We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and nice...”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed at the Ellis Hotel for 3 nights, for a business trip in Atlanta, and I can say it's a pretty good hotel. Nice and clean, the rooms are not too big but they are very comfortable. High speed internect connection in the rooms, and a nice bathroom, made my time in Atlanta quite enjoyable. The service and concierge people are really kind and nice, always available to help you out. I will definitely come back next time I am in town. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pezzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Glad you felt the Ellis was a "pretty good hotel" and that our rooms were nice and clean and very comfortable. More importantly we look forward to welcomeing you back as a loyal valued guest the next time your town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    332
    146
    60
    38
See reviews for
124
410
120
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We so enjoyed our stay at the Ellis Hotel. Our room was spacious, very nicely decorated, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
So very great to hear you thought the Ellis to be “Possible the best boutique hotel in Atlanta”!
and that you will for sure stay during your next visit. We will welcome you back as a valued, loyal guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you love being downtown in Atlanta. and want a refreshing change from the big chain hotels, the Ellis Hotel is your place.

It's easy to get to/from The Ellis by car or MARTA, they offer reasonable parking, with friendly, efficient valets, the front desk staff is friendly and organised. We had an easy check-in experience, which was much needed after a long drive to get to Atlanta.

The room we had was nicely appointed, super clean, and stylish. Crisp bed linens and very comfortable mattress. The bathroom was immaculate, with plenty of fluffy white towels.

Breakfast at the Terrace restaurant was lovely with farm to table fruit and veggies.

They have a small gym in house, or offer passes to a full gym a block away.

If you are "green minded", this is the place for you.
All in all, a wonderful experience...my only lament - wished I stayed longer!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2TravelNEware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Great to hear you thought the Ellis to be a “Hip, Clean, & Refreshing!” Hotel and that you will be back next time you stay in Downtown Atlanta. You are a valued, loyal guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed at the Ellis for a conference at the end of June. Great location as it is right across the street from the Marta entrance. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with a great pillows. Staff was very friendly and the afternoon wine event was a great way to end your day and start the evening. I had dinner at the restaurant a few nights and the food was wonderful. Farm to table and it showed in the freshness of the green salad I ordered. I will say that yes the air conditioning was a bit loud and they need hooks in the rooms to hang towels so you can use again but overall this is a wonderful boutique hotel with great food and charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennisniese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Wonderful to know you had a “Great stay at the Ellis”. You are a very valued and loyal guest of ours now and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

Ellis is located in the hearth of Atlanta. It is a small boutique hotel. I have stayed there 5 times the past three years and I will for sure stay there during my next visit. The personell at the hotel is very friendly at the atmosphere is relaxed and nice.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for being a such a loyal, valued guest of the Ellis Hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very nice uptown hotel that was very well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was contacted several times by e-mail wanting to make sure my upcoming stay was everything I expected. I appreciated that. Rooms were nice and well appointed. Great location within walking distance of many of sites we wanted to visit. Noisy AC, but everything can't be perfect. The Terrace Rest. had good food and our service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you stay facing Peachtree, it is city noise, but great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
So glad to hear you felt the Ellis to be a "Very nice uptown hotel that was very well appointed" with "a friendly & helpful staff" and that our "Terrace had good food and excellent service". We thank you for being a valued, loyal guest and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My brother lives in Atlanta, but I wanted to stay at a hotel. We were attending a concert on St. Patrick's Day (Drinking = no driving). I chose this hotel, because of the price and location. Check-in was easy. They did not have the room I reserved available, so they upgraded our room. After getting settled, we enjoyed the lobby bar. The bartender was very nice, and we enjoyed the lovely, yet private patio. The patio is located on Peachtree Street, but it is private entrance. I highly recommend this to any traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyProjector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K, General Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your review and your “Highly Recommended” comments! We look forward to welcomeing you back as a loyal, valued guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#78 of 172 in Atlanta
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#38 of 172 in Atlanta
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing