We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still an OUTSTANDING hotel but it could improve a little” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #29 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still an OUTSTANDING hotel but it could improve a little”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The service is still impecable, I said still because I go there often enough to be recognized by the staff. The hotel serves STARBUCKs coffee which is great but they only serve the standard roast and a lot of people like STARBUCKs BLONDE milder roast coffee which no Sheraton I know of serves. It would be really nice to be able to get a cup of blonde coffee at Sheraton. A shuttle from the airport would be nice too.

Getting your car to the valet parking can be difficult at times because the area can get congested and I think the club room at the Sheraton Airport has a slightly better menu. But all in all the Sheraton Atlanta is a great hotel to stay at. Where else can I show up at the Bar asking for toast and eggs which is not on the menu and not only get it but have the server ask me if I wanted bacon or sausage with that. That is terrific service that I've only had at one other hotel, the Westin Dublin.

This is really hotel that puts the word SERVICE into a full service.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to avoid rooms overlooking the streets.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are good but they could use recycle containers in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback to which we will see if we can try and make happen. We thank you for your continued loyalty. It's guest like you to which we owe our success. We look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    867
    323
    109
    77
See reviews for
478
419
143
1,338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed in Sheraton for a week attending business conference in Atlanta. Location of the hotel was excellent for us, walking distance from our conference location, walking distance from Downtown restaurants and places to go out, walking distance from MARTA and close to highway.
Room was spacious with great comfortable bed. Bathroom was a kind of disappointment. It was pretty small and amenities provided were of rather poor quality. Hair shampoo was one of the worst I have ever had. On the other hand, both room and bathroom were very clean and taken care of.
Gym is rather small, and when big conferences taking place with many jetlagged people it gets very busy even at 5 am. Pool is very good. Provides the feeling of being in a resort. Water is salted and of the right temperature.
I only had few breakfasts there and it was ok. I expected wider selection of fruits and was a bit disappointed with no vegetables and salads served for breakfast. Highlight was the Starbucks coffee in the hotel.
Staff was great, especially Marija in the restaurant, who was very helpful and friendly. I thought that was because we come from the same country and she was happy to speak her own language, but my other friends from other countries had nothing but great compliments for her. She was trying to help everyone and accommodate our needs and requests.
One thing that kind of changed my overall good experience was the check out. I decided to make check out night before to avoid long lines in the morning and ended up at the reception for almost an hour. A guy who was checking me out was nothing but useless, and I ended up drawing up people and breakfasts and how to divide the bill. Once I manage to sort that out and had him figure out how to issue proper invoice, express check out next morning was really express.
Overall, I would go back to this Hotel, mostly for its staff, location and gym/pool area.

Green Features: Forgot how they call it, but bottom line is if you do not change towels every day, you get 5 USD off for breakfast for each day
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LejlaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback. It pleases us to know our team provided you with a friendly and overall enjoyable experience. We hope to have you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The good:
-super location just off the interstate
- fast to airport transfer
-walking distance to very center of town
-short walk to MARTA train
-nice looking pool in patio
-good bar
The not so good:
-Staff a bit unkind - surprising in one of top US cities
-lobby a bit chaotic and not best designed
-paid internet
-lot of "corridor action" around the clock
-delayed luggage handling - suboptimal (they would not even call that luggage arrived)
-nothing in approach that would be a positive surprise
-got ripped off by bell boy - offered "standard price transfer to airport service" which was obviously to his benefit and which of course ended up over 2 Times higher than standard price and only after long negotiations went down a bit.
-price to performance ratio way to high

Generally I would rather recommend to choose different hotel. My general feeling was below ok, the price is high, Staff rather unfriendly (with exceptions) and obvious bell boy scheme :(. There are a lot of much nicer hotels in downtown Atlanta. I will not come back there soon.

Room Tip: please avoid walk through rooms. I had 2xx - with thin walls I was hearing action around all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review as we appreciate your feedback. The description of our staff is not a common response from most of our guests. We are sorry to hear your experience was below standard. That is not what we want for you. We can only wish you safe future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

When I discovered that a package was not delivered to a business guest during her stay, Jerome Smith worked hard to see what happened and remedy the problem. He found the package that had not been timely delivered and then had it sent to the guest at her next destination in New York state. The package arrived, the guest was delighted, and the person who mailed it was very pleased with Jerome's excellent service. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review and the praise of Jerome. We find this common practice for Jerome who goes above and beyond as he wants to ensure the best for you. We appreciate you recognizing his service. Glad to know the package was recovered and was delivered to the right guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My agency had a training at the Sheraton and we wanted to make sure that our staff's parking was pre-paid and taken care of. Johnny was awesome. He was happy to assist me and he made sure that we had everything we needed. Thanks Johnny for such excellent customer service, it goes a long way.

Thanks,

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kay72014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear we were able to meet your needs so efficiently. Johnny is a gem and we are glad to have him. It's no surprise he was able to accommodate your parking requests. We look forward to having you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here 4 nights. Great customer service. We experienced no problems. Had 2 rooms 482 and 484 which were clean and cool. Only down side is rooms with higher numbers are a long walk from elevator if you are going to the front desk, but if going to the restaurants or self parking without cover there is a closer elevator. We tried both restaurants - Fandangles & Collage. At Fandangles, order from the menu. We tried the burgers (steak & turkey) with waffles fries or sweet potato fries, which were very good. Collage is a buffet style. I generally do not eat at buffets but I decided to give it a try. I was surprised, it was very good. The area was nice and clean. Food was kept covered.

Room Tip: rooms ending with 20, 30, 40, 50 are closer to the elevator; higher numbers are a long walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stylin_trina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as your dining experiences in our restaurants. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Maybe it's my fault for having a high expectation in the first place. They say this place is 4 stars which is why we chose it but it wasn't even close. Maybe with some work it can be. Valet was easy as was check in, but we were told to go on up to our room to wait for our bags. We stood at that elevator close to 8 minutes just waiting for the thing to finally make it's way to the ground floor. There were over 15 people waiting by the time it arrived and of course not everyone can get in so half had to wait. Then we waited and waited and waited for our bags to arrive. It was later and we had been driving all day and just wanted to relax, which included access to things in our bags like a change of underwear and contact solution. We finally called the front desk to ask about our bags and was again told they would be right up. Which they were not. My boyfriend finally went downstairs himself and started hauling the cart up when someone stopped him and finally assisted him in bring the bags up, which of course took forever because the elevator was SLOW. I will never stay here again...ever. Take your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matilda212000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsenden, Director of Sales at Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the wait time to receive your luggage was the downfall of your stay. We will take your feedback and use it to improve. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#34 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#42 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#91 of 172 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Atlanta Hotel

Property: Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
Address: 165 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#15 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Atlanta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 763
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Atlanta Hotel, located in the heart of Georgia's capital city, minutes from the Georgia World Congress Center, Georgia Aquarium, Philips Arena, Centennial Park and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sheraton Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Atlanta
Atlanta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing