We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip spoiled by cockroach in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Was there for business trip, stayed in room 1108. The room was poorly lit, small bathroom (I felt like Lisa Vanderpump complaining about the small bathroom! lol). Found a dirty sock in the room, carpet unvaccuumed for days, sheets not changed unless requested. We didn't realize that you had to handwrite a request card for them to change the sheets. After our daily room clean up, the kleenex was soaking wet (ALL of the kleenex in the box) because housekeeping would wipe the top and apparently water would run into the box. We had to ask for a new box. Also ran out of toilet paper, necessitating a call in the early morning to get more. The kicker was finding a large cockroach on the tile outside of our bathroom. It was on it's back, so at least he was dead, right? NO! It started wriggling it's feet trying to turn over. I called to the front desk and they sent up an engineer to get it (bet he didn't figure that in his job description!). He was going to pick it up with a kleenex, but when he saw it was still alive, stomped on it with his shoe...SPLATTT! Not the type of memorable experience a hotel should be giving it's guests. Went to the front desk to change rooms, and was told that I would be called by the manager, Tyler, with our new room number and to discuss what happened. No call. ever. After attending a meeting, had to go back again to the front desk, where they were very nice in giving us a new room. We were inconvenienced with packing when we could have been doing something else (we were leaving the next day) and moved to room 1722. Our first room was very quiet, but this room was so noisy at night, that we were woken up frequently. You can not only hear people laughing and hooting, but also loud traffic. Hmmm, quiet cockroach room or noisy clean room. So many choices.

Although there were at least 6 elevators, only 2-3 were working, making a greater than 5 minute wait. When the elevators finally came, they were crammed with people, causing some to wait for the next elevator.

On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Anna and Regina). The Sway restaurant is great, and thanks to Kyle for arranging our group dinner and Michael for the fantastic service. The hotel location is perfect, connected to a food court mall with a couple of shops, including a 24 hour CVS, which is a welcome perk. Also connected is the MARTA metro that takes you directly from the airport. You can take it all over the city for much much cheaper than the cabs.

I think this hotel has potential to be good, but it may depend on what room you are in. Disappointed overall. Does not live up to the Hyatt reputation.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing Peachtree St.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itellunolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We regret to hear you did not find your stay to be up to your expectations, nor our standards. Our staff strives to meet (and succeed) your expectations and show the true value in our property. We are pleased that you had outstanding experiences with specific individuals at the Front Desk and at Sway, our signature restaurant. We do hope you will give us a second chance to wow you and show you the true potential of this property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,959)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Atlanta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,857 - 2,863 of 3,960 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I attended a yearly conference here. We usually go to San Diego, Orlando, Phoenix, or San Antonio so you can imagine how disappointed we were to be in Atlanta in February! Cold, and not much consolation to be 10 degrees warmer than 30 degree Maryland. This hotel was ALOT cheaper than the Resort hotels we usually stay at so it suffers quite a bit in comparison. First the good. Modern hotel with new rooms and clean linens. If you need to be downtown, it is very convenient. The atrium concept is quite striking. Clean linens, comfortable bedding, and plenty of pillows. Cheerful employees! Now the bad. The rooms are quite small. Our room had a desk, desk chair, and a sitting chair. They were all modern minimalist design and not at all comfortable. Internet wifi was spotty. Two elevators were out of service so it was slow going for those of us on the 20th floor. The bathroom is really small. Since it is winter, there is really nothing going on since the outdoor pool is closed. Lots of concrete visible everywhere you look outside. I am glad my wife declined to attend this year because she would have been bored out of here mind. If you are by yourself on a business trip, this is not a bad place. But I can't imagine why you would stay here on a vacation until the weather warms up!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Knotoncall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks for staying with us during your conference. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, especially with your room accommodations and our friendly staff. We want you to be as comfortable as possible when you're with us. If you happen to find yourself in Atlanta again, we hope you will choose Hyatt Regency Atlanta. We are in the heart of downtown and within walking distance of great restaurants and many attractions: Georgia Aquarium, World of Coca-Cola, CNN Center, Centennial Olympic Park, Center for Civil and Human Rights (2014), College Football Hall of Fame (2014) and more. There's much to do around the city and our concierge can help find something that matches your interests. We hope you will visit again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is a good choice for business people. Central downtown location, a lot of space even for larger conferences and exhibitions, very good service from the beginning -- you note it already by checking in which is very quick and check-out is so simple that other hotels should take this as their benchmark. 22 Stores bar is the place where all people meet in the evening. Prices not much higher from normal downtown Atlanta prices. Access to Marta station without going out, a shopping mall and food court next to the hotel if you want variation for your breakfast. All in all, excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UUTELA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thanks for staying with us! We're so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and hope you will continue to stay with us in the future. We are centrally located in the heart of the Convention District of downtown Atlanta. We also host conferences and conventions all year round at our property and love when convention goers stay with us –the convenience is ideal, plus we can guarantee stellar customer service in all aspects of the hotel. Our lobby bar, Twenty-Two Storys is a great place to grab local brews without having to leave the hotel, and our bar menu is beer-forward so you're sure to get your hops one way or another. We hope to see you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed @ the Hyatt Regency Atlanta downtown & all I can do is rave about the quality of service, spacious & immaculately clean rooms, & the outstanding regency club. Basically our overall experience was nothing short of what I have come to expect from the Hyatt brand !!! Which is also why I will continue to remain loyal to Hyatt !! I hate that my short getaway to Atl has to come to an end but Hyatt Regency Atlanta downtown DEFINITELY made my stay fabulous !!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MzAsya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your sweet words! We're so happy to hear that we made your stay memorable for you and your loved one. It's also great to hear that you are a loyal Hyatt guest. We love when guests return time after time because that means we continue to treat you the way you deserve! Continue to stay with us and look in to our Gold Passport program for great benefits. Anytime you're looking for a great place to go, you know we will treat you right at Hyatt. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Efficient registration. Entire hotel is updated and modern. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Comfortable bed, crisp and clean linens, enough space. Nice modern TV. Good wifi. I like the Hyatt open central format. It was nog too noisy and I was on 4th floor. The restaurants were busy during lunch so we ate off site. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown, cubic center, and many restaurant options within walking distance. I would stay here again if I were in Atlanta for a downtown meeting. It has all you would expect from a well run Hyatt property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for choosing our property during your trip to Atlanta. We have recently undergone a $65 million transformation which included our room accommodations, dining outlets, meeting space and more. We're very proud of how our hotel comes off to our guests: true southern hospitality in a modern atmosphere. Our main tower is an open atrium concept, but we also have two additional towers featuring various layouts. We have everything to meet your traveling needs. Also, we are located in the heart of downtown Atlanta amongst multiple restaurants and attractions --all within walking distance. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I visited the Hyatt for a quick business trip. They were happy to upgrade my room when they realized that my room became unavailable to their high occupancy. The hotel is beautiful, the room was immaculate and spacious. I was very pleased with the level of attention that the staff pays to their guests. The location is central to many great restaurants and downtown attractions. I would recommend that anyone stay at this property when visiting Atlanta.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Yoyoforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Wow! Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and especially for sharing your great experience with us. We love to hear what our staff surprises and delights our guests --it's what we do! Our hotel is beautiful and remains a historic landmark since its creation in '67. Glad you could enjoy it! As you mentioned, we are within walking distance of multiple restaurants and attractions. We encourage guests to explore the city we love. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will continue to stay with us on future trips to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a very chic, clean and beautiful hotel. The bar has amazing servers including Austin and his Manager Mehne. They were very accommodating and attentive to our every need. The restaurant also had great service and great food, Jossie was our server and was exceptional. The hotel does have a noise problem late at night but we found when we called down to the front desk at 12:30 am, security came immediately to the room that was having the party and it was broken up. We received a call the next day letting us know that security was increased and if we had any other issues to call right away. Overall, my experience was exceptional and I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Possibly one on a higher level to get away from noise level on weekends
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellehaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattAtlanta, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for staying with us and for the kind words you shared regarding specific individuals on our staff. We will be sure to share your shout out to those mentioned. It's our pleasure to provide wonderful, meaningful service to our guests. As you mentioned, our security staff can be easily reached for any concerns or comments during your stay. They are staffed 24/7 and readily available with one phone call. We strive to make your stay as memorable and peaceful as possible. We hope you will continue to choose Hyatt Regency Atlanta for your trips to Atlanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#41 of 172 in Atlanta
3,119 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#47 of 172 in Atlanta
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#89 of 172 in Atlanta
3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Address: 265 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#18 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#33 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £103 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the legendary Peachtree Street and the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hyatt Regency Atlanta is the premier meeting and convention hotel. The 22-story atrium is an architectural "first" that revolutionize hotel design worldwide! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing