We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cantina de Diego

La Cantina de Diego
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
new york
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I were staying close by at La Almunia del Valle and they recommended this place to us. Truly we were not expecting much but wow were we wrong! This was a really incredible meal served by the nicest people. I was worried that nobody would speak english because it is such a small town and we are not even close to speaking Spanish well, but the hostess and our waitress were lovely and really helped us out. We sat outside on the terrace, had a nice bottle of wine, and some really memorable food. We started with some tiny Cockle clams that were in a delicious garlicky "bread soaking" sauce, then we had string beans topped with fried eggs and ham, a dish we thought might be traditional to the region but found out it was the chefs creative creation... it was awesome, we are still talking about it to this day! The beans and the eggs came from a local farm around the corner, it was so fresh, so simple and so delicious. We also shared a salted cod in tomato sauce dish, and some creme brulee type dessert, every bite outstanding! If you are in this area, don't miss a chance to have a meal here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    58
    13
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best food in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant on two occasions and each time the food was cooked with care and flair using local produce and presented superbly. We've had meat and fish here and both were excellent and we bought some of their own olive oil. On each occasion we asked the owner for her recommendation on wine and were not disappointed. They also use fresh vegetables and not the tinned variety that for some reason seems popular in other establishments.

The initial recommendation came from the owners of La Almunia del Valle which is located nearby, and taking into account their own high standards we knew in advance this had to be exceptionally good and that certainly proved to be the case.

Service was very efficient and pleasant - the owner speaks a little English. There is an outside courtyard and immaculate and well decorated interior. We returned a week following our initial visit with friends who live in the area and who had never been before. They were also very impressed. It is one of the very best places we have eaten in the area and we have been to many restaurants in Granada itself and throughout the province.

Cost for a couple amounted to approximately 70 Euros for 3 courses each plus a bottle of wine and coffee and brandies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spaintrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meat of excellent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

At our hotel this restaurant came highly recommended. We went there for lunch and had a sirloin steak in garlic and an entrecote. We were informed by the very friendly and nice lady serving us that all their meats came from local Siërra Nevada cows.
Well.......the meats were so soft and tender and melted in your mouth.
The price was surprisingly low for such good food.
A great place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Levering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service, but there is definitely better food in the area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Service was good: we sent one plate back, and got something else. The fish served was nothing special though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enthousiaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“X mas day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Went here for Christmas dinner loved the atmosphere Spanish families all around served by the owners son also called Diego... food was great....... prices were good....... the Bill was 100 euros for three people three courses on x mas day including wine ........would recommend this restaurant and will return when in Granada next

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loulousheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina de Diego also viewed

Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
 
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park
 
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park
 

Been to La Cantina de Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing