We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown boutique hotel --- great value!!”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Ellis Hotel offers stylish decor with top notch service and amenities. Its location is convenient to many of Atlanta's attractions and fine restaurants. The room was well appointed, as was the bathroom. The restaurant in the hotel offers a gourmet breakfast, as well as basics. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. I highly recommend it for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisfan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2009

Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Ellis Hotel.
We take these reviews very seriously and share with our staff every week so that we may continue to strive to ensure every guests' stay is a memorable experience.
We trust you will be back to visit us again soon and we look forward to your return.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

I found the Ellis Hotel in a search for a nice but efficient hotel, that has availability for my group of eight, close to my meeting location that accepts a government rate. Although i was disappointed I couldnt find a popular chain or something a bit closer, i relented and booked it as it was only five blocks or a train stop away.
We were all pleasantly surprised in many respects. First, by the most friendly staff that we all became friends with. Compact, contemporary interior: modern but not over-the-top. After a free wine-tasting on the covered patio, we found the lounge to be most accomodating after a long day. No real bar food on the menu, but i understand that coming soon. Although we were tempted to stay for dinner at the adjacent restaurant, the host was most gracious to also tell us about the other nearby dinner choices available, making sure to also politely let us know about the more touristy popular, but usually disappointing ones to stay away from.
Breakfast was exceptional, southern style: silky scrambled eggs, thick meaty bacon, hominy grits that certainly werent the typical "quick" version and strong euro coffee, again with fabulous service from the wait staff. That left us thinking: "why didnt we have dinner here last night?"
I requested a room near the elevators because i try to avoid those long endless corridors that you find yourself trekking over and over again. The room was small but very efficient and full of the necesary creature-comforts that business travelers like: Great large-screen TV, good working desk, free WIFI, bedside lighting controls, good AC, comfy bedding. Bathroom was clean and well designed.
I unfortunately had to leave the rest of my group who enjoyed a longer stay. I look forwad to my next meeting in downtown Atlanta so I can visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Loved this hotel. Staff was amazing. Devin is an amazing concierge- and every restuarant and club she sent is to was spectacular. Troy and Zack offer great customer service. Food is great. All around- amazing stay while in Atlanta. Would not hesitate for a second to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadachickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Just got back from staying a night at the Ellis and seeing a show at the Fox Theatre (wonderfully unique in its own right), and were very pleased with our overall experience. The urban-chic decor combined with the classic 1930's architecture puts a great spin on this hotel and makes it a nice departure from the usual, cookie-cutter decor of most higher end competitors. The service by the front desk staff and doormen was exceptionally warm, sincere, and welcoming. There was a noticeable effort to personalize the service and create an environment that duplicates a B&B in terms of hospitality - it was a very successful effort. Calvin helped with our luggage and sealed the deal for us with his friendly attitude. We will definitely stay at the Ellis again whenever we visit Atlanta!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gocav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2009

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at the ELLIS HOTEL. We take these reviews seriously, and appreciate your feedback. We share all comments with our staff and they will be delighted to know they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.
These reviews are very important also for future guests who would like to try an independent boutique hotel where service is our #1 priority.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the not-too-distant future.
Kindest regards,
Tracey Lyon-Mercado
DIrector of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We arrived at 10:00 p.m. and were received royally. We were tired from traveling and the front desk was just wonderful. They informed us that the next day was the St. Patrick's Day parade and we should make any dinner reservations early the next morning or we would have a hard time getting in anywhere. We decided to dine in at the hotel. The wait service was tops and the food is pasture to plate which I am very familiar with. It was excellent and served hot. They could not do enough. Highly recommend if you are in Atlanta. Close to everything downtown. Great price point.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgmbgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

A refreshing place to stay with all of the comforts of home. Service on every level
was unbelievable. All staff from Valets to Managers were knowledgeable and well trained in their areas. All of the areas from the restaurant to the lounge were inviting and comfortable to the point sipping morning coffee in the lounge was almost like being home.
DInner in the restaurant was superb. Their fresh from the farm approach with fresh and organic everything was absolutely outstanding. The meal was delicious and the best crab cakes I have had in a long time. Being from the coast we have crab cakes a great deal but theirs were absolutely fantastic. Wine tasting hour is held however I was not able to attend due to schedule. Had wine with dinner and it was superb. Great wine
list ! If you want to feel pampered and more than just a number try The Ellis. It is like being among friends only better!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Ellis. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the bed was extremely comfortable and it is located right in downtown Atlanta. But, the best part of our stay was the service! Everybody was very pleasant and accomodating. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMLAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#46 of 173 in Atlanta
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#37 of 173 in Atlanta
4,130 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#84 of 173 in Atlanta
3,965 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#64 of 173 in Atlanta
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £114 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing