We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Madison
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Staff was wonderful! Fun, upbeat atmosphere. Free wi-fi throughout hotel. Beautiful rooms - ask for a corner. :)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    359
    154
    68
    39
See reviews for
132
435
121
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Stayed at the Ellis for 2 nights for a business trip (room 702). Every staff person we encountered was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The room was probably smaller than what you'd find at other hotels but I think it was probably because this hotel is in an older building. It had everything I needed: a king size bed which was very comfortable, alarm clock, flat screen tv, a small desk, a very clean and nice bathroom, iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer. The room was very clean, the view out of the window was of an adjacent buildling but I didn't care because I wasn't going to be in the room that much.
There was a Martha station very close by, and the area felt very safe (we walked around both days). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panama0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here the week of April 16th-19th. We could not have been more pleased. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was so comfortable that I wanted to take it home with me. The entire staff were extremely nice and helpful (special thanks to Roland, the front desk manager and Zach, Bellsperson.) You guys are the best. The company is blessed to have you on board. The suggestions you gave for entertainment were right on point. Anyone visiting the area would miss out if you don't check out this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeleeSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Your comments will be shared with our staff and they will be very pleased to know your experience with us was so memorable. We appreciate you letting others know what our independent, boutique, chic, hip hotel is all about. Our family at the Ellis Hotel strives for exceptional service in an extraordinary environment, located in the heart of downtown Atlanta.
We look forward to the next time you return to Atlanta and welcoming you 'home'.
Thank you again,
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2009

I cannot praise this property highly enough and I would reccomend a stay here to anyone who is on business or pleasure, dont only stay one night though as it is not long enough..... A colleague booked our business trip to Atlanta with an inclusive price for hotel and flights from London and I was not expecting too much from the hotel. What I got was to be treated to an experience everyone should have. This was a chique boutique hotel with a welcoming feel. I checked in on a warm spring evening and all of the stress built up after a flight from London just disappeared. No long queue at the desk and within 10 minutes I was in my room still humming a Smokey Robinson tune that was on in the background in the lobby of the hotel. Once in my room I fully appreciated this property, plenty of storage space, a great bathroom with walk in shower (and Molton Brown product), iron and ironing board stored in the wardrobe, complimentary robe for use during your stay, coffee machine, plenty of desk space, internet connection, great lighting, big windows and the most comfortable bed you will find topped off with a flat screen LED tv with high definition channels that you can actually see from your bed!!!! This hotel is well appointed, older property that just feels like home. The management and staff should be congratulated on their approach to their guests, nothing was too much trouble and I felt safe everyone from front of house to housekeeping made you feel welcome, it was a hotel that I was happy to go back to after work and was a little disappointed when I had to leave. I had to meet my boss who was staying at a "big ticket hotel" that I think probably cost 5 times more than I was paying per night and when I met him in the lobby he said "so this is where you are staying?" ........
The hotel is a pleasent 10 minute walk from the GWCC if you are in town for an exhibition or conference and just across the street from the Deloitte building. If you are in town for work or pleasure make the Ellis your base and dont forget your complimentary coffee on the way out in the morning (next to the balcony entrance off the main lobby) if you walk past some of the hotels in the vicinty you will notice that the smile on your face is bigger than that of those coming from other properties.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We take all our guests comments very seriously and share with our staff on a regular basis. They will be delighted to learn their involvement assisted to make your stay so memorable. We feel we have a very unique concept in the heart of downtown Atlanta. Your glowing review will aide us in spreading the word about The Ellis Hotel being an independent, boutique, hip and chic hotel with a European flare and is here for them to experience.
We look forward to your return visit in the not-too-distant future and welcoming you back to your new home in Atlanta.
Thank you again.
Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Wonderful place to stay. Every staff member I encountered was courteous and helpful. Rooms were comfortable, the bed was divine with loads of pillows. I ordered room service which was prompt and delicious. Free Wifi and printing available. Convenient to MARTA, CNN, Aquarium and other attractions as well as other great restaurants. I love this hotel and will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlyon-mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing at Ellis Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2009
Thank you so much for posting a reivew on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Ellis Hotel. We take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff. We appreciate you sharing details of your recent stay and letting potential new clients learn about us.

We look forward to your return visit in the not-too-distant future.
Again, our sincere thank you.
Tracey Lyon-Mercado, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

Stayed here after reading the great reviews others had left and we couldn't have been happier. This hotel is very modern and stylish in the heart of downtown. It is right beside the MARTA so don't bother with a taxi or shuttle from the airport which is a nightmare ($32 for two not including tip). Take the northbound to Peachtree Center and exit at Ellis Street for $3.50 for two!!!!!
Rooms are large and comfortable. White duvets and tons of pillows on the beds. Flat screen TV (with too many ESPN channels (4-5) and no Bravo or MTV/VH-1). Huge windows to let the sun in. Quiet at night-no street noise. Bathrooms are spacious with modern faucets, lots of water pressure, hair dryer, plenty of extra towels, and a huge make-up mirror that women will love. Turndown service at night was a special touch.
Personal wake-up call where I was asked if I would like to be called again and then told the temperature and weather conditions outside....a real human made the call-what a novel idea!
Every time we went in or out, someone spoke to us and asked if we were having a good time, did we need anything, or just said "hello". Everyone made us feel special from the time we got there until we left. The staff was so friendly and truly seemed to enjoy their jobs and care about the guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to go back to Atlanta and the Ellis!!!!! Believe the pictures that you see on the site - it is a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie1nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Eco-friendly upscale hotel with southern hospitality. I recently stayed at the Ellis based on reviews in TripAdvisor, proximity to MARTA,security and its central location. From check-in the check-out this hotel delivers outstanding service. The restaurant is a hidden gem which provides local, farm fresh ,seasonal food prepared with simple elegance. The wait staff in the restaurant and front desk were professional and thoughtful. We took the Marta from the airport to the hotel,walked to the aquarium and roamed around downtown Atlanta without difficulty. If you are concerned with your carbon footprint but love luxury- this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 173 in Atlanta
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing