We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, awful bed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech
Ranked #104 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, awful bed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Good location to access GeorgiaTech, provide free shuttle to surround areas. But the beds were really bad, making a lot of noise and lacking enough back support. Worst bed among all the hotels I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: Well, bring an air mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Park_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review and comment on your hotel stay. I appreciate your feedback regarding the beds. I will share your comment regarding the bed with the Owners to consider during our next renovation. Our location is very accessible to downtown Atlanta, Georgia Tech, local restaurants and shopping. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Atlanta Midtown for your lodging needs and please let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.
Sincerely,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    81
    60
    26
    6
See reviews for
69
31
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel has a good location, close proximity to Midtown, but not within walking distance. The property is an average Marriott hotel. The room was clean, but somewhat musty smelling. The hotel is right next to a very busy highway, so traffic noises were somewhat loud. The pool seemed nice, and there was a breakfast bar / cafe downstairs. Good place to lay your head, but no frills. They were nice enough to let me check in a couple of hours early.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that doesn't face the highway. Might help on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda_n_byrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review and comment on your hotel stay. I appreciate your feedback and pleased the Hotel staff was able to accommodate an early check-in. Our location is very accessible to downtown Atlanta, Georgia Tech, local restaurants and shopping. However, the downside is you may hear noise from highway. Thank you for letting me know about the musty smell in the guestroom, I will inform the Housekeeping supervisor regarding issue to ensure concern is addressed for future travelers. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Atlanta Midtown for your lodging needs and please let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.
Sincerely,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights and it was a great decision.

It was on the north side of Atlanta (which is closer to home for me) but had a free shuttle to all the attractions downtown...not too mention you could call and they would come pick you up as well. Walking distance (about 15 minutes) to the MARTA station so that was nice as well.

The hotel itself was comfortable. The lobby had a nice atmosphere and the employees down there were responsive and friendly. Had some ice cold beers on the back patio to enjoy some sun.

Will stay here again next time I am in Atlanta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I picked this hotel for the closeness to Atlantic Station and the Shaky Knees Music Fest venue. Walking distance was about 4 blocks. It met all my needs and expectations and is a well maintained and lovely property. My room was clean and comfortable and well serviced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandhillsmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
486 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have stayed here in the past, usually to have easy access to Georgia Tech. It is very close to the university.

The staff is very friendly. The rooms are your typical Courtyard room, nothing special but very clean.

The location is a little difficult to get in and out from as it is along a 1 way road parallel to the freeway. This road can have a lot of traffic during rush hour or special events at GA Tech.

There is a parking charge at this hotel. I was charged $15 for a night. The front desk staff told me that it was because all hotels in the area have a parking charge.....I think that parking should be included in the room rate. The parking lot was not full, but the hotel was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your recent hotel review and comment regarding Staff friendliness. Our location is very accessible to downtown Atlanta, Georgia Tech, local restaurants and shopping; however, the downside is there are several one-way streets in downtown Atlanta. All hotels in Atlanta Midtown/Downtown area charge for parking, however, Courtyard has the lowest parking rate and offers a great, accessible location near downtown. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Atlanta Midtown for your lodging needs and please let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, WV
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were in Atlanta for a 3 day mini vacation. We stayed at this hotel, because it was the site selected for a wedding group booking. The staff could not have been nicer. They were eager to help us relocate to adjoining rooms with our other family members (although it was supposed to be that way to begin with!). I was shocked that there was no coffee available in the lobby...no real restaurant - and although the Bistro was okay - it was overpriced. Breakfast was over at 9:30...and no where to get anything else. The room was a typical room...nothing special. The real kicker though was paying $60 bucks for the week-end for our car to sit in their parking lot. That's absurd these days. We were happy that they had shuttle service to the aquarium and to the shopping area so that we could eat dinner on Friday night. However, there was no shuttle service on Saturday...just seemed strange. I doubt that we'll be back in Atlanta, but if we are, we probably won't stay here!

Room Tip: I was afraid that the room we had on the odd numbered side would be noisy, since the road was visibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVUJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your recent hotel review. Thank you for the wonderful comment regarding Staff Service and the assistance they provided during your visit. Courtyard doesn’t provide coffee in lobby, Starbuck drinks are provided in the Bistro 24 hours a day. The Bistro breakfast hours are Monday – Friday 6:30am – 9:30am, Saturday and Sunday from 7:00am – 10:00am, please let me know if service wasn’t provided during these times so I can correct for future guests. All hotels in Atlanta Midtown/Downtown area charge for parking, however, Courtyard has the lowest parking rate and offers a great, accessible location near downtown, Georgia Tech and Atlantic Station. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Atlanta Midtown for your lodging needs and please let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.
Sincerely,
Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The staff at this hotel are always very friendly, warm and welcoming. The lobby looks good, but... the rooms... they look very worn and dated. I could hear much noise starting at about 4:30am. The breakfast prices were really high considering what you got for your $$. It is convenient to GA Tech. Parking is too much and the availability good so I don't get the $20 parking fee. I will stay here again only because of the price.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0268johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review and comment on your hotel stay as well as for your great comments regarding hotel staff, I will share your comment with my associates. All hotels in Atlanta Midtown/Downtown area charge for parking, however, Courtyard has the lowest parking rate and offers a great, accessible location near downtown, Georgia Tech and Atlantic Station. I will share your comments regarding the rooms look worn and dated with the Owners. I apologize for the noise during your stay and will address concern is addressed for future travelers. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Atlanta Midtown for your lodging needs and please let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown/Peachtree at 17th
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Regency Suites
Regency Suites
#56 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech

Property: Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech
Address: 1132 Techwood Drive, Atlanta, GA 30318
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Courtyard
Atlanta Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing