review, and we hope you will decide to stay with us for your next trip to the Atlanta area. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As an SPG platinum member, I was terribly disappointed with all aspects of this stay. Upon parking, the trash cans in the parking area were overflowing with trash spilling out all over e place. Huge dog poop was on the grass right beside the sidewalk to enter the hotel. Lobby area was unclean as were elevators and halls. Staff was not professional or friendly. The check in was lengthy and awful. Room was not ready at check in time, given another room, get to it, find it only has 1 bed, not 2 as it should have, go back the lobby, while dragging luggage and child, sit even more time, and then get a standard queen room, not the queen suite that was originally booked. No recognition was given or mentioned for being SPG platinum. Room was not cleaned properly, mirror had hand marks/smudges all over it. Pool area was not clean and pool itself is extremely small. I will not be back here nor can I recommend this place to anyone. Completely disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvaTennessee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear AvaTennessee,
We are very sorry your experience did not meet expectations. What you described does not reflect our standards, and we appreciate you sharing this with us. Rest assured, we have discussed these things with our team to ensure its improvement. Thank you for being a loyal SPG member, and we hope we will have an opportunity to make this up to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel has spent a great deal of money on the decor and ambience, but the lack of funding for training is so glaringly obvious that it is next to impossible to stay here. The two stars I gave it were for the cleanliness of the room upon arrival. However our sink was clogged,our room did not get cleaned until we complained, and when I called to ask what wan wrong with the wifi I was told "There's nothing I can of about it ". The front desk is so unresponsive that I had time to get angry, research the number for Starwood corporate, and hold for a corporate representative without the front desk phone being answered. This hotel needs to hire more experienced and courteous staff members and train those that have potential appropriately.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherGreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was afraid the stay was going to be bad when I walked in. The check in counter was backed up with people and the staff was not really working fast or apologizing for the long wait. The lobby had the feel of a night club atmosphere. That probably wouldn't have bothered me so much if I would have been greeted by a friendly person.

After you step out of the elevator you walk into a hallway that is dark with little lighting. I guess they were trying to carry on with the night club theme but it created an uncomfortable feeling. The room wasn't any better. It was small and made you a little claustrophobic. They had placed the refrigerator in the bathroom. I don't really want to get a drink or food when it is four feet from the toilet

In many ways the hotel ruined the trip. I felt like I had taken my family into an MTV party and we were trapped there for four days. And, it was a very expensive mistake too. If I was not there on business I would have cut my losses and found a different hotel.

I will not stay at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear J D,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We’re sorry your experience with us did not met expectations and you did not like our modern, loft inspired style. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you and your family were able to enjoy the Downtown Atlanta area during your stay. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We decided to try a staycation for our 23rd anniversary and chose the ALOFT. when we arrived we had to go around to the back where there are no clear instructions on parking. we get inside and was met by a host that was less than professional he proceeded to carry on a conversation with a young lady( a co-worker) standing at the front when we checked in. He tells us that parking is $20.00 and not to pay the machine out front. Good thing we did not. After checking in we went to the bar the bartender was less than professional as she did the very thing ordering dinner and carrying on a conversation with someone sitting at the bar it took 20 minutes for her to even ask what we were having. The hotel does not have room service, and the walls are paper thin. when we checked out they charged me twice and told me it would be 7-10 days before it drop off. When I inquired why I was charged twice they said they charged me when I checked in as a hold then they charged me again when I left. I can not recommend this hotel. they have a lot of work to do before making a good nome for themselves

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newshoes1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear newshoes1965,
We are very sorry for the service you experienced during your recent stay with us. Providing excellent service to each of our guests is very important to us, and it sounds like we have a training opportunity with our team. Thank you for sharing with us, and we hope that the rest of your 23rd anniversary staycation was a good one. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Came in for a conference, several of my colleagues received cheaper rates. When I asked about their best rate guarantee they told me the others had booked through Internet sites so no I couldn't have those rates. There is no restaurant associated with thus hotel, a cooler with stale sandwiches are available. The pool is the size of a postage stamp! There were no information packets / brochures for tourists. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Really no special amenities that make this hotel worth the $299.00/night. I wouldn't stay here again and I definitely wouldn't recommend it to anyone....overpriced and lacking in customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Melissa K,
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Our rates are based on availability and will adjust as demand increases. Those who booked online very early were able to enjoy the lower rate. Our Re:Fuel area does offer hot food in addition to cold sandwiches and salads, and we are sorry you were dissatisfied with the selection. While our pool is small, it does have the advantage of being a current pool which allows guests to swim again the current. We apologize for not meetings your initial expectations, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#78 of 172 in Atlanta
421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#44 of 172 in Atlanta
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.5 mi away
HYATT house Atlanta/Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Atlanta Downtown

Property: Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Address: 300 Spring Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, Aloft Atlanta Downtown is directly across the street from AmericasMart. Youll be steps away from the World of Coca-Cola Museum, Georgia Aquarium, Georgia Dome, Centennial Olympic Park, and Georgia World Congress Center. Rise and shine in our bright and modern Aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, walk-in showers, custom amenities by Bliss(R) Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by Aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lounge. Plenty of perks include fast + free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, reviving splash pool, and more! For your convenience we offer guest self and Valet parking - please inquire with the hotel staff for rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing