We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Bed”
Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Bed”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

I stayed at the Ellis on the weekend of the 12th. It was rainy, windy, and cold which made staying in bed an incentive - thus my title :). The staff was pleasant and the interior was modern. I travel a lot so the hotel was nothing to write home about. It's the typical boutique hotel with a backstory of having ghosts. We spoke to management (who were friendly by the way) about the ghost stories. They said they were aware of the stories but no one experienced anything personally.

I enjoyed laying around in the bed so much. The only con was the phone to our room wasn't working. We didn't notice until it was time to order room service. We went down to the hotel's restaurant for breakfast - which was really great. The night before they had a free wine tasting. Their wines were awful - cheap. Nonetheless, the waiters were very attentive - Keith provided great service when we went to breakfast.. Excellent service!

Overall the hotel was clean, trust me I'm picky. As soon as I get into a hotel room I'm checking the sheets, bathroom, floors, etc. I got nothing - which was a plus. The hotel doesn't seem seem ideal for children, more of a couple's or single traveler's hotel. The mini bar was on a tray that contained - organic goodies, water, and chocolate body paint.
One bit of advice don't get a room by the elevator but that's just common sense. My boyfriend booked the room by the elevator and we could hear people talking and getting off and on while we were awake. The hotel is located conveniently by the train in the downtown Atlanta. We were one block away from Rays in the City - excellent food and service as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travl4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    347
    150
    64
    39
See reviews for
129
427
121
524
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
evans, ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2009

This was a very nice hotel with an extremely nice front staff. They made you feel welcome as soon as you walked in the door.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My stay started out with me being put in a handicapped room, which is fine, unless you have a lot of long clothes that must be hung up (like us). Also I was on the 6th floor and it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep at night w/out earplugs what with all the trucks going around Peachtree and Ellis St at all hours thru the night/morning. The A/C was also very loud in the room.
The next day we requested and were moved to the 15th floor, much quieter. Was great from here on..
Definitely order room service- the menu is reasonable and side plates and breakfast are delicious.
The staff is very friendly and helpful AND there is FREE wifi, and FREE printing/wifi in the business center!! Parking is $22/day, kinda steep, but other than that I would stay here again (on the 15th floor).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzeQNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2009

We've stayed at the Ellis Hotel in Atlanta four times now and we would be very disappointed if we could not stay there everytime we visit Atlanta. It is a charming hotel located in downtown Atlanta in a wonderful location for all events. The Hotel is one of the classiest hotels we have stayed at and we have visited many all across this country.
I highly recommend this hotel; You will not be disappointed. You will be greeted by their incredible staff with a smile, warmth and the genuine feeling that they are glad you walked though their door. You will also want to visit their bar and wonderful restaurant during your stay to experience their excellent service and food.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPTCB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, fl
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Excellent location and walking distance to nightlife and sports venues. Marta station across the street for easy public transportation if needed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, AL
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2009

For a truly luxurious experience, from sleeping to dining, try The Ellis. The staff is wonderful, the ambience, superb. Literally, there was nothing negative!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniepie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2009

The Ellis Hotel is truly an amazing hotel and I tremendously enjoyed my stay. The staff was awesome. I felt like I stayed at a bed and breakfast instead of a hotel. The intimate setting was perfect for a single lady traveling alone on business. My room was wonderful. I loved the walk-in shower and my water didn't run cold no matter how long I stay in the shower. The bed was nice and soft and I loved being able to access my office right from my room. The free internet services in the room rocks!!!

The location was ideal for me. I was in walking distance to everything. The Hard Rock Café is just down the street and I also found a post office. I was able to catch the MARTA to places like the Lenox Mall and the conference that I was attending. What I like best about Ellis Hotel is the staff was so friendly and sincere. One night I went out to dinner and bought back my dessert. I forgot to get utensils and I mentioned it to the front desk, they had someone from the kitchen bring me up silverware. I was totally blown away by that gesture. They also assisted me in obtaining a MARTA pass and printing me directions of places of interest. The bell hop and valet attendant were courteous and helpful. This is indeed a hotel that I will stay at again when I am in Atlanta on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Independent_Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#43 of 174 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing