We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Ranked #43 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Montgomery, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel was wonderful. It's in a great location, rooms are clean, and the breakfast was wonderful. I will definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby was clean and the workout room was great. The only thing I would like to see is a small pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    329
    119
    70
    48
See reviews for
358
194
58
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Atlanta Downtown Hampton Inn & Suites (161 Spring St) is fantastic. Every staff member went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was wonderful. Great breakfast and location, clean hotel, but mainly GREAT staff. I could name individual staff members, but there is no need because every one of them really did go out of their way to make sure we had every thing we needed (and we were a very needed bunch). Kudos to them all!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Gwen E,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown. We strive to exceed your expectations so it’s always rewarding to hear the success stories about our team members. You can be sure I will pass this along to them.

We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phenix City, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From checkin to checkout, we were happy with this Hampton. The room that we booked was small, but tidy and spotlessly clean (king study, non smoking). The historic building makes an interesting environment and has been updated and well-maintained. We came into town for a Flogging Molly concert at the Tabernacle. The hotel was only two blocks away and a short cab ride away from tons of places to eat and shop. Even though the place was packed with cheerleaders, we had zero noise around our room and plenty of food at the free hot breakfast in the morning. The staff is friendly, especially the woman who hosts breakfast and the afternoon cookies and coffee stand (Martha?). She was a joy to meet. I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 because hotel parking is difficult to navigate and cramped (we drove a truck) and there were two instances where the houseman/housekeeper got on the elevator in front of guests. Overall, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferR405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a wonderful little Hampton Inn. Great service great location walking distance to several restaurants and attractions. The biggest issues is the parking and the paper thin walls. We didn't have anywhere to park. Was told it was ok to park in the reserved section of the employees of the parking lot next door and they still had the nearves to charges us $20.00. The other issue was the paper thin walls thought the cheerleaders staying here for competition would be the issues but it was the cleaning ladies screaming at each other during check in. Plus the rooms are a little tight

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSamAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The room and price were very nice. Only problem was it lacked microwave and mini-refrigerator. Wi-fi worked fine and complimentary breakfast was good. Location and price of the room were ideal. Parking was immediately behind the hotel. Would help if there was a ramp from the door where you unloaded your luggage into the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were stuck in Atlanta due to a snowstorm and after our 2nd flight being cancelled we booked a room at this Hampton Inn and Suites. This was one of the best hotels I have been to. This must have been an old warehouse that they converted to a luxury hotel. If you are in the downtown Atlanta area this is a must stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Katie_H87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
161HamptonGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Katie_H87,

Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta Downtown.

We looking forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Atlanta!

Hospitably Yours,
Andrew May – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dillon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I received great service during my stay. There were clean rooms and friendly staff! Free breakfast with lots to choose from. We were steps away from the Market which made it convenient for us. We didn't have to catch a shuttle or taxi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Atlanta - at Centennial Olympic Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
Address: 161 Ted Turner Dr NW, Atlanta, GA 30303-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#46 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#59 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta-Downtown hotel housed in a beautifully renovated historic building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, our hotel in downtown Atlanta was built in 1927 and provides a charming retreat with modern amenities. We are within walking distance to many attractions. Stroll through Centennial Olympic Park and splash in an interactive fountain or enjoy a concert. Observe what goes on behind the scenes during a CNN Studio Tour at CNN Center, just a few blocks away. Attend an Atlanta Falcons football game at the Georgia Dome. Phillips Arena offers sporting events, concerts and more. Explore the World of Coca-Cola, featuring a gallery dedicated to Coke and pop culture. Visit the campuses of Georgia State University or Georgia Tech University. Delta, Georgia Pacific and other major companies are blocks from our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Reserve one of our 119 guest rooms and suites featuring king- or queen-sized beds. Enjoy the extra space provided in a guest room with a separate living room or seating area with a sofa bed. One-bedroom suites provide a private bedroom and a wet bar with mini-refrigerator and microwave. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web during your stay at our hotel in downtown Atlanta. Work at the spacious desk in a comfortable ergonomic chair. If you prefer, use the convenient lap desk while relaxing on the bed. Watch your favorite cable channels on the 37-inch flat-screen HDTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta
Hampton Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing