We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown / Midtown
Ranked #132 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very very unsafe feeling hotel. Prostitutes and sketchy drug addicts hanging around in parking lot and stairwells. Very loud place. Bass coming from cars in parking lot all night. People screaming and banging around all night in their rooms.
Awful place. Great location however.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

America's Best Inn? This has to be America's worst inn or at least Atlanta's worst...

My girlfriend and I came from Portland, OR to visit family in Atlanta. The only reason we stayed at this motel was because we booked it on Hotwire. After experiencing this place I am convinced the only reason this place is still in business is because of Hotwire. We definitely don't recommend anyone stay in this motel.

The carpet was gross and stained. The bedding was stained. Our room's floor and ceiling was stained as if it had recently suffered damage from flooding even though our room was on the second floor. We booked a non-smoking room but the bathroom reeked of cigarettes when we turned ON the fan. It was weird... The toilet continually got clogged even if we were only going pee. Luckily there was a plunger already in the room, though. There were no extra outlets for anything anywhere except one open outlet in the bathroom, and one after I unplugged the clock on the nightstand. There was a mini-fridge and microwave that we didn't use because they were both smelly and dirty. They were at least nice enough to leave a Monster energy drink in the fridge. It had probably been in there for months, though, because the can was soft (wasn't hard from the carbonation because it was partially opened or something).

We unfortunately booked two nights at this place. I wasn't expecting a maid to tidy up the place after our first night but someone actually did, so that was nice.

Anyways, I wasn't expecting an awesome experience at the place going in, but I was expecting a clean room that wasn't disgusting and one that I wasn't afraid to sleep in at night. I kept waking up to sounds of yelling and riffraff outside in the middle of the night. Lots of car door and trunk slamming for some reason. There were also people walking around the motel that didn't look like they were staying here.

So yea, I definitely don't recommend anyone staying in this place until they at least update and clean up the place first.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank codym792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a basic hotel. yes I probably would not take my family there for a week long vacation but if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay for a night or two then it is fine. the decor could definitely do with some repair/updating but the staff were helpful, the grab and go breakfast not bad, and the location good for Amtrak. experienced no problem with the area and even went out at night. your grandmother might not like it but it did what it said on the tin.

Room Tip: the vending machines are in the middle of the rooms. if you want ice stay toward the middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

the groom was horrible.floors were so filthy I could not take my shoes off.Rough people staying in the hotel.Elevator did not work.The keys never worked.It was the worse hotel i have ever stayed at.There is not one good positive thing i can say about this hotel.DO not take your family there and honestly bosses who are booking this room for their employees Do not do it.Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired and there was no reason to have so many holes in a blanket.Luckily I brought my own but our partner was stuck with a stained blanket because we could not get another one.The sheets are not fitted so as you sleep the sheets come off the bed.Which I thought was scary due to the 1970 mattresses and all the stains on the mattress.When you sleep on the bed you feel the springs,,,,,,worst stay ever and i would rather sleep on the streets then ever sleep in this place again....o yeah roaches ewwwwwwwwwwwwww

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremy and Rach... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is my second time staying in this hotel. It is close to Midtown and DragonCon and very inexpensive in comparison. We called last minute due to a horrible experience in another hotel and even though their website showed them booked the front desk person managed to find us a room. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. I had trouble with the internet and they spent time helping me resolve the issue. It is not a fancy hotel but is clean and in a safe location. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

First, asked non smoking got smoking. Second, bug the size of a huge centipede came out while my other guest was using the restroom. Then at 8:30 am a girl was held up at gunpoint(by a shotgun and machine gun) and ha her car stolen in broad daylight. Very very sketchy part of town. Take my advice. Pay the extra 30$ and stay in a nicer area. Please.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jy2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Clean room, very bright parking lot security light, safe, quiet & exceptionally nice and helpful staff...the gentleman even looked up a local restaurant of our choice. No excess amount of noise at night and they also allow for pets, our puppy enjoyed her stay and slept well.

Room Tip: First stay, floor 1 of 3...did see elevator for upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugenia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Quality Inn & Suites
#127 of 173 in Atlanta
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buckhead
Quality Suites Buckhead Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown / Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown / Midtown

Address: 1641 Peachtree St NE, between Spring Street & Dearing Street, Atlanta, GA 30309-2433 (Formerly Super 8 Atlanta/Midtown)
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown / Midtown 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Downtown Midtown, located on I-85/I-75 N/Atlanta off of exit 251 A toward 17th Street NW. We are only 13 miles from Harts-field-Jackson Atlanta International Airport in downtown Atlanta, Georgia. Start your day with our free continental breakfast. Our 40 nicely decorated spacious guest rooms feature all of the comforts of home including free wireless high-speed Internet access, hairdryer, coffeemaker, cable TV, alarm clock radio, work desk with lamp, table with chairs, and free local call access. Microwaves, mini-fridges, irons, and ironing boards are available upon request at the front desk. We also offer handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms at our downtown midtown hotel, where kids 11 and under stay free with an adult. * Pets are welcome for a nightly charge of $10. Maximum 2 pets allowed per room. Pets must be declared at check-in. * Only one vehicle is allowed per room at no charge. Additional vehicle parking if available is $30 per car. Guest must register additional car with hotel to confirm availability. All unregistered vehicles are subject to being towed away at car owner's expense and risk. Truck and bus parking available upon reservation. Explore the Atlanta zoo, or Centennial Olympic Park, and cool down in the interactive Fountain of Rings. If you are traveling with children or if you are just a kid at heart, we are within 5 minutes of fun attractions like Georgia Aquarium, where marine creatures frolic in simulations of their natural habitat. View whales, manta rays and penguins in the largest aquarium in the world. Visit the King Center to learn more about Martin Luther King and his role in America's battle for civil rights. Take the five-minute walk into Midtown and browse one-of-a-kind shops, or just enjoy downtown Atlanta for unlimited sightseeing opportunities. For example, take a CNN studio tour or discover the World of Coca-Cola. Spend a day thrill-seeking at Six Flags over Georgia, or Stone Mountain theme park. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech, or catch a Braves ballgame at Turner Field. You can find something for everyone near our downtown midtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Downtown / Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Atlanta/Midtown Hotel Atlanta
Super Eight Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing