We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Peachtrees
Ranked #101 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I recently took a trip to Atlanta, to attend a braves game after a full day of driving we arrived to learn they didn't have my reservation. I was asked to wait for the manager whom I waited on for quite some time. I then learned that they didn't have my reservation because they cancelled it due to not honoring the employee rate. I was very upset and told that they would try to put me in a sister property 30 minutes away because they were "sold out" after some time the manager came back to tell me he only had a king size room when I booked a double that he could put me in. We took the room. The rooms are very small, the bed was very hard and it was very hot in our room. Needless to say I will not be staying here again. As an employee of best western I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

I struggled... with how to respond to this review...for the past three days.

We have had the privilege of having over 700 Best Western employees...
with and without their families..
stay at our Inn over the past 36 months... without one...terrible stay.

I spoke with Ken Ballard our Front Desk Manager whom you spoke to.

He shared that you had originally made your reservation...
for an incorrect date.... July 16th...and obtained your employee rate...
a rate of $ 69 dollars

And that once you realized the error you requested our accepting you...
on ...JUNE 16th... a SOLD OUT night for us...
and where our rates were in the range of $ 149 - $ 189.

We did indeed grant your request... because it was important to you.

You were not cancelled out because of your employee rate...
we were... okay with that...
but you had no credit/debit card on file...and we were in high demand...
and we were not certain you were indeed arriving.

BUT you did arrive.. and Ken did accommodate and honor your rate..
and also waived the $ 15 dollar parking fee...
a fee... we do not keep that money...as it goes to a third party.
Meaning... we personally paid for your parking.

Anyway...IF ...I continue with this... the response will be very long...
AND it is not my purpose or intent... to minimize your value to us.

WHY did I struggle ?...
well...I was taken aback by your review...I thought it was unfair...
and I wondered why you waited 20 days to submit it...
which made me question... what your motivation was....

AND THEN... I recalled reading a book by Adam Smith...
The Theory of Moral Sentiments... written in 1759.
which encouraged me to ..reconsider my "anger"...

Among the many important to me quotes... was this one...

"Everyone is capable of sympathy, or fellow-feeling
and that ability enables us to imagine what we would feel..
if we... were in the situation of another...
and once we have made that imaginative move...
we can then we can judge whether those feelings are appropriate".

I think your feelings were and are appropriate.

The bottom line here is that it makes no difference...
if you are/were an employee of Best Western...

What matters is... that you were our guest...
and your experience... regardless of the circumstances of booking...
and with your small...hot room... with a hard bed...
made it a terrible experience for all of you.

SO....my wife Virginia and I ...
are truly sorry that we failed you...and your family...
on what should have been a great time in Atlanta...

and so...we have asked Ken...to do something...
that you will soon see on your account...

which I trust...believe...hope...will demonstrate our regrets..
and will... give you reason to come back.

G

gdvelis@innatthepeachtrees.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We needed a place to stay for the ISTE Convention, and this was, at the time of our reservation, the closest place available. It turned out to be a pretty good stay overall.

They had their own parking garage, BUT there are only about 20 or so spaces. Pretty sure there are more than 20 rooms here, so that could potentially cause trouble. The parking garage is also small. Our Honda CR-V fit into the parking spaces, but if we had driven our pickup, we would have not been able to easily maneuver it in the garage. Parking is $15 a night, and the garage is controlled access. You have to hold up your parking pass in your car window for the clerk to see and then open the gate for you. That was nice.

Our room was much smaller than I would have liked. We got the two double beds, because that was all that was available at the time of booking. Once the three of us (wife and son were with me) moved our stuff in, there wasn't much space in the room. The refrigerator barely held two half-gallons of milk and some lunch meat.

Despite that, our stay was comfortable. The beds weren't the best, no, but they were decent. Very noisy when you roll over in your sleep; since my son is an "active" sleeper, I kept waking up. Our neighbors were concerned that their infant twins would keep us awake, but we barely heard their crying fits, and only knew about them because we saw them at breakfast and they asked us if we'd been bothered.

The shower had one of those rain shower heads, and it was amazing. Easily the best part of the stay.

The tv was terrible. It was DirecTV, but the quality was on par with watching YouTube on a dial-up connection. There were only a few channels that worked, and only one (Nickelodeon) that our son could watch.

The wifi was a decent connection; we were able to watch Netflix on our tablet with little trouble.

The staff were professional. The gentleman who checked us in came across as a little snobbish, but he was polite and helpful. The manager leaves his cell phone number in every room, and their "area information sheet" was peppered with (amusing) helpful hints, clearly written by the staff. Things like "The mall is only a short cab ride away...but you REALLY don't want to take a cab. The prices are outrageous. We recommend the MARTA." were commonplace on the sheet. It felt very personable, and it made us smile.

The complimentary breakfast was also wonderful. It's served from 6:30-10:30 on weekdays, and 7:30-10:30 on weekends. They had hard-boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, grits, potatoes, muffins, donuts, bread, bagels, pancake maker, waffle maker, cereals, coffees, milks, juices....lots of variety, and all very delicious.

My only true complaint is not about the hotel, but the traffic outside. Our room was on the second floor, facing the road, and our first night sounded like a drag race outside. Huge engines roaring and racing at 1 in the morning. Very annoying. The garbage truck came by early in the morning, and was also loud. Not the hotel's fault, though.

Overall, I recommend it if you need a cheaper place to stay for the convention center. The center was only about a 20 minute walk away; our convention had buses for us, but we still walked there and back the first day. The Centennial Olympic Park is only a few minutes away, and is a nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

"You got to accentuate the positive eliminate the negative"... describes you perfectly.

The opening words in my commentary are from a song published in 1944..
and when the lyricist was asked for the inspiration...

Mercer said... he heard them from a pastor who opened his sermon...
which gave him the idea for the following words.....
you've got to spread joy to the maximum...
and bring gloom to the minimum.

I read all of the other reviews of our reviewers to see and know...
IF they can be trusted...and here are my favorites of yours...
such self-effacing wonderful reviews.

Manny's Original Chop House, Haines City, Florida
"Food was tasty and service good...but noise level LOUD.
Admittedly I'd driven 2.5 hours to get there...
so I might have been extra-sensitive due to being tired.
The noise...was not enough to keep us from going back"

Gold Link Motel in Kissimmee...
"The only complaint we had was the shower would go from hot to cold"
However this was not a big deal...
it just took some adjustment of the shower handle. No big deal".

AND finally my favorite favorite...
LEGOLAND in Winter Haven...
"If you don't love legos than this park is not for you"..
(but)
"For me I could live in that park and be happy"

As for the negatives in our property...they are always the same three.
And it is something that ALL the hotels downtown share

Parking - none of us own our own lots and have to charge a fee
Our fee is $ 15 all other hotels range from $ 21 to $ 35.
All major downtown city hotels suffer from this curse.


Rooms - 16 of the 22 major hotels have either small rooms or baths..
OR both... and we all get terribly "dinged" on reviews.
Hotels built in the early 1900's to 1970's.

Beds.......WELL hmmmmm... this is a tough one...
I love the HARD beds... wife Virginia....loves soft beds.
AND our guests split evenly on this important topic.

As for the DirecTV signal... thanks for letting me know...cable issue.
As for the "snobbish" desk agent... well he can be/ is so... at times.
As for the traffic noise... replacing the windows on that side of the hotel.

YOU are every hotel managers dream guest...
and on behalf of my colleagues and I... thank you...

G

PS... Virginia and I would really like to meet you and your wife...
and son... IF you ever come back to Atlanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Lobby was beautiful, front desk was very nice and helpful. First thing, ice machine on our level (2) is out of order, phone in room doesn't work (no dial tone or anything), mini refrigerator doesn't work/get cold, see through curtains. Won't be back!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

My wife Virginia is a great home cook...me...well I am okay but not great.

On the weekends...specifically Friday nights...and all meals Saturday..
I cook... and it usually works out pretty well....but not every time.

And the same goes for Virginia... once in a rare while...
she ...misses...and she worries and asks ... if I am disappointed.

Well perhaps she doesn't use that specific word...disappointed...
but I am trying to make a point here...

Obviously..."things' should not go wrong...but sometimes they do.

I wish that you had let that very "nice and helpful desk"...HELP.

They would have immediately shown you were the...
BLACK OUT drapes were "hiding" in front of the sheer curtains.

Put the second telephone in the room on the hook that was off the hook...
causing the no dial tone condition...(happens all the time)

Reset the dial on the refrigerator or replaced it in less than 10 minutes.

ANYWAY... just like ...my wife and I... overlook the "disappointments"..
and the next meal is just ...spot on.
we would like you to reconsider your....."won't be back"... finality.

Contact me at... gdvelis@innatthepeachtrees.com
so that...
we can discuss... a ..."do over"... as our guest.

G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

For the price that we paid, we received an extremely small room, beds that were hard and extremely limited parking. $15 a day fee to park...but you better be one of the first to check in to get a space or you will be parking elsewhere, not on property. Ask for a room on the courtyard side.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Heather Or Chuc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

HARD beds...soft beds...beds with select DUAL control personal preference.

I know...I know...sleep is the MOST important "thing" for all of us.
We purchased the best we could,,, when we opened 36 months ago.
And they seem to... be working well or ...be tolerated well... by most...
at least by our reading the surveys that our guest fill out.
Beds surprisingly are rated pretty high.

But for those who cannot rest well...then it becomes a problem.
A "good nights" rest can make or break a visit to any city.
SO...we are currently in discussion on our upcoming upgrades....
and the number one topic is beds.

Now granted we did not have a huge amount of cash when we opened....
but we have been fortunate/ lucky... to be among the most successful...
hotels in downtown Atlanta...so our cash flow position has improved.

As for the SMALL room...while most of the hotels downtown...
"suffer" from the exact same condition...
the room you occupied in...is one of 3 of our smallest.

SO...I WANT you... need you... to contact me asap...PLEASE
at... gdvelis@innatthepeachtrees.com...OR my cell... 404-723-0024...
and I have a proposal for you...

G

PS...
We have another parking lot we lease...with 40 spaces next door.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel has rooms surrounding a courtyard. If there are people in the courtyard late at night, then you can hear them talking. The walls in the rooms are thin, so you can also hear your neighbors. The beds and sheets are not at all comfortable. The staff were not very friendly. They gave me a key to a room that was already occupied and then didn't seem to think anything of it when I had to return to the front desk for a new room. I would recommend looking somewhere else for a hotel. The breakfast is decent, but very high in carbs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEtravels1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Virginia and I are devastated... to read and know that you hated our inn and staff.

195,166 miles traveled....and 21 Countries you have visited...
You have stayed at some rather remarkable places...

The .. Hotel Capitan Suizo in Tamarindo...Costa Rico...
where you could relax on the hammocks overlooking the ocean...
and where one could see an Iquana or howler monkeys walking by.

The Hotel Paganelli in Venice...
which Virginia and I have stayed at too...
and we agree... the views of the Lagoon...
boardwalk and islands are remarkable.

We really wish that we had known that things were not going well...
during the week you spent with us...

While we would not be able to fix the things you shared...
we would have most certainly found a way...
to have you had a much better time than you did.

Ken Ballard our Front Desk Manager will be communicating...
with you privately... and will ...share with you...our idea / way...
to make things right.

Sorry...

G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second trip to Best Western Peachtree and we saw some familiar faces, all of them, from the front desk to the kitchen manager I remember them from last visit and they were just as wonderful as before. Hard to find staff so friendly and welcoming. I am sure it is because they are treated well by the company. They all seem dedicated to making your stay the best it can be. We had a lovely time in Atlanta and I highly recommend this location, which has parking garage onsite added bonus. Close to find places to eat and to attractions like the aquarium and World of Coke. There are many hotels in this area but I don't think you will be treated finer than you will be if you stay at this Best Western. Very comfortable beds and $1 cokes in the vending machine what more can you ask for !!!! If you ask for it they will get it for you . This is the place make no mistake, don't spend the big bucks for a 5 star name this is the best place to stay by far. You won't be sorry. Manager gives his cell phone number out in the room, if you have an issue you can call him direct, won't see that at the Hyatt!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamashuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

TOP contributor to Trip Advisor with 87 reviews and a "second timer" to our little Inn.

I went back to your previous review from... June of 2013 to remind myself...
of what you had said... and what I had said back to you in my response.

And then "I remembered" you... so very well..

YOU... and YOUR "experiences" to that date...were the catalyst...
for me to take my wife Virginia...out to our own adventures.
and... for that I am grateful.

Anyway... so here you are again... and SO...I went and read...
all of your OTHER reviews posted ...
since June of 2013... and once again...
your reviews and comments are so spot on and shared in such...
a wonderful... positive and... happy manner.

SO this time... I would like to respond to you...
with some of my favorite ...HEADLINES you wrote....

Yum Yum aboard the midnight train
Even if you are afraid of bridges just do it
A roar of a good time
Marshmallow Sweet Potato yummy
Yummy Yummy
EPIC Burger
Who's your Crawdaddy
Mac and Cheese so Yummy
Yummalicious

Hmmmm... seems you now have an affinity for the word YUMMY.
NOT that there is anything wrong with that.....

Here is my favorite HEADLINE...in reference to the Antico Pizza Napoletana
SIRI was right THE best Pizza in Atlanta

AND then you go on to describe the Pizza your family ordered...
as...
"sensual...that is the way I will describe the pizza...it is that good".

Once again... you bring joy to me and my wife Virginia...
and once again... thanks for words about our staff...
we are a small business with 27 good human beings that we love...
and while we occasionally fail... we all ...try to make everyone happy.

Safe and yummy travels to you...

G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel was clean and rooms were pleasant, conveniently located in walking distance to attractions and the subway, as well as having a secure parking garage. Above all, the staff is extraordinary. We were always remembered and greeted by the front desk, and all staff on site- from housekeeping to maintenance- were friendly and courteous. The front desk manager, Ken Ballard, is extremely helpful, personable, and an all around asset to this hotel. We will definitely stay here again when traveling in Atlanta.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tankgirl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdvelis, General Manager at Inn at the Peachtrees, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Millennials rule ! ... not that...that is a bad thing... we LOVE our millennials.

That stated... my wife Virginia and I... are baby boomers.

And while... we... and every... major hotel brand is redesigning...
their properties to...welcome the younger and wonderful... travelers...
I miss the ..."old days"...and the "traditional feel".

SO...in reading your other reviews...
(I read ALL our guests other reviews)...
I was...
absolutely taken aback with your review of...
the StarLux Hotel and Suites in Wildwood New Jersey...(Cape May).

Their descriptor... "Bunk in Doo Wop inspired rooms or take your vacation...
back in time... in one of our two vintage Airstream trailers".
I was fascinated... and hooked... in viewing all their images...
and...
even more awed... seeing that whomever...or whatever entity...
owns this facility... also owns/operates... 4 other unique properties.

I will tell you now... I am going / taking Virginia...to this Cape May area...
which is only 45 minutes from Atlantic City...as soon as I can...
and yes... staying in one of those Airstreams !

thanks for your TIP on that great place...
and for saying nice things about.... Ken...our Front Desk Manager...
he is a genuinely sincere and kind human being.

G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
The Ellis Hotel
#46 of 173 in Atlanta
1,470 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#40 of 173 in Atlanta
4,231 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#82 of 173 in Atlanta
3,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
3,240 reviews
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#84 of 173 in Atlanta
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Peachtrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Peachtrees

Address: 330 West Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30308-3517 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Peachtrees)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#68 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £77 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Peachtrees 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Atlanta, there are many choices in hotels in the area, but we know you are looking for the best hotel deal for your lodging needs. When you book your hotel room with Inn at the Peachtrees, you’re choosing one of the best hotels located in the heart of Atlanta. You’ll find that accommodations are convenient, comfortable, and most importantly, affordable. Our recently renovated rooms are spacious, clean, and well-lit. We offer many on-site amenities, making your stay as close to perfect as we can. With paid parking exclusive only to our hotel guests, free daily hot breakfast, fitness facility, and more great offerings on property, we have everything you need to make your trip a success. That’s why with each room booking we include complimentary high-speed internet, in-room work area and desk, as well as a business center and meeting room in the lobby area. No matter what you’re looking for in your next hotel stay, you’ll find it here with us each time for less. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at the Peachtrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn At The Peachtrees Hotel Atlanta
Hotel At The Peachtrees
At The Peachtrees Atlanta
Best Western Atlanta
Atlanta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing