We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, clean hotel, great location!”
Review of The Ellis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ellis Hotel
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 September 2010

My twin sister and I stayed at theEllis Hotel to attend a concert at the symphony hall at the Arts Center. Everyone, from the concierge, Michele at the front desk, to the bartenders for free wine tasting from 5:30 to 6:30 everyday (you read that right!) were unbelievably accommodating, cheerful, and professional. Our room, a junior suite, was very clean, comfortable and quiet. It had free internet access, a nice big LG TV, refrigerator--and a modern feel throughout. MARTA, the ultra-clean, efficient "train" that takes you all over the Atlanta metro area, is situated right across the street. We took it from the airport to the hotel (7 stops? went very fast), after buying a 3-day pass for $12/each. A taxi to the airport one way is $30 flat fee. There is plenty of security, so that even two women arriving back at the hotel at 10:30 felt very safe. As a side note, for you Monday Night Football Lovers, skip Meeham's down the street (as they don't turn the volume up for the game) and stay at the Ellis in their dedicated TV room off the bar area. It's like sitting in your living room with a big screen. Loved Atlanta and the Ellis!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnotReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

The staff at the Ellis went above and beyond during my whole hotel stay. From the time I booked my room to the time we left GREAT service from the reservationist, desk staff, bell boy, etc...awesome experience. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at the Ellis during Atlanta's busiest conference time. The hotel and our room were stylish and comfortable, and the overall staff were helpful. The room service was not only delicious but amazingly fast, and I utilized both the business center and the fitness room (both were small but suited my needs just fine). My only complaints were the poor quality of the internet connection in the room (hence going to the business center) and housekeeping was so enthusiastic that they knocked even with a privacy please sign up. ;)- Overall, though, the Ellis is a great value and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenMountainGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We were in town for DragonCon. The hotel was conveniently located for this event. Parking is $23 per day for offsite valet parking, but the convenience was worth the expense. As soon as we drove up, staff unloaded the car, whisked us inside and took care of the car. In the lobby, we found that the registration system had gone down and guests were backing up to register. Suddenly, it was all hands on deck. It seemed that every staff member available was signing in guests and getting them to their rooms. Great teamwork! The rooms were elegantly appointed with attractive furniture and lovely linens. Our room was a king with a shower, no tub, so we switched to a queen with a tub. Brad at the front desk did this for us with a smile. All staff members were friendly and efficient. We had an excellent breakfast at The Terrace restaurant, where a lovely balcony overlooks Peachtree Street.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at The Ellis. The hotel is decorated beautifully. Service was excellent. We were treated to a free wine tasting in the evening, then had dinner on the hotel restaurant's balcony (which by the way has a spectacular view).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmela51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We traveled to Atlanta for a ballgame and picked the Ellis from the internet. Our experience was very nice. The price was very reasonable. The location was good for us with a Marta station directly across the street (Peachtree Station). The rooms were small but very well equipped. Its pretty centrally located as Olympic park is just about 3 blocks away. We spent one afternoon on the terrace overlooking Peachtree just having drinks - very nice. Staff was very nice. Several good restaurants within walking distance. Free internet. All in all a good stay for a good price. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I have stayed at the Ellis twice for business. It's a boutique hotel. I love the intimate feeling. The staff is very accommodating. I checked in quite late and barely made it to the dining room before closing. The waiter made me feel completely comfortable even though I'm quite sure I was keeping him. The chef even stepped out to ask how I liked my meal. I attended meetings in their conference room the following day. All the equipment was current and operated without incident. The meeting room was the perfect size for our group. The staff quietly and routinely serviced the room- adding ice and drinks as necesarry. Lunch was excellent. I needed the assistance of building maintenance and they were up in just a few minutes. Best of all, I loved my room. Exceptionally comfortable bed. Small bath but totally updated and well appointed. I would not just recommend the Ellis. I would highly recommend it. The friendly staff make you feel right at home. (Love those wine sampling happy hours too!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#45 of 173 in Atlanta
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 173 in Atlanta
4,127 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,960 reviews
W Atlanta Downtown
#64 of 173 in Atlanta
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellis Hotel

Address: 176 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1707
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £115 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ellis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only independent, boutique, hotel in downtown Atlanta. Ranked #1 by Conde Nast Traveler for 2017 in Oct 2016's issue. Great city-center location with a farm to table Bistro. 127 completely renovated guestrooms as of June 2017. Within walking distance of all of downtown's attractions, restaurants, and corporations. Enjoy complimentary use of the fitness center, available 24/7. Complimentary Wi-Fi and morning coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ellis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing