We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location, great restaurant, rooms clean. The only small criticism I have is the tiny lobby and it's decor. Even with the street construction outside, the staff made everything easy - getting my car, giving directions, and so friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello Janet D,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear you were well taken care of during your stay and that you found our hotel clean and comfortable.
We hope to have you as a guest again soon.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here for business I was doing at the GWCC, and it was perfect for any dinner functions going on downtown, and an easy walk to the GWCC. Staff was excellent, and I felt their efforts and kindness were genuine without seeming like it was an effort to be courteous. Bed was one of the most comfortable I've had in a long time. Only thing that kept me from giving a 5 is there needs to be better sound proofing from traffic noise and hallway noise. But would still recommend to anyone wanting a good downtown location without the usual chain hotel deals.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and high floor numbers to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. I was glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the convenience of the location. We hope to have you as a guest again soon next time you visit Atlanta, whether for business or pleasure.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is our second stay at The Ellis . We were treated like returning royalty . Their customer service is unsurpassed . We included the breakfast buffet this time. Ernest makes the most delicious omelets we've had in the city and I can name you a lot of places we've been to .This hotel is the best !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Diane N,
Thank you so much for your loyalty-we appreciate your business. It was a pleasure having you back and we certainly hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Ellis for a week on business.
The Ellis is a small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Tim the bartender is fabulous.
The rooms are comfortable. Bed is good.
The wifi sucks.
Close to the Marta if you are traveling to and from the airport. Walking distance to the convention centre.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Stan C,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review-I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Thank you,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Ellis hotel in Atlanta during a trade show. Overall it was a very good visit. Front desk clerk, Nickole was very welcoming and informative. My room was small, but clean and very comfortable. I ate several meals in the restaurant and all were good. There are numerous restaurants within walking distance. My room faced the main street and the occasional horn blowing or loud motorcycle was disturbing. The elevator is very small and a few times I had to wait several minutes for one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hello, thank you for mentioning how Nickole was able to take care of you. I can't wait to share your review with her. I'm sorry you found the city noise disturbing-next time we can put you in a room on the back side of the hotel so that you can enjoy a truly relaxing experience.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is my second visit to the Ellis Hotel, because of business, and was an easy choice because of the hospitality. Here again for a conference, and truly the hospitality and team at the Ellis make every guest feel like they are important. You are greeted everyday by a staff member with a positive attitude, and a willingness to make your stay comfortable. The room had a comfortable bed, and was well laid out. Walking distance from the Georgia Conference Center, it offered me refuge from the conference, and was easy to brag about to other conference visitors.

Room Tip: Both times I stayed on the west side of the hotel, and I would recommend you ask for the east side i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Good afternoon,
Thank you for your loyalty and for such kind words-it was a true pleasure to have you as a guest. We hope to see you again next year.
Sincerely,
Olya and the entire Front Desk team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was in town to attend a concert at the Rialto which is just around the corner. We got in to Atlanta early and there was nothing to do on a Sunday morning so my wife and I faced the prospect of sitting in our rental car doing nothing. I chanced going to the counter person and explained our situation and she found an empty room and, voila, problem solved. The valets were extremely courteous and helpful without being annoying. The room wasn't huge but it had every necessity. I had heard some complaints about construction noise but, if there was any, it did not disturb my sleep. All in all, I was very impressed, the price was right and the trip was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kedek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm glad we could accommodate early check-in for you-we do our best to try and avoid any waiting for our guests. I hope you enjoyed the concert at the Rialto.
Sincerely,
Olya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#46 of 173 in Atlanta
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Peachtrees
#98 of 173 in Atlanta
902 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#37 of 173 in Atlanta
4,163 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £100 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing