We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as in the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #42 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I used to exclusively book this hotel for Atlanta Apparel market - unless it was sold out, I stayed here. But in the future, I'm not so sure. Still a great location, easy parking, pleasant front desk staff, decent complimentary breakfast, and complimentary afternoon cookies....but the room felt worn, and the shower was not in good working orde. Literally, NO hot water in the mornings, etc....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a review. I do apologize for the hot water issue during your stay. Just a few days after your departure we had a plumbing contractor onsite to fix the water circulation problem you experienced.

Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again. If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great location- right in the middle of everything. Nice hotel, nice staff, walking distance to Georgia Dome. We loved being able to park one time and walk everywhere else. The staff even remembered my name when we checked out in the morning. super nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The room was nicely decorated in a contemporary fashion but it was the smallest hotel room I've stayed in. The room was just large enough for the king bed and a small table. They had a sitting chair, but it just made the room look cluttered. There really was no room for the chair. The staff was nice and helpful. If you don't mind not having a lot of walking space, then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I have stayed here many times and it always has been great.The staff is very good, the rooms are very clean, location is right next to Atlanta's Mart. They also serve a very good breakfast with a lot of variety, enough to keep you going for the morning. They serve coffee 24/7 and also have a convenience shop.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mahendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mahendra P,

Thank you for taking an opportunity to post a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

We hope to see for a return visit soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Everything was excellent! Painstaking about changing our room when we had a noise problem. We really enjoy and try to stay at Hampton Inn's ... always first rate, this one was very first rate. TravelAdvisor has a minimum of 200 words so I am attempting to get to 200 words, I regret there is not anything else to really add to my comments ... couple of very first rate employees, especially Victoria and the breakfast hostess Ebony.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Milton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Milton W,

Thank you for taking time and effort to post a wonderful and detailed review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We´ve spent 2 nights at this hotel, and the front desk was very nice with us. They received several Amazon packages I have ordered from my country, without charging anything for it. The rooms where comfortable but unless you book the suite with kitchen, they don´t have mini-fridge. The rooms didn´t provided safe box (only at the front desk). The breakfast was ok, with cold and hot options, as well as fruits. At our check out, each guest even received a "grab and go" bag with breakfast items, such as an apple, cereal bar, muffin and a bottle of water. The parking garage is conveniently located right at the side of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want mini-fridge in the room, book a suite with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Fernanda P,

Thank you for taking a few moments to write a great review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and our staff courteous and helpful.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Where to start. I have had two extremely bad experiences at this location since September 2013. Service and amangement at this location is absolutely horrible. They do not give you the Hilton Honors respect you would expect at any HH partner. To upset to explain futher!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Crispin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

First of all, thank you for your review of our hotel. As a Hilton Honors Member we thank you for your business and loyalty and sincerely apologize if we did not meet your expectations. I understand that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. I assure you that we do everything we can to provide our guests with an exceptional stay and sincerely apologize if we fell short of your expectations.

I do apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that we value your business and will work hard to earn your trust once again. If you should have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#45 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: £117 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing