We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, but huge rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #64 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dated, but huge rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was here on business. Prior to arriving the location I have sent packages to the hotel, after travelling for quite a bit I almost forgot that I sent a package to the hotel, though the check-in staff was very diligent when checking me in and made sure I got my package!

The hotel is located at a good location in downtown Atlanta and is of walking distance to most tourist spots and locations around town.

The room I was in looked a bit dated but the rooms were huge giving me plenty of space for luggage and work stuff.

The fitness room was adequate for a short stay but definitely has room for improvement.

Breakfast was acceptable - there weren't a lot of choices but I guess filling my stomach was important.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nodnarb0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear nodnarb0312, Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us! Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always looking for ways to improve. I'm glad you received your package without delay and found the size of the guest room satisfactory. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    190
    59
    11
    20
See reviews for
100
89
33
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The property was great! The hotel is very charming; maybe an old bank or office building. I highly suggest a room ending in 01 (i.e. 801) because it's a corner room to the left as you get off elevator and it's separate; no other room on either side or in front! Kind of its own little nook. Erica McCoy sales manager was great! She served at the evening social the 1st night we were there. Speaking of evening socials they offer theirs 4 nights/week and the company's minimum is 2.5 nights/week. A real value because breakfast is included everyday too. Though I don't like the hours of the social; the social is 5:30 to 7:30 which is great because it's 2 hours in length where most are 1.5 hours but that's for the food only. The bar is 5:30 to 7 which is confusing versus the brochure you get at front desk 5:30 to 7:30 that doesn't explain the difference. So a guest walks in at 7:15 for a bite and a glass of wine; out of luck on that glass of wine or beer ;-( The guest room itself was cramped but efficient; a one bedroom queen suite with Parisian style kitchen; no counter space but all amenities. The maid(s) were friendly. I particularly like one bedrooms versus efficiencies because if you're more than one person and one wants to sleep you can close the door. Breakfast was very typical for a residence inn; maintained company standard. But at both breakfast and socials they had glass plates and 'real' silverware!! Some don't have that. Anyway a great experience overall. Oh and they have complimentary toiletries at front desk (i.e. deodorant). Some don't offer that; you have to buy from market which is annoying especially for platinum elite guests. Thanks.

Room Tip: in review above...201, 301, 401, 501, corner room to left off elevator was nice kinda separate
See more room tips
Green Features: they offer those 'green' things like everyone else...hang towels to reuse, change bed linens every so often unless otherwise requested. unfortunately for this i want clean towels every day and sometimes my bed changed everyday too ;-)
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smtih1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear bergdorf2001,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay! Erica is thrilled that you appreciated her service. We are also glad you enjoyed the evening social!! Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice stay in a very nice location within walking distance of Centennial Park, The World of Coca Cola, the Varsity and the pro stadiums. The building is a historic and has been renovated with a small lobby, but a nice dedicated floor for the breakfast buffet and the health facility. Various types of restaurants nearby including the required Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts. Valet parking is very efficient and provides each car passenger a bottle of water when you leave. Rooms are OK, could be cleaned better, but have all the conveniences of a residence inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildmangolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear wildmangolfer,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad to learn you found the locaiton to be a good one for you and that the staff was friendly. I apologize that we did not meet the mark with cleanliness of your room and care very much that this was the case. Please be assured we utilize our guest feedback to continuously improve, and will take measures to increase our quality consistency. Please stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta. We appreciate your business very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had a fabulous stay at this hotel! The staff was amazing, friendly and very helpful. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. Valet parking was quick and easy. We stayed in a queen studio which was spacious and comfortable. Location of the hotel is perfect. Will definitely be staying at this hotel again if/when I return to Atlanta!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodylynne0088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear melodylynne0088,
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the staff service, found the valet parking easy and convenient, and that the location was perfect for you! Please come back and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The stay at residence Inn was more like home rather than a hotel. Not just the services were good, even the staff members were really helpful.

Abraham, Bhushbhy, Williamson, Sheron are the best staff members at the Residence Inn. They are always willing to serve you wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkushSingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear AnkushSingal, thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. The team members you mentioned are so happy to learn you appreciated their efforts to make Residence Inn your home away from home! Please come back and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Atlanta!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My family and I stayed here while attending a large Cheer tournament. As the other reviewers have stated, finding the hotel and parking are a headache for sure! On our trip, the roads were all torn apart for construction and getting to our hotel (it was within eye sight) took 15 minutes due to construction detours. The hotel is hidden, you'll miss it completely if you aren't looking close enough, especially at night! The staff was very friendly, parking consists of Valet only and it was nice, but pricey $25.00 per night- yep. The hotel is an historical renovated building and they did a great job in the modernizing of it, the elevator ride up to the room was good. The room itself, yikes- small! It's a suite with separate living and sleeping room areas, but really small! My wife and daughter slept on the queen bed and I slept on the pull out sofa. When the pull out was pulled out, no one could get into the kitchen area due to the pull out, hassle, but what can you do. Our first night, the windows were all wet with condensation and the sills all had puddled water. We pulled the blankets off our bed and saw some stains on the sheets, called the front desk and we were told someone was bringing up a new sheet. The nice person arrived at the door, gave us the new sheets and we ended up having to make the bed. Called back down to the front desk and complained as nice as possible about having to make our own beds upon arrival due to stain on sheets- the front desk comped the parking. After that, I found out my pull out had no bedding, no pillow- another call to front desk and needed bedding arrived promptly. Not a great way to start a three night stay. All I can say about the hotel was the the staff was friendly, the location was great- but I'm 99% sure we will be looking elsewhere for accommodations on our next downtown ATL stay.

Room Tip: Traveling solo- this location is great! Within walking distance of everything downtown ATL. I alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hideotakamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Hideo,
Thank you very much for taking to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us this month. Please accept my sincere apology for not providing you appropriate linens for your sofabed, and not offering to make the bed for you. The staff and I are disappointed we failed to meet your satisfaction and understand what we need to do to improve. Please contact me personally at 404-522-0950 should you wish to discuss your experience further or make a return reservation. The staff and I are determined not to allow you to be disappointed again.
Sincerely,
Christine P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is BAD. there is really no place to park to unload your things. The first night we had to valet park, it was late and we didn't know where to park. The valet people didn't understand when we were talking to them. The luggage cart couldn't come out to your car because there were steps and the cart wouldn't go down the steps, so you had to carry your things to the cart . The room was nice, it wasn't the room I wanted. The beds were low, the kitchen was o.k., the bathroom was a good size. No water pressure. I like Residence Inn, I have stayed in a few, but I wiil not go back to this one.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip, I ask for a room ,but didn't get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia_Lindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine P, General Manager at Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Cecilia, thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconveniences you may have experienced upon arrival. We care very much that you had difficulty getting your luggge unloaded and that you did not receive the room type you wanted. We are going to carefully address these concerns and ask that you give our hotel another try on a future stay as a result. Please contact me personally to discuss your concerns further. The staff and I appreciate your business very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#76 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.1 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#42 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing