We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence from every aspect!”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 April 2009

From check-in to check-out, my experience at The Ellis Hotel was superb! The hotel was immaculately clean and the accommodations were outstanding. The staff, while professional, was wonderfully pleasant and extremely attentive. The atmosphere at The Ellis Hotel is a beautiful minimalist European design. The beds were delightfully comfortable after a long day on your feet in downtown Atlanta. The hotel's in-house restaurant, the e-Stree Cafe & Grille served delicious food and the presentation was truly gorgeous! I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone travelling to downtown Atlanta for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4pugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2009

Thank you so much for posting your review regarding your stay at the Ellis Hotel. We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay while here in Atlanta on business or pleasure. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, invigorating, stimulating and filled with positive interactions. Your comments will be shared with our staff and are very much appreciated. We look forward to you coming back to visit in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,368 - 1,374 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2009

One of our most enjoyable hotel experiences. All of the staff are gracious & professional. We ate breakfast daily at the restaurant & each of us had a variety of tasty & healthy meals to start our day. Try the AppleWood Smoked Bacon-yummy!
Also had room service one night & had a delicious evening meal. The menu has plenty of variety so that you can order a new taste treat each day.
Wine tastings are offered every night & it was great to come back from a long day out at exhibits & museums to sample some new wine varieties.
Rooms are so comfortable & clean. Bathrooms are supplied with enough towels & sundries to last several days.When you run the hot water for a shower or a luxurious bath it comes on instantly. The Ellis gives you the option to be Eco friendly and not have towels and bedding changed daily. We have done this on our own at every hotel we stay in for years and I appreciate their efforts in helping the environment. We feel good about staying in a hotel that understands our responsibility to energy consumption.
The Ellis also relieves you of the burden of dealing with parking your car. We wanted to use the public transit (Marta) every day so kept our car in the hotel's valet parking program. The Marta station is within a few steps and there is also an information kiosk down the street. We walked to several attractions and restaurants and took the train or bus for the rest. So easy and we felt very safe.
The Ellis even offers complimentary packages of ear plugs. You are in the city so any light sleepers that don't want to hear the sounds of the town coming to life in the AM or in my case, have a husband that snores, can get the quiet that you need.
The price of the hotel was very comfortable for us and although it is not a "family style" hotel our "seasoned" seven year old loved how cozy she felt and how friendly all of the staff were.
The Ellis has set the standard for being: Superior In Every Way!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloudNine58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2009

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the Ellis Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments and we take them very seriously. We share with our staff so that we may strive to make every guests experience a memorable one. We are delighted you had a great time with us and enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

The location is great (the marta station is next door), and it's an easy walk to the Aquarium and the New World of Coke (about 1/2 a mile). The customer service was excellent, and staff members went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Next time I'm in town, I would have no problem staying here again (plus the rates were great)!

Pros: Free internet (via ethernet cable), free document printing (I printed my boarding passes and various maps), nice bathrooms and products, aux dock for audio, and stylish decor. Wine Tasting from 5:30 - 6:30 (and you can take the wine back to your room)

Cons: A tad noisy while rooms were being cleaned (started around 9am... a bit early for travelers working off a different timezone), dinner in the resturant was too expensive for my taste, and the inroom coffee maker was pointless (however they had free coffee in the lobby that made up for this).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Ellis Hotel offers stylish decor with top notch service and amenities. Its location is convenient to many of Atlanta's attractions and fine restaurants. The room was well appointed, as was the bathroom. The restaurant in the hotel offers a gourmet breakfast, as well as basics. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. I highly recommend it for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisfan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2009

Thank you for taking time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Ellis Hotel.
We take these reviews very seriously and share with our staff every week so that we may continue to strive to ensure every guests' stay is a memorable experience.
We trust you will be back to visit us again soon and we look forward to your return.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

I found the Ellis Hotel in a search for a nice but efficient hotel, that has availability for my group of eight, close to my meeting location that accepts a government rate. Although i was disappointed I couldnt find a popular chain or something a bit closer, i relented and booked it as it was only five blocks or a train stop away.
We were all pleasantly surprised in many respects. First, by the most friendly staff that we all became friends with. Compact, contemporary interior: modern but not over-the-top. After a free wine-tasting on the covered patio, we found the lounge to be most accomodating after a long day. No real bar food on the menu, but i understand that coming soon. Although we were tempted to stay for dinner at the adjacent restaurant, the host was most gracious to also tell us about the other nearby dinner choices available, making sure to also politely let us know about the more touristy popular, but usually disappointing ones to stay away from.
Breakfast was exceptional, southern style: silky scrambled eggs, thick meaty bacon, hominy grits that certainly werent the typical "quick" version and strong euro coffee, again with fabulous service from the wait staff. That left us thinking: "why didnt we have dinner here last night?"
I requested a room near the elevators because i try to avoid those long endless corridors that you find yourself trekking over and over again. The room was small but very efficient and full of the necesary creature-comforts that business travelers like: Great large-screen TV, good working desk, free WIFI, bedside lighting controls, good AC, comfy bedding. Bathroom was clean and well designed.
I unfortunately had to leave the rest of my group who enjoyed a longer stay. I look forwad to my next meeting in downtown Atlanta so I can visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Loved this hotel. Staff was amazing. Devin is an amazing concierge- and every restuarant and club she sent is to was spectacular. Troy and Zack offer great customer service. Food is great. All around- amazing stay while in Atlanta. Would not hesitate for a second to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadachickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Just got back from staying a night at the Ellis and seeing a show at the Fox Theatre (wonderfully unique in its own right), and were very pleased with our overall experience. The urban-chic decor combined with the classic 1930's architecture puts a great spin on this hotel and makes it a nice departure from the usual, cookie-cutter decor of most higher end competitors. The service by the front desk staff and doormen was exceptionally warm, sincere, and welcoming. There was a noticeable effort to personalize the service and create an environment that duplicates a B&B in terms of hospitality - it was a very successful effort. Calvin helped with our luggage and sealed the deal for us with his friendly attitude. We will definitely stay at the Ellis again whenever we visit Atlanta!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gocav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at The Ellis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2009

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience at the ELLIS HOTEL. We take these reviews seriously, and appreciate your feedback. We share all comments with our staff and they will be delighted to know they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.
These reviews are very important also for future guests who would like to try an independent boutique hotel where service is our #1 priority.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the not-too-distant future.
Kindest regards,
Tracey Lyon-Mercado
DIrector of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
3,240 reviews
Inn at the Peachtrees
#101 of 173 in Atlanta
903 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £118 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing