We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #72 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A bit too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

The hotel was in a perfect location in downtown Atlanta. Everything was clean and the continental breakfast was sufficient. My only complaint is that the room, and especially, the bathroom was small. I am 6'3" and the shower head was around 5'

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    193
    59
    11
    21
See reviews for
102
89
33
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Stayed at the Residence Inn for about a wk and had probably the best experience ever at a hotel. The staff are very helpful, friendly and polite. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well maintained. The room prices were very reasonable for what they provide. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast every morning. On weekdays it provides a light dinner as well as happy hour. Overall experience at this hotel was AMAZING. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed here for a business trip involving Georgia State Univ. It is less than a block from the south entrance of the MARTA subway stop (Peachtree Center). GSU is basically one block away. Everything was fine and the the staff was very helpful. The room was comfortable, although the bathroom area was small. Free wireless access worked very well. Being in a downtown area, it's impossible to avoid the homeless but it's a lively area in the daytime. Hotel appears to have good security (need a room key to enter the lobby). My room on the 4th floor was pretty quiet except for "pipe noise" from the shower hot water supply. Sometimes I had to run the water for 3-4 minutes to get hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poidog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

We loved everything about our stay. Especially how helpful the front desk was. The front desk stood out as "Top 10" in all my travel experiences. The breakfast room and the lobby design were unique - they felt very historic and added nice ambience to the hotel. The only thing that was strange was that our one-bedroom Suite was cramped compared to most Residence Inn's that we've stayed at. We felt like we were in a "non-Marriott" New York size hotel suite... the suites design and furniture could also use a facelift. They just felt older and cramped.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We were in town for the football game. We enjoyed our short stay very much. The hotel location was close to everything we wanted to see. The front desk and valet were GREAT! We had breakfast that was very good. They had a little bit of everything. The staff and the people in Atlanta were all very friendly.
The room we stayed in was one of the renovated rooms and was very nice. We hope to come back to Atlanta for a longer stay and we would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank sheila486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

I was given a room on the 17th floor, which are the Executive suites. The quality of the room was great - it had a fridge, cooker, sink and microwave (with complementary popcorn). An evening snack and a substancial cooked breakfast were available each day. The hotel is undergoing some renovation but this did not impact on my stay at all. It has a good location for downtown Atlanta and is yards away from the META station at Peechtree.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OctopusUK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

I stayed at the Residence Inn-downtown Atl. Aug.1-3 for my bachelorette weekend and had a great time! The hotel was very nice...I loved the historic charm it had. Me and 6 of my friends stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 20th floor and had a great view of the city! The hotel is very close to everything downtown. The Marta station is right across the street and it is in the middle of everything in downtown Atlanta. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Atlanta...oh and the breakfast is yummy too! Great place for a good price!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stephr828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 173 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#41 of 173 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
Address: 134 Peachtree St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-1863
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#34 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#55 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Atlanta Downtown is nestled in the heart of thriving downtown Atlanta. Situated on world famous Peachtree Street, enjoy the convenience of being only 9 miles from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport and across the street from the MARTA transit system, with direct access to Hartsfield-Jackson. Located in the historic and beautifully converted Haverty's building, Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown exudes the charm and character of a bygone era with a contemporary flair. Well appointed and spacious, our suites offer full kitchens with granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, flat screen televisions, and complimentary wi-fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing