We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, cramped room, overall nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #74 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We loved everything about our stay. Especially how helpful the front desk was. The front desk stood out as "Top 10" in all my travel experiences. The breakfast room and the lobby design were unique - they felt very historic and added nice ambience to the hotel. The only thing that was strange was that our one-bedroom Suite was cramped compared to most Residence Inn's that we've stayed at. We felt like we were in a "non-Marriott" New York size hotel suite... the suites design and furniture could also use a facelift. They just felt older and cramped.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2008

We were in town for the football game. We enjoyed our short stay very much. The hotel location was close to everything we wanted to see. The front desk and valet were GREAT! We had breakfast that was very good. They had a little bit of everything. The staff and the people in Atlanta were all very friendly.
The room we stayed in was one of the renovated rooms and was very nice. We hope to come back to Atlanta for a longer stay and we would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank sheila486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2008

I was given a room on the 17th floor, which are the Executive suites. The quality of the room was great - it had a fridge, cooker, sink and microwave (with complementary popcorn). An evening snack and a substancial cooked breakfast were available each day. The hotel is undergoing some renovation but this did not impact on my stay at all. It has a good location for downtown Atlanta and is yards away from the META station at Peechtree.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OctopusUK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

I stayed at the Residence Inn-downtown Atl. Aug.1-3 for my bachelorette weekend and had a great time! The hotel was very nice...I loved the historic charm it had. Me and 6 of my friends stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 20th floor and had a great view of the city! The hotel is very close to everything downtown. The Marta station is right across the street and it is in the middle of everything in downtown Atlanta. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Atlanta...oh and the breakfast is yummy too! Great place for a good price!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stephr828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Stayed at the Residence Inn Atlanta in April for work and was very pleased with this property. It's right in the heart of downtown. It looks to be an old office building redone for the hotel. The room was a bit small but it was very clean. It was what a marriott should be. The lobby is very small with just a little sitting area and a computer for guest use. The second floor has the breakfast area which is good size. The breakfast was very good, all the basic items plus hot items (eggs, bacon, grits, hash browns and so on). They serve a lite dinner from 5-7pm (free I think) but I never went. Parking was $19 a day. Staff was friendly. I paid $159 a night which seemed a bit high but compared to others it was a little lower. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FifiBojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

This one was so tiny that I had a hard time moving around in the room. There was hardly enough room to set up the cot that was brought up for an extra bed.

The rooms were clean. They had all the typical stuff that a Residence Inn room has. The price was excellent for the time of year I was there.

The staff as always (for a marriott) was great. The location was right there next to everything I needed.

  • Stayed: September 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brycen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We're an early 50's DINK couple, upper middle-class frequent travelers with tastes ranging from Broadway to Wal-Mart... sushi to McDonalds.. but with little tolerance for the grossly tattooed/pierced, profane (if loud) smokers of the world. We're not puritans or prudes (go Kathy Griffin/Chris Rock!).. we're just real people who can, at this point in our lives, usually buy our way out of steerage if absolutely necessary.

That said, we love to find a metro area base camp whose "musts" are 1) safety, 2) cleanliness, 3) vicinity and 4) value, then trek all day and night. This hotel meets all those requirements and is an easy walk to everything!). Having stayed in many 4&5 star properties while on business, this one holds its own and is quiet everywhere to boot. The lobby is small but both it and the elevators have a very nice, elegant ambiance. Staff is very professional, uniformed, soft-spoken, attentive and courteous. I mention parking only as it is so very different, but not a detriment... you have to pull up into simply a street side parking space (on Forsythe St. NW heading NE) for (one) valet. Never a long wait though. Breakfast is GREAT but gets crowded so go early.

One word of caution.. and we are NOT skiddish travelers.. avoid Underground Atlanta.. even during the day. I am from the South.. all my life.. know it well.. and it saddens me that Atlantians have attempted but failed to remove the nare-do-wells from such a otherwise lovely historic venue. Forget the downtown metro (MARTA) caves as well. Recommend Giuliani ;} for these areas but hotel and surrondings are two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JackGoPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#80 of 172 in Atlanta
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Glenn Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#54 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £105 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing