We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ellis Hotel
Ranked #41 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Savannah,GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

My husband and stayed one night for valentine's day weekend. The front desk staff acted as if we where bothering them. We shopped around and everytime we came up to the hotel the valet would be nowhere to be seen, even when we left the front desk could not find them. The hall ways are extremly narrow and the rooms are way!! too close together, also you could here everything going on in the hall way and the conversations in the room next to you. The business center had broken pens and hardly any paper.The area is also very creepy alot of homeless people and others hanging out at the wee hours of the night.Stayed in many hotels and this one is in my bottom 3.I am usually not the type of person to write a review but honestly spend the extra 10-20 bucks and stay at a decent place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandlover2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    334
    147
    61
    38
See reviews for
124
411
120
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

This was my first stay at the Ellis and it's already one of my favorite hotels, and for the price, perhaps my favorite. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Very comfortable bed, good bathroom lighting, plenty of room. The location is great, two blocks from Peachtree Center and a very easy train ride to the airport. Proximity to convention center and restaurants is excellent. Good restaurant, although if you are a devoted fruit-and-cereal breakfast eater like me, their selection is limited. The highlight of the property has got to be the staff. They are the most genuinely friendly, accommodating, helpful and responsive group I have ever encountered at any hotel at any price. I heartily recommend The Ellis.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travel4FunAndBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

Very friendly staff and right in the heart of downtown. Mini bar selections are unique and carefully thought out. Contemporary design and rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

This is where to stay in Atlanta. We had a stress-free stay - what more can you say?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat Light, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

This was my second stay in The Ellis. If anything, they have improved over the year and I loved it last year. Simply the best staff in Atlanta and I have stayed at almost every hotel in downtown Atlanta. From the front desk to maintenance staff, everyone could not have been nicer.
Arrived after a grueling 15 hour drive, had room service in under 20 minutes.Delicious meal and accomodated special request. Friends staying at another hotel started eating all their meals at The Ellis and enjoyed every meal.
What a pleasure to stay in a place that is pretty and gets what the service industry is all about. Well Done!!

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank eahlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcmo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Arrived at 10 pm, no bellman, no valet in site. Front desk guy on the phone as I stood there with no greeting. NEVER looking me in the eye while checking me in. Asked for a quiet room and he puts me next to the elevator. Did not get the 2 beds I booked 3 months earlier. No hot water shower second day. The worst coffee maker I have ever had in a hotel room.

BUT: Very nice boutique hotel, clean and renovated. Great bedding and marble shower. Hotel food and room service were excellent and all other employees were very nice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

I had a choice of 13 downtown hotels including the big chains -- all for the same price to conference attendees. I am so glad I picked the Ellis -- based on reviews in Trip Advisor. The free internet alone -- made it a better choice than the big conference hotels. In addition there was complimentary wine tasting in the evening and fantastic personal service at every turn - valet, bellman, desk clerk, restaurant staff. I loved the quiet, boutique feel of the hotel and the very comfortable bed. Thanks to all Trip Advisor reviewers for providing such good advice!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaaLaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 173 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#35 of 173 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellis Hotel

Property: Ellis Hotel
Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hip downtown Atlanta hotel with 4 star service at affordable prices. Everything from our contemporary decor to our quietly attentive staff has been thoughtfully designed for the definitive indulgent experience. Following an impressive $28 million restoration, our hotel rooms blend sleek design and down home southern comforts with unmatched access to the heart of downtown … within walking distance of restaurants, corporations, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing