We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #45 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 August 2009

What made the Ellis so warm and inviting were the staff. From the moment I arrived and throughout the week that I stayed they were attentive, friendly, courteous, and helpful. I had a lovely stay due to this on my first visit to Atlanta! Queen room was small, but adequate and always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleHappyGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
There are newer reviews for Ellis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

My mother and I decided to take my grandmother (85 yrs old) to see a play at the Fox Theatre and to stay overnight. We chose The Ellis based on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The decorating was beautiful and every employee we encountered was very professional yet personal. We enjoyed every minute we were there. We had wine in the bar and the taxi stand is right outside. Our room could not have been more comfortable. When I go back I will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

After Delta bumped us from our flight to Rome for 24 hours, we found good reviews of this hotel and decided to give it a try. Making the reservation over the phone was simple and they accommodated our family of five with a junior suite for just $129 for the night. Marta delivered us to the front door and we were welcomed by a great front desk attendant. He was able to provide great information about where to purchase necessities (Delta still had our luggage - which would later not see for the duration of our 12 days in Italy) and where to eat. The room was comfortable with two queen beds and a pullout sofa. It was clean, and the decor was hip. We had a wonderful breakfast in the hotel dining room the next morning. In the middle of a rotten travel experience, this hotel was a wonderful respite. We will certainly stay there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My stay at the Ellis was significantly less costly than nearby chain hotels (Marriott, Hyatt) and was far more personable and pleasant. The property is beautiful and new due to the recent renovation, with a great boutique feel. The staff are friendly and warm - everyone you meet says hello and asks about your stay. The restaurant offers a good, although somewhat pricey, menu. I would absolutely recommend the Ellis as the place to stay in downtown Atlanta.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank jkee918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We had a wonderful stay at The Ellis Hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was VERY comfortable. I would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycustomer02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Decided to spend Memorial Day weekend in Atlanta and found this hotel on TripAdvisor. Based on the reviews, we decided to try it and we liked the price of $99/night. We were not disappointed. At check-in, the front desk personnel was very friendly and professional. Always acknowledged us by name. Very close to the CNN building, World of Coke and the GA Aquarium. Since our 5-yr. old son was very interested in playing in the water at Centennial Park, it was great to grab a towel, put on his swim shorts and walk over. He had a blast! The bed was really comfortable and the shower was a very nice size. There were only three issues we had: (1) Toiletries were not refilled daily, (2) room key failed to work every day, which was a hassle because we had to get back in the elevator and go back to the front desk to have the card fixed and (3) parking was a little expensive. Other than that, the hotel was very nice and the nightly wine tasting was great!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

What a pleasant surprise to find this modern gem in Downtown Atlanta. Not only is the staff wonderful but the hotel was clean and the decor amazing. This hotel is convenient to the Mart and other downtown attractions. A great bar to relax in after a long day and wine tastings in the evening were an added bonus. I would stay here again and again. If you are a female traveling alone this hotel has special rooms with additional locks etc for you!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreakwaterOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#81 of 172 in Atlanta
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#46 of 172 in Atlanta
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#93 of 172 in Atlanta
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Westin Peachtree Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £113 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #2 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2016 in Nov 2016's issue. Great city-center location. Famr to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Complimentary use fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary WIFI and morning coffee in lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing