We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where was the Ritz!?! ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #21 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where was the Ritz!?! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving to the hotel we were greeted with a very nice associate at the front desk. The concierge was also very helpful and friendly. Other than that...horrible!!! Our room was tiny and not as nice as a Courtyard Marriott!!! Housekeeping and security seemed to be having a party outside of our room morning, noon and night! They were so loud and obnoxious! The hotel needs a massive update and is really looking old, dated and worn out! I could not believe that Ritz Carlton would attach their amazing quality and service to this horrible property!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kctx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the noise disturbance. In response to the quality of the product, I do want to share with you that the hotel has been gradually renovated and updated over the course of the past five years - granted that the architectural features are reflective of the times the hotel first opened in 1984. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    355
    155
    57
    43
See reviews for
250
414
63
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for the SEC Championship game. It was very convenient to get to the Georgia Dome and downtown restaurants.

The Ritz-Carlton downtown has a very modern feel, very different from the very traditional atmosphere of the Ritz-Carlton Buckhead. For a regular trip to Atlanta, I would choose, Buckhead, which even serves afternoon tea, but for this trip the Downtown location was great. It was nicely decorated for Christmas. They even had a display of small team helmets with M&M's in team colors with scoops and little paper bags -- just an example of their attention to detail. Our room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was gleaming.

The lobby lounge was attractive too, but a bit more separation from the lobby/check-in would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaTurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience during SEC week-end at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta. That coupled with an equally outstanding football game surely made for a great week-end. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back for the next championship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here celebrating a very special occasion. The service we received was outstanding from the time we checked into the hotel. Our room was very nice and the city view was breath taking. This was our first time staying at a Ritz Carlton Hotel and it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicago93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Congratulations on your special occasion and I am so happy to hear that your hotel experience matched the festive moment. Please come and visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here one night before heading to Savannah. The hotel was perfect. Great rooms, friendly front desk staff, waitstaff, bartenders, cleaning crew. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. Wish it could have been longer.

Green Features: The hotel promotes their commitment to the environment all over the hotel in a very tasteful way. They explain what they do and suggestions for what the guests can do.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickHDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked to see the Chick-fil-la Bowl and asked for a room that overlooked Atlanta's New Years Eve celebration at the "Underground". Our room (23rd fl) looked down the street to where Atlanta hold it's New Years Celebration. We got back to our room @ 11:57 PM turned on the TV to see the Peach (could not see it from our vantage point) count down to 2014 and when it stopped a fireworks display started. We had our Champagne to toast and watched the display for 8 minutes.
Our room was not as nice as as most of the other Ritz-Carlton's we've been at - but it was comfortable and clean and as usual the staff is exceptional. The only negative was that parking is over $30 per day. The price was actually less than many of the other hotels near bye and we walked (20 min) to the Georgia Dome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Stuart - Happy New Year! I am glad that you enjoyed your New Year's Eve Celebration at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta. Best wishes for 2014 and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here in 2009 and didn't ever want to return. Decided to try again because it was close to an appointment. Totally different experience. Everyone was really nice and engaging. Food was great. Nice room. Prices were great compared to my usual favorite, The Four Seasons. No pool but sauna and steamroom. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for giving us another opportunity and I am pleased to read that your experience was much more favorable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I expect more from the Ritz brand. The rooms were small and pretty standard for a hotel - none of the upgrades that you would expect. There was no separate bath and shower (which I have had at every other Ritz property). The bed was hard. The worst part was the lack of soundproofing. The first night we spent, there were girls across the hall who decided to take pictures in the hallway and talk loudly. They would do this for about 10 minutes and stop and come back and do it again about 15-20 minutes later - very rude but the door with its 2 inch gap to the floor let every word into the room making it impossible to sleep through (this happened until about 4 in the morning). The second night was better. After we complained, they moved us to another room. There the people in the room next door only stayed up until 2 am. This was not as annoying as it was New Year's Eve. But the basic problem is the same - no soundproofing between the rooms.

Now for the positive. We were on the club level and the service in the lounge was excellent. The service at the front desk was great when we explained the problem with the first room they immediately moved us to a different room away from the annoying girls.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonsTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments regarding the service delivery in our Club Lounge. I sincerely apologize for the noise disturbances preventing you from a good night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
#12 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Address: 181 Peachtree Street N.E, Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events at the Georgia Dome, Philips Arena and Turner Field, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing