We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great location”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Used TA to choose this hotel and so no surprises. Great room, really good size, good amenities - bit surprised that there was no safe in the room, there are safety deposit boxes in reception though. Staff really helpful from the valet, the receptionist through to the porter.
Room and bathroom really clean and obviously refurbished. Another plus is the free wi-fi. Why don't all hotels provide this?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LadyMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during a special trip to the area and were pretty happy with this choice! Location is good although a little confusing to get into! All valet parking at $25 nightly added to your bill! We parked and used the MARTA for the entire 3 days which was very convenient to the Ellis if you feel comfortable using it! Our room did not get cleaned the 2nd night we were there because we asked them to come back after we were gone (which would only have been about 10 mins). Overall a nice place but not 5 stars.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, General Manager at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately all Downtown Hotels charge for valet parking service. There are some surface self serve parking lots in and around the hotel but they don't offer free ins or outs or the safety of a covered garage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My friend and I just enjoyed a delightful weekend in Atlanta, being tourists for 2 days. The Ellis is in the perfect location for that - and we got our stay at a great price.

The Ellis is very comfortable, with exactly what we needed and nothing we didn't. Our double double room on the 15th floor was quiet, with super beds and bedding, good internet connection, adequate lighting. And - amazing - a bath with a mirror that doesn't stay fogged up forever. Coffee and newspapers right downstairs in the morning. Extremely well-run valet service. As a matter of fact, all the staff were more than helpful.

We particularly appreciated the Ellis' efforts to stay allergy-free. My friend was able to sleep without waking two nights in a row.

And Centennial Park, shops, restaurants, etc. etc. all within easy walking distance. Perfect!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 15th floor. Would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsilnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

In a great location, close to the main hubs in Atlanta, there's this pretty hotel. If you are off for a business trip, the price and location make the Ellis a great choice. However, if you're on vacation or on a family trip, there are definitely better options. The rooms are pretty small despite the comfort and the facilities and amenities are scarce. There's not parking and the valet service is rather expensive.

If on business, I would definitely go back to The Ellis, if on holidays, I would do more research!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Peach Street are generally a bit more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luresy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great experience staying at the Ellis Hotel in downtown Atlanta. Staff was friendly, courteous, and responsive. Special thanks goes to Nickole at the front desk for her work. Room service and the bar were great as well. Will plan to stay there again next time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyshivers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

You get an idea of how it's going to be from the first moment you walk into the lobby - classic soul music. If you're like me, you unconsciously start singing along and find that the front desk is singing along with you. It's a small lobby, but plenty of room for great music and nice people. Valerie greeted me and efficiently and kindly got me situated in my room. Which probably is my only complaint - a very "compact" room which is fine for sleeping but not so fine for lounging. In addition, the mirror in the smallish bathroom had a huge cracked (taped up, but still) mirror which was odd. The HVAC system was so loud that it was hard to sleep until I figured out how to turn it off. Overall, the charm of the place outweighed these annoying factors and I'd have to say I'd stay there again next time I have business in downtown Atlanta.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with keycard entry if you're traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has gotten the hospitality game right! They pay attention to all the small details and not one single employee had an attitude. All employees were eager to help and very friendly. Don't look for parking as it's valet only parking, just go around the hotel and pull up on the side!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dede D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#46 of 173 in Atlanta
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Peachtrees
#98 of 173 in Atlanta
902 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#37 of 173 in Atlanta
4,160 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £100 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing