We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #112 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
orlando, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't visit again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is in a rather good location, walking distance to Coke Museum, Aquarium, and various other attractions. The desk staff was kind, but pretty unprofessional. Breakfast was typical stale, continental type fare. Rooms were old, shabby, and kind of smelled musty. One night we came in and a guy was trying to book a room "for a couple hours" with a woman. Not such a great crowd. I'd avoid it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echraide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
Echraide,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Sincerely,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    128
    91
    44
    42
See reviews for
64
69
51
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Every staff member we met in the four days we stayed in this downtown hotel was friendly, helpful, and courteous. The price was wonderful. The location is excellent, off the main street in a relatively quiet area within walking distance (2-5 blocks) to the Convention center and downtown area. They had a small crime incident (not the hotel's fault) in the lobby the evening we were there and they handled the problem professionally. The problem at this hotel is that the property needs renovation. The rooms have shabby carpet and the beds have reached maturity. We stayed there three years ago and nothing much has changed. I won't go back next time I have business in Atlanta.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
RoaminHome,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here while in town for a concert at the Tabernacle, which is about a block away from the hotel. It was also within walking distance to Centennial Park, CNN center, and some touristy restaurants (Hard Rock, Montana Grill, and Tequila Charlie's).
Now for the bad news : We had to wait to check-in until about an hour after check-in time. We were told that this was due to rooms not being cleaned yet. While we waited, we observed multiple members fo the housekeeping staff wandering around and talking on cell phones. No one seemed concerned with all the guests waiting to check in. The front desk staff was friendly, but unprofessional. Multiple people lodged complaints about still not having towels at 3 pm, and were told by the staff that there was nothing they could do. One of the desk staff even brought her infant child to work with her. The property is very dated and in need of some maintenance. The outlet in our bathroom did not work. The shower required you to continuously adjust the temp as it went from scalding hot to freezing cold without warning.
I would still consider staying here again, but only for the sake of convenience, and for no more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4evrnblujns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
4evrnblujns,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hotel is old and has not been updated. The carpet and bathroom was subpar... For 80 bucks I wished we would have just added an additional 20-30 and stayed some place I didn't mind taking my shoes off. Good thing its for one night...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
FamilyAdventurer1,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just stayed here Feb '12. Not a horrible place for the $. I paid $85 for the room and it's right in downtown atlanta next to the marriot. Usually the location at lone would command $100 minimum per night. Parking was confusing. i don't like to pay for valet so I opted to park my car alone when I pulled up, and about 100ft down the street from the main entrance is a parking garage in the same bldg, so I parked there ($15 a day). Upon walking to the desk to check in I was informed their parking garage is cheaper, but it's located caddy corner across the st to the hotel (weird?). The desk clerk tried to convince me to go get my car from where it was parked and pull it into their garage - again, weird. I was put on the 9th floor (elevator is pretty shoddy - as soon as it stops at a floor the doors immediately open and shut to keep going, be careful). The room wasn't too bad. Decent size. Old tv, pretty visually unappealing. Bathroom was full of hairs, everywhere. Also there was a bucket under the sink to deal with a leaking pipe. I'm usually low maintenance and don't mind the occasional spot or hair, but this room just felt really dirty and gross. The bed was the worst part. Although it was a king, it was horribly uncomfortable. Worst back pain of my life in the morning.

Fitness center is a joke. Although spacious, it has a treadmill and a bike, and a multi gym weight tower in the middle, that is in awful condition and all of the cables are broken. I didn't even bother working out there. Breakfast was modest. Literally ice cold pastries, watered down juices, do it yourself waffles, and reconstituted eggs. Breakfast starts at 6 and I got there at 6:30, and a kid that apparently worked there (no id/uniform) was scrambling to set everything up - I'm guessing he was late for work. Other people he was hanging out with and eating with (other employees or his friends?) were also there chatting and having a good time. Very strange, I don't think they were guests, and I think it is inappropriate for the employees to be eating breakfast with guests.

Again, for the price I'm really not complaining, you get what you pay for. Location isn't too bad either. Had I paid more of this was a more prestigious brand hotel, I'd be writing a letter to the CEO.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunbsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
shaunbsc,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I booked my whole family to stay at the convenient downtown Atlanta. They could not spend one night there, as the rooms had NO A/C. it was January, and the temperature was on the 70's outside, so inside it was just the heater working, or nothing. No windows to open (FIRE ESCAPE HAZARD!). The water in shower was YELLOW!. Smelled bad, probably because of poor air circulation. Still trying to get my money back from my pre-paid book arrangements, plus parking. Nightmare for my family...

Room Tip: Moved to Wingate by Wyndham - Kennesaw. Far from Downtown, but good quality, large rooms, good break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karol_monteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 25 August 2016
karol_monteiro,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our service level, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel in 2 years' time and it was just as wonderful as the first! Although this hotel is older, the lobby, rooms, etc. are clean and well kept. The staff is over the top friendly,helpful and treat you as a special friend every time you walk in the door. The rooms we have had their, both an interior and streetside, have both been very quiet with wonderful views on each side. The rates are reasonable and self park is available for $15/day right across the street. There is a pub and a great little restaurant within the next block and it is about a 15 minute walk to the Georgia Dome. This will always be our "hotel of choice" when we visit Atlanta!

Room Tip: The Poplar side is a bit quieter than the Luckie Street side, but considering you are in the heart o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imayankee1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2016
imayankee1952,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Centennial Park
The Inn at Centennial Park
#122 of 173 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Atlanta Downtown
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Peachtrees
Inn at the Peachtrees
#93 of 173 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown

Property: Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
Address: 89 Luckie St NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2107
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in downtown Atlanta. Located minutes away from the downtown attraction you want to see, such as the Georgia Aquarium, Coca-Cola Factory, Tabernacle & many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Atlanta
Quality Inn Atlanta
Quality Hotel Downtown Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing