We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not looking forward to staying in downtown old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Ranked #38 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Was not looking forward to staying in downtown old hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We recently were here for a conference and was pleasantly surprised that the hotel is very nice. I understand that this was one of the original Regency in the chain , so I figured that the it would not be up to par with other Regency's .? But I was wrong the rooms & interior lobby were spotless and modern . Service was spot on with a Hyatt .Regency. Great location for downtown.
Just a note to fair to fellow travelers , it was pricey . .

Room Tip: All parking in the Hotel was valet at $30..00 + a day and is underneath the hotel on the backside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southerntraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We were the original Regency for Hyatt and strive to hold up our reputation as the years pass. Combined with the innovative designs by John Portman, we see ourselves as a beacon of light for the corporation, the industry and the city of Atlanta. In 2012 we started a $65 million transformation to keep our accommodations, outlets, amenities and more in check with the modern day traveler. We believe we do a great job making our guests happy and we're glad you agree! We hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,707
    1,209
    566
    257
    150
See reviews for
440
495
199
2,325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed in the Hyatt during the January Gift Market. The location is great for walking to mart but if I went to Atlanta just to tour or shop, it is very expensive and there are no department stores near.
The rooms are large and nicely furnished. At $250+ they should be, don't drink the $5.00 water or use the $9.95/day internet. We parked for $32.00 a night and never moved the car!
Yes, we were on an expense account so who cares? (We do...that is our business that was charged)
Very nice people work there, very helpful and "southern" friendly.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view of Atlanta!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63901pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us! We are in a great location for those attending shows at AmericasMart. We're a main hotel located on Peachtree St. which makes your life much easier when it comes to restaurants, bars, stores and the Mart. We do offer valet parking, and that includes unlimited in and out privileges for your convenience. We do encourage you to stay with us on non-business trips, as Atlanta Station is a short drive from our hotel. Also, there are multiple neighborhoods within 10 miles of our hotel that offer hot-trendy restaurant spots and shopping. We hope to see you again for the next Gift show and give us a chance when touring/visiting the city. We won't let you down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I took her best friend to visit downtown Atlanta and we shared a room. The quality of the room is very good and the location is fantastic. Easily walk to all of the major attractions. The staff is helpful and it is almost everything you expect. Bed quality and pillows are a matter of personal preference so I won't comment on these. However this is the third visit to a Hyatt in the last 6 months and the second time I have had a double room. The first it was the only one available and this time we requested it. The beds are old style traditional double which are too small to share. My wife is only 5' 6" 105 pounds, she is small, and I am pretty fit as well so I can't imagine how normal size Americans can fir comfortably. We traveled with this friend from Russia to LA, San Fran, Indianapolis, Baltimore, DC, and Atlanta sharing a room in every location. Hyatt is the only one with these small beds. Its a shame because we have stayed in Hyatts around the world in King beds together and always enjoy the quality but when we have a child or when we bring someone along it is no longer an option.

Only one other comment, when I stay at a Hyatt (granted I am Gold at Hilton, so take this with a grain of salt) I do not expect to pay $10 for slow internet or $15 for "premium" I think it should be free for $200 a night.

Other than this if the bed isn't a problem for you I think you will really enjoy this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brc4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us! We're happy to hear that you have enjoyed your room accommodations and our central location in downtown Atlanta. Also, our staff is trained to the highest of standards to ensure your stay is notable and memorable. In all our rooms, we feature Hyatt Grand Beds ® for a great night's sleep. During your next trips to Atlanta we hope you continue to choose Hyatt. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during Gift Market at AmericasMart, one of the busiest weeks of the year. Hotel was super convenient, especially in the extreme cold weather. Hotel was nice, but I was really impressed with all the staff, from the front desk, to the concierge, to the restaurant staff, to the valet parking staff - excellent service and always a friendly smile. The food at Sway was really good - enjoyed the evening buffet. Having the Market in the lobby was nice in the morning for a quick breakfast. My only complaint is the add on charges, like internet service. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank waajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us while attending a show at AmericasMart. We are in a very convenient location to the venue and we enjoy all of our guests who partake in the fun, exciting, busy week! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff it truly energetic and involved with our guests, and we strive to surpass your expectations when it comes to hospitality. Our staff is trained to the highest standards to ensure your stay is top notch. We hope you do continue to stay with us, and we look forward to your loyalty. Thanks for your review and we will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Plain and simple - the hotel stay experience was excellent. The hotel was fantastic including the room, restaurants, and staff. From the minute I arrived until the time I left the staff bent over backwards and all had nothing but positive attitudes. I travel to Atlanta twice a year for work and plan on only staying at the Hyatt Regency exclusively.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the restaurants and our staff to your room accommodations. We strive to meet your traveling needs and it seems like we surpassed them! We look forward to seeing you more often. Also, check out our Gold Passport program so you can receive extra benefits during your stay! More info is on our website. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and each time the property seems to improve. Great service from a well trained staff. Impeccably clean rooms and great hotel amenities. A perfect place for business trips in downtown Atlanta. The Marta subway station is a direct link from the airport making this an easy commute. Stayed in the round tower building. The room was small but very nicely remodeled. Perfect for one person. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the round tower are great; although a bit small. Private access to the building add a leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for continuing to return to our property! We love when our guests feel at home with our accommodations and staff that they make Hyatt Regency Atlanta a must-have on their trips to the city. We do train our staff to the highest of standards and they perform to the best of their capability. As you mentioned, our hotel is a direct stop on the MARTA line when leaving the airport. The train system is also connected to our property via an enclosed skybridge. You stayed in our Radius Tower which includes many perks for our guests including free wi-fi, private entrance, personal concierge text service and convenient access to the 24/7 StayFit Fitness Center. Perfect for a business trip! We look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ningbo, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Nice rooms with a good location!
I booked and paid for a king. When i arrives king wasn't available so offered a queen which i declined since I'm with my wife!
Told for 30$ a night could gave a corner king which u took but i could cate less about the view or extra space. So accepted tge bait and switch!
Second problem they didint clean my room before 5 pm next day so finally after several phone calls had a person bring me new towels and toiletries. Talked to a manger who blew me off. My suggestion. Go Marriott. There is a reason they are growing so much while hyatt fades away

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doolie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We apologize that your stay was neither up to your expectations nor our standards. Our staff strives to make your stay memorable with our wonderful accommodations and caring staff. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the true value in Hyatt Regency Atlanta. Visit us again and let us wow you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#43 of 171 in Atlanta
3,094 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#45 of 171 in Atlanta
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#89 of 171 in Atlanta
3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Property: Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Address: 265 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#33 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing