We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun & funky in Atlanta”
Review of The Highland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Highland Inn
Ranked #98 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fun & funky in Atlanta”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The hubby & I were in town to catch Grace Potter & The Nocturnals @ the Varisty Theatre, a slight stroll from The Highland. On a budget, we chose The Highland for the good rate, proximity to the club, and on a nod from a former Atlantan. Turns out the choice suited us perfectly. A laid back, welcoming & informative deskman greeted us and assured we were assigned a quiet room. Gave us great tips on places within walking distance for food & drink. Historic properties are most always intersting - this one no exception. Great little surrounding neighborhood - funky & fun. Mattress & bedding were the only disappointments, but I've slept on worse for more $. Overall thumbs up.

Room Tip: Upon making reservation, ask for the quietest room with a good mattress (if those qualities are impo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammclamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    168
    86
    43
    37
See reviews for
77
170
81
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The building may be old, but the history and personality of this place is part of the appeal. You don't get this at a Holiday Inn. They even have a nice cat who might visit your room. We love it! A great place to stay.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I was in Atlanta overnight for Christmas shopping in December. I stayed again at the Highland Inn as it is a very good location if you are coming into Atlanta off I-75/I-85. I also enjoy its proximity to Whole Foods and good restaurants and coffee shops. It's also an easy trip up to Buckhead with Lenox Square and Phipps Plaza.My room was again very clean and roomy. This Inn has character and the staff have always been helpful on my three stays.

Room Tip: Stay toward the back on weekends as the bar downstairs is popular with neighborhood folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Highland Inn is a nice, quaint hotel in a nice area. This hotel is dog friendly (with no extra fee) which is great because our dog goes every where with us. We stay at the Highland Inn a couple of times a year when we take 2-3 day trips into ATL for Braves games. Quick access to the Interstate and Turner Field. Just around the corner from the Highland Inn is a walking/biking park and around the other corner is a 24 hour diner. The rooms are small and the beds aren't the best in the world, but we don't go to ATL to spend the entire time in the hotel, so they rooms/beds fit our needs. Free breakfast pastries and drinks are an added bonus. Only downside of the hotel is the limited parking. On the plus side, if you give the hotel your email address they send 20-50% off coupons to you all the time! Since finding the Highland Inn, we no longer have to spend hours online trying to find the best hotel at the best price with easy access to Turner Field and the doggie daycare we use (Kirkwood Bark & Lounge). We finally found our go-to hotel and we no longer need to search around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s-p027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I have stayed in the Highland Inn over twenty times, and each and every time was a pleasure. The staff of this quaint, affordable inn is consistently delightful and very helpful without being overzealous and awkward. Everyone is very knowledgeable about the area and has great recommendations for nightlife, dining and the ATL music scene. The rooms are what you might expect to find in a boarding house in the sixties--they are cute and bright, and cozy. The Ballroom (a music venue in the basement ballroom of the Inn) is fun and hosts great live acts. For younger (early twenties-mid-thirties) people looking for a hip crash pad that will put you in the middle of the action without spending all your cash, the Highland Inn is exactly what you want. And speaking of cash, they offer all sorts of discounts regularly. Just ask them when checking in or reserving!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret Mason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I visit Atlanta at least once a year. In 2011, I flew down with my Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and stayed at the Highland Inn. We loved this dog-friendly hotel, as did several other travelers with their pooches whom we met during breakfast. Jack the Cat greeted us at the front desk and was a true Southern gentleman. The staff was warm and friendly and accommodated all our needs. The room was cozy on a cold winter's night and also quiet.
Ample shopping (note: Dogs are allowed in the nearby Urban Outfitters) and eateries (try Atlanta Cupcake Factory and Soul Vegetarian 2 next door) gave us plenty of places to explore.
We'll definitely be checking in again.
Karuna from Washington, DC

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Big_Karuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We selected The Highland Inn based upon the tripadvisor rating (4.1 of 5.0). What a great place. I had been a bit concerned about ample parking but that turned out not to be a problem. The staff was friendly and helpful ... came up to our room to adjust the TV; recommended places to eat & drink; even used her GPS to map out a route to nearest Macy's.

The room was a bit small but nicely furnished. Love how housekeeping placed the pillows on the bed each morning. What a great location. You could (if you choose) take public transit downtown. Walk to The Carter Center. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydminsterCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
Quality Inn Northlake
#108 of 173 in Atlanta
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Property: The Highland Inn
Address: 644 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-7718
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing