We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Nice Experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Camden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall Nice Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I took our four children (oldest is 9) to Atlanta for spring break -- the location was perfect. You can walk to the Aquarium, World of Coca-Cola, CNN Center and Centennial Park. My kids loved Ted's Montana Grill across the street! Room size was a bonus - we had our own space and the kids had theirs. I only gave 3 stars b/c we had a little hiccup - ants in our room. But, the staff was quick to respond and move our room. Once we moved, I could hear our new neighbor through the wall. But didn't hear him the next night. Very friendly staff -- good breakfast. Kids liked the afternoon cookies! Close to MARTA and quick drive to Fernbank Museum, Zoo Atlanta, Decatur, etc. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you don't hear traffic below...our original room was on the 8th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kg4clemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear kg4clemson,

Thank you for a few minutes to post a review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

My apologies on the ants in your original room, I’m glad we were able to react to the situation and resolve it to your satisfaction without delay.

Thank you for pointing out our location highlights and our friendly staff.

We hope to see you and your family for a return visit this summer!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    308
    113
    64
    43
See reviews for
327
180
55
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I recently stayed at this location and had a great experience. I was traveling alone to see a show at the nearby Tabernacle and advised check-inn staff of same. Without asking, the staff put me in a room overlooking the venue. The room was clean, comfortable and had the feel of a stylish-boutique hotel for much less of the price. The location was superb, and the area nearby had a lot more to offer in terms of dining and sight-seeing than I expected. It was nice to have the ability to use a computer/printer and also have breakfast to grab on-the-go the next morning. Best of all, when my cabbie decided to stand me up for pick up back to the airport, the lady at the front desk immediately offered to call service which showed up instantaneously, so I didn't miss my flight. Truly great service indicative of Southern hospitality, at a very reasonable price. Next time I'm back in Atlanta, I won't hesitate to re-visit. Thanks for making me feel welcome!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Kris S,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your recent experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

We strive to exceed your expectations so it’s always rewarding to hear the success stories.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Seems like these days with three kids (one a baby) that we're all about location, size and kitchens. This Hampton Inn, like the others that I have stayed in for work (extended stays) and fun has a separate bedroom for the parents, little kitchen area with fridge, sink, microwave and two TV's. And of course, Free Hot Breakfast. A bonus to get your day going, save some cash on food in restaurants and very easy for families. The square footage seemed a bit smaller than in other cities, we were definitely tripping over each others stuff, but it has an EXCELLENT location for downtown Atlanta and we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. If I were going to Atlanta in the summer, I'd stay at their sister property the Embassy Suites - on the other side of Centennial Park - just because it has a pool and summer there is very hot and humid. Our bedroom was very quiet, the kids were in the front room on the pullout sofa and the elevator bell kept them awake. Oddly, though the staff was very nice, they didn't seem to know the area very well. Across the street is the Westin, definitely visit their bar both upstairs (for the view) and down - for the bartender and her travel advice.

Room Tip: Ask to be located away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear lulu63,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

We’re glad you enjoyed the Hampton Hot Breakfast and our location convenient to everything downtown.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I left my wallet in the room after I had checked out and I was soooo nervouse but when I got back it was at the front desk and rhea had it!!! Everything was in it and they verified the contents with me before handing it over to me. I was soooo happy the ppl at that hotel are wonderful and when I come back I WILL be staying with them!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomier and no noise at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Carmella W, Thank you for sharing your experience about the honesty of our team members at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We take pride in providing a guest experience that exceeds your expectations so it’s always rewarding to hear the success stories. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. I typically stay at one of the larger hotels in Atlanta, but chose this location because it was sold out. I made a great choice. The service was excellent and accommodating. The location is also very convenient. There are many restaurants within walking distance from fast food to fine dining. I will likely be staying here during my next visit to Atlanta.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutineer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Mutineer22, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your resent stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. Thank you for pointing out our excellent location and convenience to so many restaurant options. We hope to see again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to everything. Breakfast was good and the room was well decorated and very clean. Our one complaint was the street noise. Our room was one the 4th floor and the street noise woke us up during the night and early in the morning. Would recommend a higher floor to see if that would help.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
cnc446dc, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We appreciate you pointing out our excellent location and our hot breakfast that’s included in your stay. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
254 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Walking distance to many downtown attractions like the aquarium and world of coke, which is why we chose it. Good service from staff and the room was updated even though the building is a national historic site holding on to some of it's antique charm, like the windows that offer little resistant to outside city noise.
The breakfast area was awkward and cramped leaving guests walking into one another while getting food, need another waffle maker.
Have an additional 18 dollar a day charge for the parking lot. They are a separate business that will oversell on weekend concerts and events putting your spot in jeopardy. Typical Atlanta crooks.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAppalachainRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton-Atlanta, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
TheAppalachainRogue, - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about your stay, our wonderful location, and the level of service you received. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing