We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech
Ranked #102 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Rudest employees I've ever stayed. They pick and choose which they want to extend courtesies to. Be warned if you book on 3rd party sites, there is $20 charge to park your car and signs all over saying they aren't responsible for your items on their gated property. We were never told that continental breakfast was at the cafe. No vending machine, you buy snacks from front desk area. Where selection is limited and staff is rude. I'll never recommend anyone visiting GA Tech, stay at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review and comment regarding your hotel stay. I will share your comments regarding Hotel associates with my staff and managers and use this information as a training tool with associates.
All hotels in Atlanta Midtown/Downtown area charge for parking, however, Courtyard has the lowest parking rate and offers a great, accessible location near downtown, Georgia Tech and Atlantic Station. I apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We will take immediate action and continue training our associates to provide excellent customer service that our guests deserve.

Sincerely,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I needed to be downtown for a meeting the next day and my office booked this hotel. I was shocked! The room was small, not clean, smelled bad and the AC unit was a loud as a jet ..
The bed was terrible, like they bought it used from a fraternity house nearby. The towels were like a carwash would use. Even the soap and shampoos were cheap and lowest quality.

The bomb was the bill. The room rate was extremely high, a rip-off due to most decent midtown rooms being booked. Then there was a $20 fee to park in an open unsecured lot. Plus tax......

I will NEVER book Marriott again, if given a choice. There's no way this hotel would pass any major brand's Q.C. standards. You should stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Don't book this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for staying and taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping team. We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience. We always try to provide each guest with excellent service and accommodations, and unfortunately we were not able to achieve this with you. Our Housekeeping Manager will take immediate actions and continue training our staff to ensure future stays meet your needs and expectations. I will share your comment regarding the bed with the Owners to consider during our next renovation. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Atlanta Midtown for your lodging needs and please let me know if I can be of assistance in the future.
Sincerely,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for the ISTE conference. Usually Marriott's are really good, so I was surprised to see that this one was not as good. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the rooms definitely need some help. The bathroom was big but needed some deep cleaning in the shower. The rug was filthy and definitely had not been cleaned in a while considering there was a beer cap below the desk in the room. The wall had random spots and stains. I really wish I could have given this a better review. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovestravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for staying at hotel and taking the time to provide feedback. I am happy to hear the staff was friendly and helpful and will share your comment with the hotel staff. I will also share your comment regarding the guestroom with the Housekeeping Manager. We are sorry to hear your experience didn’t meet your or our own expectations. Our goal is to provide excellent service and accommodations, and unfortunately we were not able to achieve this with you. Our Housekeeping Manager will take immediate actions and continue training our staff to ensure future expectations are met.

Sincerely,

Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights to visit GT. Will likely stay here again as my kid going to GT and I am a rewards member but wish rooms were a little nicer. Lobby typical but rooms dated and beds squeeky with below average matresses. More typical of Fairfield brand than Courtyard but at Courtyard $. Location ok to walk to campus and Midtown. Carpets and beds upgraded would make this a 4 raher than 3. Traffic noise typical of any hotel on interstate.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Willy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for your feedback on the mattress and carpet in guestrooms. I will share your comments with my team and monitor guestrooms mattresses and ensure carpet is cleaned regularly. Thank you for staying with us and hope you will return.

Sincerely,

Lori L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

There are so many positives about this hotel. Location was close to everything you wanted to do in the city. We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the finish line of the Peach Tree 10K (awesome 60,000 person race held every July 4th).

The pool was fantastic and we utilized the patio a lot. Great place to let the everyone unwind after a busy afternoon of sightseeing.

The shuttle service was nice but required a lot of waiting around. With only 1 driver he is very busy. We would probably only use again if we were planning on needing a designated driver.

Although we didn't use the hotel pool and cafe it looked very nice.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My son and I made our annual father/son trip to see a MLB out of town game and we chose Atlanta, GA for 2014. We needed a hotel that was centrally located since we wanted to do Centennial Park and Turner Field.
The location did not disappoint as it was right where we needed to be. The accommodations were clean and comfortable.
The staff was friendly, but I did have to wait at the front desk for a prolonged period of time before help arrived to check us in. I didn't even realize I had a mini fridge in the room until the last day I was there...I thought it was in a peculiar location within the room and didn't notice it.
Other than that, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori L, General Manager at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location was exactly where you wanted to be and accommodations were clean and comfortable. Thank you for your feedback on the Front Desk/Check-in experience. I have shared your comments with my team so we can monitor guest wait time for future guests. Thank you for staying with us and hope you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Lori L.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From arrival to departure, the staff was outgoing and friendly, from the front desk to cooks at the bistro. I ordered many meals during my 5 night stay, eating both in room and takeout.
The daily room service was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_M_PENNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Midtown
Residence Inn Atlanta Midtown/Peachtree at 17th
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech

Address: 1132 Techwood Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30318-7814
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £105 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a comfortable and convenient stay at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech. Boasting an unbeatable location in Midtown Atlanta, our hotel makes it easy for future and former students to explore Georgia Institute of Technology, while business travelers have access to several corporate offices including The Coca-Cola Company. After a busy day of work or play, find relaxation in our spacious rooms, where you can unwind atop our cozy beds dressed with crisp linens and custom comforters. Fuel up for the day ahead with breakfast sandwiches and Starbucks® coffee at The Bistro, our on-site restaurant also serving dinner entrées and evening cocktails. No matter where you are on our hotel's property, you'll always stay connected through our complimentary Wi-Fi. Stop by our 24-hour fitness center to keep active and healthy during your stay. Whatever brings you to town, step up your stay at Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Atlanta Midtown/Georgia Tech Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Marriott
Atlanta Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing