We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is our first stay at the Ellis Hotel. We were nicely greeted when we pulled up and everyone here is very nice. The airconditioner is has an awesome "hum" which we love. The beds are heavenly. It's a smaller hotel with a cozy feel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I couldn't agree more-our beds are to die for! I'm glad you enjoyed the warmth of the Ellis. We hope to have you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    332
    146
    60
    38
See reviews for
124
410
120
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

I haven't yet stayed at this hotel. My boyfriend and I are traveling to Atlanta for our 3 year anniversary and I called around to different hotels to get rates, information on the area, and just to get an idea of which hotel will be best fit for us and our weekend together. When I called the Ellis Hotel I knew by the end of the phone call that I had found "the one." I spoke with two concierge reps, Ryan and Nicole, who both made me feel very welcome and like I was in good hands. From the information they gave me and from the professional manner in which they handled my calls I was able to determine that the Ellis Hotel is where I want to stay. I look forward to meeting them and the rest of the hotel staff when we arrive. If the standard of service at the Ellis Hotel is in any way compared to how I was treated by Ryan and Nicole, then I think I may have found my new favorite place to stay when in Atlanta.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSHINE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Good Afternoon,
We're looking forward to having you as our valued guest. I'm glad to hear that you received great customer service so far. We look forward to surprising you further!
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my second stay at The Ellis and it was as perfect as the first time. The staff is fantastic especially Nickole at the front desk.The room was very nice, clean and the the bed was very comfortable and plush. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious.
The Ellis is the best of the boutique hotels.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 09Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for the kind words: I can't wait to share your review with Nickole. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your bed and your meals. We hope to have you back as a guest again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Family stayed here for an evening when returning home from Walt Disney. Above average quality and service -- very friendly and full of laughter. Rooms were well maintained and relaxing. Close to many good restaurants. Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SethCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way back from the Disney World. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. We hope to see you again next time you're in Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We just spent the weekend at this wonderful hotel and will most definitely be going back. The rooms were remodeled....beds were so comfy but most of all the service was impeccable from the Valet to the Front Desk to the Restaurant Staff and Bartender! And the food was really good, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your beds and the comfort of the room, as well as the friendly service.
We look forward to having you as a guest again next time you're in Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Ellis for DragonCon 2012. We had dinner and breakfast there. Everything was excellent. If we had a problem, it was resolved promptly. My friends didn't want to stay at the Ellis this year because of the cost; but, the food was so great we went back for dinner this year.
They have closed the balcony section (it's now for functions) so the Terrace restaurant is just the bar, some tables inside next to the bar, and a few outside tables just past the bar – all on the ground level. We ate at the bar. The staff was very nice and pleasant. We had the same bartender from 2012. He is excellent. Everything a bartender should be.
French fries are outstanding! Salad delicious. Malbec very good. Shrimp and grits excellent. For dessert, we split a peanut butter chocolate mound of deliciousness.
Atlanta is putting in a trolley downtown so it has been hard to get to the Ellis; but, it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your loyalty-I was very excited to hear you enjoyed the food when you visited the restaurant. Be sure to book early for DragonCon to be able to get the best rates out there.
Thank you,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I booked this hotel on accident. It was our second pick after the Westin, so not that big of a deal, but I was reminded of the mistake our entire stay as the giant 60 something floor Westin was right outside of our window. lol The Ellis is 16 floors, 17 with the Penthouse and we were lucky enough to be on the 16th floor. The views were nice, but that dang Westin took up 1/4 of it. We were in room 1605 and it was small, but we were only there for a night and didn't mind. We liked being able to open the windows in our room (one all the way and the other two partially) as you could tell no other hotels around us had that option, not even the Westin. ;) We did not explore the hotel very much since it didn't have a pool or anything. I was worried about staying here after the accidental booking because someone had mentioned their AC didn't work. Ours was a little funky too. My boyfriend slept toward the windows and I the bathroom and I was hot all night and he was freezing. The bed was comfortable, but the temperature issue ruined that night's sleep for me. We did have bums asking for change around the hotel, but no more that anywhere else and we decided to just stay in our room and enjoy the views and people watching once it get dark. I did wish the room had a refrigerator or microwave, I think you can request a fridge. I'll never understand why $50 hotels generally have these amenities and $100 + hotels do not. We paid $105 for a deluxe king room not including tax and parked in a garage nearby for $18 overnight.
*No scary 'haunted' experiences either!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your business. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our beds and the view from the room. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was affected by the room temperature. I wish we had known so that we could have resolved the issue on the spot. We do have refrigerators available upon request. I hope you consider returning to the Ellis for your next visit to Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#78 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#38 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing