We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Older Property, But Still a Great Experience (Especially the Club)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta
Ranked #25 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

While many reviewers have noted that the rooms are a bit outdated, I also found the rates to be very reasonable and thus was not surprised and was quite happy and comfortable. We upgraded to club room access and I was glad we did. Micah Dean, who worked in the evenings, was just exceptional and went out of his way to make it a pleasant experience for my family (I was juggling two kids, and he was just so helpful and understanding). We also loved the cook in the lounge, who was so friendly and accommodating. The rest of the lounge staff was not up to par with those two.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka_1980_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We drove to the Ritz Carlton for a quick weekend getaway in downtown Atlanta. The property is easy to find and in good location. Checking in was a breeze and the accommodations are what we expect of a Ritz Carlton. The staff was courteous and helpful although we didn't have to many interactions with them. Housecleaning and turn-down services were done daily. The room was clean and nice. Very comfortable beds and room for a standard room. We very much enjoyed our stay at this particular location, and we will be doing it again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to the Georgia aquarium. Great service, treated very well by all employees we encountered. My only complaint is the hotel rooms are a little worn. Some dust on the bathroom lights. Wallpaper a little tattered. But overall nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyloves2travel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here on our weekend away in atlanta. We wanted something walking distance to the aquarium, Olympic park, etc and the ritz fit the bill.

Hotel is nice, but agree with the other reviewers....it's not the same. It's an older hotel. My recommendation to the hotel is to pay attention to the details...for example, does the shower drain, is there enough towels, etc. we had some minor problems like that, but the service took care of all of them with a smile.

The staff is among the top for the ritz. Everyone (and I mean everyone!) was friendly and helpful. This is why we would stay at the ritz again.

Related to the service, I was disappointed that the ritz didn't offer options for transportation. One lesson learned to share is to be careful with taking cabs...they will take you (figuratively and literally). We learned the hard way. For example, I used uberx for the ride home and it was half of the way going. I was disappointed that the ritz advised 'cab' was the way to go and didn't point me in other transportation options, but live and learn. Hope this helps someone.

The accommodations are nice, but not fantastic. The service throws it over the edge to the ritz standards.



Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Elmcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My first stay was Veterans Day weekend (November 2013).

CON: I woke up with bug bites on my arm, neck and hands and had to be moved to a new room. The ipod dock in the new room didnt work and the bathrobe was stained...... It took more than 10 hours to have both replaced. The hotel gave me a complimentary fruit plate a bottle of Fiji water and comped 1 night of my weekend stay. They also mailed me a 1 free night voucher to return for a "2nd try". VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!!

PRO: Valet and front desk staff were extremely courteous.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManuelDeisen, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Melissa, thank you very much for sharing your concerns. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. I have sent you a private message with my contact information to hopefully have further dialogue. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The team stayed here for a conference.
Valet team represented the Ritz Atlanta well. Greeted and unloaded for us.
Not once was I pressured for tip, as I didnt always have change.
Car was always on time when I requested (usually called night before).
Small issue about traffic info, I asked about HOV to NW suburb (off I75), was told with moning traffic, would take 2 hrs. It took me an hour, basically i was too early for appointment. I would expect to be within 15-30mins, not 1hr early.

Check in was courteous and quick.

Room is typical upscale hotel room, bed was extremely comfortable. Each room seemed to have mixed nuts and 2 mini bottles of coke offered (oh, this is coke town...). i didnt get the coke relation till now... turn down included the usual milk and dark chocolate square. However no one noticed i only ate dark and left all the milk. detail, but this is a review on the Ritz...

Bath soaps get replenished daily. Not expecting that nowadays, but i guess nice to have extras to bring for next non-Ritz hotel stay.

Breakfast was wonderful, good selection of healthy and normal items. Fast, good service. Overall best value. I had yogurt fruit and granola with coffee and juice for $15, full breakfast for about $22. Room service coffee and 2 eggs (nothing else was darn near $30). So worth while to go down for breakfast.

Otherwise, very accommodating team.

Very convenient to children's museum, coke, GA world congress, GA aquarium.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I had friend visiting from Germany and, to give them a night away from their kid, I booked them in the downtown Atlanta Ritz for 24-hours of carefree, childless adult-time. I could not have made a better choice! From check-in to departure, the entire experience was exceptional.

The staff immediately took these weary travelers under their wing, promptly checked them and whisked them to their room - where they had been upgraded! - before my girlfriend and I joined them for dinner that evening at the Atlantic Grill. Now, I'm not normally a great fan of in-hotel dining, but our experience at the Ritz's Atlantic Grill was truly exceptional. The service was prompt, attentive (without being over-bearing, one of my pet peeves) and all-around remarkable. The waiter even provided some helpful guidance to southern cuisine, taking the time to explain fried green tomatoes, grits and other local items on the menu. My friend and I enjoyed a nice Filet Oskar (that evening's special), while my girlfriend had the beef short ribs, and my friend's wife had the salmon. All were cooked to perfection and on-par or better than any steakhouse, including the local Bones, Ruth's Chris or Morton's.

When I saw my friends the next day when I dropped of their son to join them to visit the GA Aquarium, they both had big grins on their faces and couldn't stop gushing about how great the entire experience was. Notable mentions by these experienced travelers included quality of the bedding, the cleanliness of the rooms and how exceptional the breakfast had been.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
2,293 reviews
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Atlanta Downtown
#65 of 173 in Atlanta
1,088 reviews
Buckhead
The Ritz-Carlton, Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta

Address: 181 Peachtree St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#13 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#19 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#26 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £118 - £1,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is downtown's premier business address and a luxurious oasis in the heart of the city. Awe-inspiring interiors create an unequaled environment for work and play. Surrounded by the state's centers of finance and government, and just minutes from the Georgia Aquarium and sports events, The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta is ideally situated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Ritz Carlton Atlanta
Atlanta Ritz Carlton
Ritz Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing