We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #66 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Hatillo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This hotel has possibilities: excellent location, a historic site, beautiful ceilings right at the entrance and breakfast had everything I need (I only missed my croissants!). The bathroom was clean, spacious and bright. However, some renovations need to be made: rooms are dark due to the heavy curtains and the atmosphere feels heavy due to the furniture (it needs to be updated). Staff should be more careful with the maintenance of the carpets and the breakfast area. The sofa bed was not ready when I arrived for the first time nor was made for the next two days.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagrario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sagrano R,
Thank you so much for taking time to submit a review of your stay! You expressed concern regarding upkeep of the caprets and furniture, and I wish to assure you will review this carefully to ensure we maintain the hotel to the highest level possible! Please come back and stay with us again soon. We appreciate your business very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    190
    59
    11
    20
See reviews for
100
89
33
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My friends and I came to Atlanta for a Braves game and stayed one night. The location is fantastic, easy access to Marta station, Centennial Park, Phillips Arena, all the downtown attractions. Rooms were clean, and we stayed in a nice-sized suite with plenty of room and nice views of downtown Atlanta. Valet parking was a must, which can be annoying for some, but service was good. Taxis are aplenty, which we opted for to the stadium. Quick and easy taxi ride back, too. There were a few upscale clubs open within walking distance when we returned from the game for the night owls. Overall, a great spot for staying downtown!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park to avoid staring into downtown Atlanta construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Allison M,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am glad you found the location to be ideal for seeing the sights and reaching the Braves game, and the local nightlife scene! I look forward to seeing you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here to be close to the stadium for a game. It's within walking distance, affordable and close to everything. Inexpensive hotel that offers a good night sleep if full hotel amenities is not important. Valet parking only and hotel though in a busy intersection is quiet at night. Historic building is a huge plus for me. There isn't very many left in the US.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear DTravelDiva,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am glad you found our location even though in the center of downtown to be quiet and close to the area attraction for you. You are right we are one of the few historic property's left .We appreciate your business very much and ask that you please come back and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The staff was extremly pleasant and the rooms were clean and had plenty of space and comfort. Valet parking was great, we never had to wait for our car it was waiting on us as soon as we stepped outside. We were there with friends who stayed in another hotel and while we were visiting them it took over 30 minutes for valet to retrieve their car when we needed it. I have stayed in several hotels in downtown Atlanta and feel as though this was the best value and plan on staying again when I return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aretha6721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Aretha6721,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am glad you were able to utilize our 24hr valet service, the rooms to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly and helpful! We look forward to seeing you when you return to atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is located very well for access to Philips Arena, GA Dome, World Congress Center, CNN Center, Centennial Park, GA Aquarium, etc. The "suites" were much smaller than other Residence Inn's that we've stayed at in the past. The rooms could use a bit of updating. But overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear jjcain,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am glad you found the location to be ideal for seeing the sights! We appreciate your business very much and ask that you please come back and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Driving: If you are driving on Peachtree Street, the hotel sign is not visible. Our GPS took us to the right building, we drove by three times and still did not know that the hotel was right there. After calling the hotel to confirm their address, we finally figured out we need to go the other side of the hotel (Forsyth St NW) for valet parking.

Valet: We didn't use our car while we were in Atlanta. But on the day we check out, we did ask for the car so we can put our suitcases in the car before heading out to do some sight seeing. And they were really nice when we asked if we could leave our car with them until later in the afternoon (pass the check out time).

Staff: The hotel staff were polite and did their job. Many reviews mentioned how friendly they were, but that was not my experience. I had asked for a few things on my reservation (higher floor, quiet room, roll away bed and sheets and blankets for the sofa bed). I was originally assigned to a room on the third floor. After I asked, the room was changed to 17th floor, but it was right next to the elevator. I had to asked for the roll away bed twice and the sheets and blankets for the sofa bed three times. Each time the staff member was polite, but I wish I didn't have to keep on asking.

Room: The room was pretty clean (found a cheerio on the carpet). The room was small, but had everything we needed. The sink area is right next to the bed, so it would be difficult if one person is sleeping and the other person wants to get ready. We had a perfect view of the ferris wheel. It was really nice. As I mentioned before, our room was next to the elevator. For most of the night, I can hear people chatting. It was hard to sleep.

Breakfast: They had the best waffle! I always make a waffle when we are staying in hotels with complementary breakfast. For some reason, this waffle was especially crispy and fluffy. The waffle was better than the very expensive brunch we had in nice restaurants.

Location: It is a short walk to The Centennial Olympic Park, World of Coca-Cola and Georgia Aquarium. The area was empty except for street people during the day. At night, there were more people, but they looked pretty drunk around 8 pm. Our whole family (even our teenage boys) did not feel safe walking around. For this reason, we would not recommend this hotel.

It we were to visit Atlanta again, we will definitely stay in a hotel close to Centennial Olympic Park.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with a view. Definitely make some waffle for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear ReviewDC,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am sorry you found the location to be a bit challenging to find. I am sorry to hear that the highlight of your stay with us was our waffles, We appreciate your business very much and ask that you please come back and stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta and allow us to make your stay what you expect from a Marriott property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

It was a great experience Staying at the residence inn. The breakfast was good, the snacks awesome and the people there were nice. The valet service was great too and Abraham was great ! The room were really comfortable. Also the proximity to offices was a plus. Would like to come back again !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshannRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear RoshannRoy,
Thank you so much for taking time to provide us your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us! i am pleased you had such a great experience at our hotel, and that the staff including Abraham the valet were able to make your stay problem free. Please stay with us again during your next trip to Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#76 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#40 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing