We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad to crash and sleep.”
Review of The Highland Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Highland Inn
Ranked #96 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Overall it was a good experience. Liked the "old hotel" concept. The structure is a bit run down but you could tell they were working on it. Saw people painting hallways. Free and comfortable parking, continental breakfast, quiet window shaker A/C. Need to clean on top of the TV and cable box. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Willie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your feedback and use it to help in the areas that need improving. Thank you for also recognizing the character and charm of our building, we like to think it sets us apart. Please come back and stay again anytime!

Best wishes,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Loved this place.
Was in town for an event at the Carter Center which is a very easy 10 minute walk away accross lovely park setting. The Hotel is next to a fun and tasty restaurant (great beer and night time singer/entertainment on Fri and Sat) with others nearby.

Down in the ballroom of the hotel a variety of events go on, including a "writer's slam" when I was there... which was perfect for me to enjoy.. and to start my day the "San Francisco coffee house" is a short block away, plus the Marta..bus stop is right at the end of the block!
This place was perfect for me. No fuss, no frills, very nice people and price is right! Thanks!

Room Tip: I stayed in different rooms on each of two visits, both nice. One much larger on the "newer&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sayyestolife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

You're welcome! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Guests such as yourself are a pleasure and we hope to have you back in the near future!

Take care,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A very cool old hotel in one of Atlanta's cooler neighborhoods - within walking distance to so many great restaurants and bars. Everyone working here was super helpful and nice. The only thing was that my room was kind of dingy and disappointing. Last time I stayed here I was in a different area of the hotel, and my room was totally cute and I loved it. Maybe I just got a bum room? Dunno. If I were to ever stay again I might request a room on the 2nd floor and beg them to please not stick me in the back corner of the first floor. Definitely a place for the young, maybe not so much for your mom and dad. Unless your mom and dad are German.

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkerbowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. Had we known that you were unhappy we could have moved you to a larger/different room. All of our rooms are different and in the future, please let the front desk staff know so we can make your stay the best it can be.

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Older hotel but they try to keep it nice. Rooms are clean and quiet. We have stayed here several times because it is close to our sons apt. WiFi can be kind of spotty. Breakfast is nothing special,very basic continental style. Pretty good value, just because of the higher prices in a big city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 788jackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your feedback and use it to help in the areas that need improving. We are making several improvements around the hotel and hope you will come back soon to see what we are working on. Our complimentary continental breakfast is keeping with industry standards but we welcome any suggestions you may have to help us improve it. Thanks again!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a great hotel at a great price. I stayed here for four nights from May 27 to June 1. Not only are the amenities great, free continental breakfast, free Wi Fi, free parking, a laundry room, restaurant and bar, books, magazines, a nice sitting room and comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning, tubs, showers, and cable TV. You are within walking distance of parks, shops, restaurants, bars, and public transportation. I also discovered by accident that It is just two blocks from President Jimmy Carter's museum. What else can you ask?

Room Tip: You can either face the parking lot, the courtyard or the front of the hotel. I opted for the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetMH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an extensive and wonderful review of the hotel. We love that you appreciate our uniqueness and that you were able to experience our wonderful area. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for a week. I love this place. Friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Amazing walkable neighborhood with nearby parks, pubs and a movie theater. Definitely old world charm, but in such a good way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingteacher001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We appreciate you sharing your experience with other travelers and are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to your return!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a unique hotel, quaint and the staff is very helpful. Breakfast is continental and fully stocked. I like the neighborhood, easy to get around and close to the center of the city, while at the same time, in a nice neighborhood area.

Great rates and a good hotel for business as well as family pleasure

Room Tip: Ask for the type of rooms available when you check in, the staff will be very helpful and guide you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighlandInn, Manager at The Highland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate your kind words and for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor for other travelers to see. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime!

Best,

Kristin Anderson
Assistant Hotel Manager
The Highland Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
Quality Inn & Suites
#131 of 174 in Atlanta
11 reviews
Comfort Inn Sandy Springs
#88 of 174 in Atlanta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn Northlake
#107 of 174 in Atlanta
200 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#80 of 174 in Atlanta
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Inn

Address: 644 N Highland Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30306-7718
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Poncey-Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £58 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Highland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic 80-room inn built in 1927 and renovated for the Olympics in 1996, the Highland Inn is located within easy walking distance to over 100 shops, restaurants, galleries and bars. Most major Atlanta attractions are just a short distance away, and we are centrally located between the Virginia-Highland and Little Five Points neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Highland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Hotel Atlanta
Highland Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing