We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #40 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

My boyfriend, my mom, her boyfriend, and myself attended the Beer, bourbon, and BBQ festival in Atlantic Station and living in the suburbs we decided to book a hotel to stay in that night. The Ellis staff greeted us with a million smiles and watched our luggage even though we couldn't check in until after the festival was over. Marta was so close that it was easy to get around Atlanta without having to drive and there are a million restaurants and things to do within walking distance. We stayed in a sectioned off area so each couple had their own room but then we could shut off those two rooms from the hallway. It was incredibly convenient and safe feeling. The room was spacious with very comfy beds. I would absolutely stay again because the service was amazing and the rooms are beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Samantha A,
I'm glad you had a great time at the BBQ festival and were able to get around town with ease. I agree-the Premium Double and the King room combo is a great option when traveling in groups. Thank you very much for the kind words about our staff-we will be glad to have you back soon!
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    325
    142
    59
    37
See reviews for
124
407
119
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Wonderful experience at the Ellis. Room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. A bit on the smaller size but you are staying in the city. The staff members were wonderful to interact with. We asked directions to the arena and the valet actually walked a block with us to be sure we were heading in the right direction. I hope the Ellis maintains the good rates. I will be able to talk my husband into coming back here if so. If not, he will want to stay at the CNN Center or the Omni.

Room Tip: I asked to stay on a high floor due to the construction. I still heard the noise even on the 16th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear jinpink ,
I was delighted to hear you and your husband had a great stay. We will be glad to have you back soon: our website always offers the best available rates, guaranteed room type, as well as additional amenities you can arrange for that I'm sure your husband will enjoy:)
Thank you for the kind words and for your recent stay with us.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

we stayed here for a weekend while in town for a concert. i booked directly through the hotel and chose it because of it's downtown location and proximity to phillips arena. i just wish that when i booked it, they had advised me of the construction going on right outside the hotel on the street below. when we got there, one of the lanes in front of the hotel was closed for the road work going on. it made it confusing for us to figure out how to valet park. there is no front door "pull in" to park, check in and hand the car over to the valet nor did we see any signage. So, we parked in the garage ourselves and made the walk to the hotel. It would have been nice to have the hotel pay for the parking garage. The worst part is that we were woken up in the wee hours of the morning on a saturday to a jackhammer and all kinds of beeping sounds from equipment. then at 4 a.m. on Sunday morning, the cabbies wanted to get into a horn blowing, yelling argument because one of them was blocking the one lane that was open. on top of all of this, the AC/heating unit sounded like a freight train coming through every time it kicked on. this was a birthday weekend for my husband and he made the comment to me on the way home that this was one of his least favorite hotel experiences. we didn't sleep very much at all and ended our trip early to come on home because we were so tired. it made me feel awful for him.

another problem for us was that the walls were super thin. we heard the people in the adjacent room like they were standing in our bathroom.

on a positive note, the staff at this hotel was above and beyond and exuded southern hospitality. when we checked in, they wished my husband a happy birthday and one of the employees sang to him. they were all very helpful. when we called to ask if we could change rooms to the other side of the hotel, they were willing to accomodate, but the rooms on the other side were all king rooms and we needed a double room due to another guest being with us. i will also say that this hotel is very clean.

we realize that the road work and the noise outside is out of this hotel's control, but I do think they could have given us a heads up when booking so that we could have decided if we wanted to come back another time or offered to knock something off of the rate because of not informing us.

if you are going for a special occasion, i would definitely call and ask if the road work is done before you book.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay5402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear lindsay5402 ,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your husband's birthday and please accept my apologies that he did not enjoy his hotel experience. We are patiently awaiting for Atlanta street car project to be completed as well, and gladly this stage of construction work on Ellis street is complete. We would love to have you back so that you can experience the Ellis the way so many do-all about good sleep and rest. Please let us know when you're planning your next trip to Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Came for a quick anniversary getaway with the husband, no other downtown hotel has better price, this location alone is amazing, we were able to valet park and move around with out having to touch our car all weekend, Marta station is near by and is very easy to get a cab. Had a wonderful time here, and by the way, my DOG KATIE too, she had a very relaxing experience, with the money we save here we were able to do much more here in our time in ATL.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Indy1823, thank you for your recent stay, I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience and congratulations on your anniversary! It was great to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location. We hope to see you and Katie back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Ellis Hotel it´s a place that joint price and service. The rooms are good and comfortable. The bar-restaurante is nice. The people tries to give you a nice service. The Marta is at 10 meters from the front door and you can go where you want with it, airport included. Nickole at the front desk is very helpfull. If i have the ocation,I´ll return. Julio Ponieman

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julioponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Julioponi,
Thank you so much for the kind words about Nickole-she was delighted to hear your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel was very nice. Room was great and roomy. I had read online about rooms being small but our room was a double room with a small desk and a sleeper sofa. Very comfortable for my family of 4. Loved the windows could watch traffic. Downside of all the windows is lots of street noise. We were on 3rd floor so quite noisy but did not wake up my kids at all. Hotel was very clean and beds were very comfy. Since this is an older building it is small. The lobby is small and the hallways are also. We did not valet and parked in parking deck behind hotel. 12 bucks for 2 days is cheaper than 25 for valet. Walked to Georgia Dome and was not bad at all maybe 15 min walk. Thanks for the nice stay.

Room Tip: higher floor would be quieter. did see a king room on 12th floor and it was quite smaller than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ja r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear ja r,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Atlanta-I must agree Premiun Double rooms are my favorite as well:) We will be glad to put you on a higher floor next time you're in Atlanta. We hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed in Atlanta for along weekend in February. The hotel service was great, and the room was small but comfortable and nice. We had a room on the 15th floor (1507) with a nice view overlooking the city. The restaurant is very small and had limited but sufficient offerings for breakfast. I think they are in the process of renovating the main restaurant on site. One negative is that the hotel does not offer wi fi throughout the hotel, but just in the lobby. They are upgrading their fiberoptic cables, and do offer ethernet cables in the rooms. The location is ideally located in the center of downtown within a 10-15 min walking distance to the local attractions such as the aquarium and world of coca cola etc. On our last evening in town, we enjoyed a glass of wine at the hotel bar, and Tim the bartender was very friendly providing good conversation and great service. Overall great value and good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear tsullivan1-Thank you for your recent stay. I have great news: The Ellis Hotel is now all wireless! We're happy to share this with you and other Ellis Hotel guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to share your review with Tim the bartender!
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#76 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing