We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for traveling with kids or business...not really ideal for the hip and trendy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #44 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for traveling with kids or business...not really ideal for the hip and trendy”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here over New Years Eve and it was just okay. We've been to Atlanta several times but never stayed downtown so we thought this would be a good experience. Overall, the hotel was mediocre but location was great for sightseeing (which wasn't what we were trying to do). If you are under 40 and going to ATL for shopping, dining, or socializing you should stay in Buckhead. Below, I have critiqued this hotel:

Pros:
Location
Front desk staff very friendly
Bathtub was huge (standard King room)
Microwave and fridge in room

Cons:
Room service doesn't start until 5pm
Breakfast is not free like at Embassy Suites, which is right next door
Walls are paper thin- don't count on taking a nap in the middle of the day
Guest services line was extremely unhelpful
Housekeeping was extremely loud while cleaning neighboring rooms-don't count on sleeping late

This hotel is best for families with children and people traveling on business.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Happy New Year and thank you for your comments! It was kind of you to highlight how helpful our front desk team was during your visit. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience imaginable. I'm a bit disappointed that our Guest Service Hotline didn't meet your expectations, but I am thankful for the feedback. If you'd like to share more about your experience, I can be reached at (404) 577-2001 ext. 1502

Best wishes to you on your travelling adventures. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Harman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    535
    186
    98
    66
See reviews for
608
271
60
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The good: Absolutely clean, business friendly, fast service, great restaurants, Great location near CNN center, Centennial Olympic Park, Aquarium and World of Coca Cola.

The Bad: No 24 Hour Coffee Shop

Summary: Very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooomz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harman H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
We appreciate your comments! Although brief, your feedback will be helpful to future travellers who'd like to know what to expect from us. I'd like to take a moment to apologize for us not doing a better job to satisfy your coffee needs. We should have provided more of an opportunity to state that 24 hour access was important to you. Given that information, we may have been able to formulate a plan to provide you with some additional coffee options. Should you travels bring you back to Atlanta, we'd love second chance to wow you.

Happy New Year!

Harman, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We spent 2 nights there and were so surprised how clean it was. It has an indoor pool and laundry room on site. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave which are necessities if you are traveling with children. We chose self parking and the lot was clean and safe. The breakfast available was wonderful and servers very friendly even to my children. Loved it. We checked out and ended up spending another night in Atlanta and the kids wanted to try another hotel for fun. We went to the Westin and were scared by the parking lot and left. We settled on the Omni at CNN center. They had a friendly staff but the kids were let down by no indoor pool. Also, they did not have mini- fridges or microwaves. Our room had uncomfortable beds that did not compare to the Garden Inn. We had a broken lamp. A lamp with dirt on the shade and a dusty room. The staff and view were really the only 2 pluses at that hotel. We will definitely stay at the Garden Inn again. Much better choice for families or people who prefer cleanliness and Free Wi-Fi! Fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2012

A very nice hotel. We were in town for just one night and wanted somewhere close to the aquarium since we didn't have much time. We couldn't have asked for a nicer room. We were upgraded to the presidential suite. It was perfect for my husband and me and our 3 small children. Once we checked in, we walked everywhere.....to the aquarium, had dinner @ legal seafood, and breakfast the next morning at subway around the corner. Highly recommended,

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kseasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Came for SEC championship. Our team lost, but the hotel was a winner. Great location. Very friendly staff even on a very busy weekend. The maintence guy was doing luggage valet and was happy to get a tip. The room was clean and quiet. Nice breakfast Buffett. The service really made the stay.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were on our way to Florida and stayed at this hotel in Atlanta. It was perfectly located. Close to restaurants, shopping and we could walk to the Coca Cola Museum and the Aquarium. From the minute we arrived, we were treated like we were VIP guests. It had been a long drive to get there from Canada, and upon arrival, they immediately offered us cold bottled water. The lobby has baked cookies daily and the staff were very friendly. From the bellman, to the parking attendant, the lobby etc... we could not have asked for more. This hotel is spotless and welcoming. There are restaurants in the complex and one of them is the Legal Seafood. It was nice to sit back at night and have a drink. All in all I was impressed with this hotel and Atlanta. People were friendly here. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKBAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, front desk was very helpful and polite. Close walk to lots of nightlife as well as the aquarium, CNN, and Coke World to name a few. Beds are very comfortable and rooms very quiet. Very clean with great complimentary bath and body works products.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJESeattle_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#46 of 171 in Atlanta
782 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 275 Baker St NW, Atlanta, GA 30313-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#40 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior design with stunning aquatic murals in the hotel's guest room corridors. Enjoy our many services and features such as complimentary weekday USA Today, complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, Pavilion Pantry sundry and convenience mart, complimentary business center, in-room dining, valet service, ADA accommodations, safety deposit boxes, in-room safes, self and valet parking.Heated indoor and outdoor pool, game room, laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing