We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for an Amazing Location/Hotel”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Value for an Amazing Location/Hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a great experience at The Ellis! I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family/friends. Beautiful rooms, perfect location - right next to the MARTA. This hotel was so convenient to area attractions, restaurants/bars & beautifully decorated! Rooms were clean and beds extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raechel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Raechel,
Thank you for your stay with us back in February and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We hope to have you as a guest again in the nearest future.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    360
    156
    68
    40
See reviews for
133
438
122
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Ellis Hotel, downtown Atlanta is an intimate, friendly, newly renovated gem of a place.
Great restaurant specializing in locally farmed foods with a simple yet varied menu.
Welcoming staff, daily happy hour and great all around service. I'll be back.

Green Features: Incredibly accommodating during the second big ice storm. We had no idea if and when we'd be able to check out. They were so laid back and were flexible toward my schedule.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RulaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The room was a small gem in the heart of Atlanta's downtown. Immaculately clean and nicely decorated the room was comfortable and chic. The pillows were the best part! So comfy. The staff was extremely polite as well as being pleasant and helpful. The bartenders were a lot of fun and we spent a wonderful hour there having cocktails and shooting the breeze. The breakfast buffet was also nicely done and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllenB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The staff at Ellis Hotel were fantastic and I am looking forward to visiting again next time I am in Atlanta. The room was comfortable and I had a great sleep. It was a very enjoyable stay and I highly recommend them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have stayed at Ellis on all my business trips since 2010. I have always been a great fan of Ellis Hotel as it is has in the past been a cosy small boutique place with great service and fantastic staff. Location has always been superb. But then what has happened to Ellis?

My last stay in January was far from great. The staff was average, they have moved the restaurant to the bar area, my room had no view (I could only see a brick wall) and the cleaning of the room was a bit random. I was a big disappointment and I did not feel welcome at all. I guess it is time for me to move on and find a different hotel in Atlanta for my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Spent four nights in January at the Ellis while on a business trip. Staff was very friendly and helpful. While the building is historic the room was surprisingly modern in furnishings and style – TV has HD channels and Wi-Fi performed fairly well. The room was clean for the most part except for a pill and hair tie the previous guest left for me on the night stand – file under housekeeping failure. If you’re a lite sleeper you’ll definitely want to ask for a higher floor away from the front street intersection. The hotel is conveniently located next to the Peachtree Marta station ($2.50 from airport) and most downtown Atlanta attractions. However there are limited dining options in the evening so plan ahead – the area becomes a ghost-town at night and would be wary of walking alone. Overall my stay was good for the most part and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I spent three nights at the Ellis. I thought the staff were very accomadating. The front desk clerk named Nicholle went out of her way to make sure I had a taxi to and from the training facility i went to each day during my visit and was warm and kind each and every time i sought her for assistance.My room was clen and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Thanks Again to the staff for my great visit to the Ellis.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olya R, Front Office Manager at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the kind words about Nickole. I was glad ot hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back again next time you're in Atlanta.
Sincerely,
Olya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#81 of 173 in Atlanta
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#46 of 173 in Atlanta
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing