We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This is such a beautiful hotel. ALL of the staff (and dog) are very welcoming and it very much feels like it is yours for the time you stay. The attention to detail is quite brilliant and fixtures and fittings very classy indeed.

We stayed in the room with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was superb.

We love our food, and the only criticism would be of the evening meal. It was ok and some of it was cold when it should have been hot. In saying that, we really do expect great food and in the whole grand scheme of things, it mattered very little and didn't taint our stay.

It's a little hard to find, but well worth the perserverance and the odd argument with the sat nav/girlfriend (!) as when you get there all your stress simply disappears into the Andalucian air.

Will definitely go back at some stage, can't praise it enough.

Ps. if the owner see this - sorry it has taken us so long to do this!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
261
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Just returned from a wonderfull stay -Can't praise this establishment enough.
Superb in every way.
Our 4yr old daughter loved the 'swimming pool' sized bath.
We are looking forward to our return.
Thanks to everyone for looking after us!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We traveled for 2 weeks in Portugal and southern Spain, and La Almunia was at the top of our list for a fabulous B&B experience! What a place, what an experience, and what a great value!

Starting with the property and our room - impeccable! Our room - one of two that had a seperate patio overlooking the gorge and mountains - was spacious and well appointed. White linens, white chairs, modern and clean lines, and comfortable beds. The front wall was glass to enjoy the view (or close the curtain for privacy). One night we enjoyed watching the goats being herded with their bells chiming in the distance. Sunrises/ sunsets were a delight.

The bathroom was outstanding. A HUGE tub shower combo (for one/ two) with modern blue luminescent tiles and fixtures, fluffy robes and slippers - only a glass wall to separate from the bedroom makes it very romantic. :-)

Dining was in the main building. Breakfast was generous with patries, bread (hot!), fruit, yogurts, cereal, eggs, cheese, meats, juices, coffee/tea. You could dine inside or outside pending the weather/temperatures. Some guests who were leaving early got "to-go" service the prior night.

We decided to eat at La Almunia our first night. It was fun to meet so many other folks from around the world at cocktails, and the dinner was very good. We especially liked the bread ritual with rubbing galic, tomatoes and finishing with olive oil. Yummy! Service was personal from taking the order to the chef speaking with each table at the end of dessert.

We walked down the hill and into the gorge in the late afternoon. A very pleasant hike- not too strenuous. It was too cool to enjoy the pool, but the grounds were well groomed and welcoming. Several guests spent the afternoon in the sun reading and relaxing.

Directions- La Almunia gets an A+++!!! We really loved the photos of the signs on how to get to the B&B. It was a great accompaniment to the written directions and a super stress reducer for the driver and the navigator. (Just be prepared for steep hills, one way roads and hairpin turns up the final drive.) Likewise, for directions to the Alhambra. Very helpful with maps and info. Also, helped us set up an olive oil tour (in Zafra) on the day we left for the Hill Towns.

Would love to visit again and stay for more than 2 nights. It was a special treat and a highlight of our trip!

Tip- Plan a whole day in Granada for the Alhambra and the Albazin. There is so much to see; don't rush it. It is a remarkable collection of buildings and gardens.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Being a country girl and being as it's so hot in Spain in August, I didn't want to stay in Granada itself but a little drive away in the slightly cooler and quieter hills. La Almunia del Valle fitted the bill perfectly.

So many good things have already been written about this hotel and I can only agree with all of them. Our room, a superior, on the first floor with it's own lovely terrace was just perfect. Beautifully furnished, immaculate and well stocked with free water, juice and many toiletries (forget bringing your own shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser - there is loads in the bathroom and really gorgeous).

Maria at the front desk was just amazingly helpful and full of the best advice. You cannot go wrong following her suggestions. In the end we ditched the guidebooks and just referred to her for help. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Thank you Maria.

The setting is stunning. A hearty breakfast, which included just the best pastries ever, plus loads of other goodies, on the terrace overlooking the mountains was a wonderful way to start the day. We combined sight seeing with a couple of hours each day under the shade of the Olive trees by the lovely swimming pool reading and swimming. So very relaxing and quiet.

Monachil itself is a fine old (small) town. You can easily walk down the lane in the evening for dinner but getting a taxi back up is advisable unless you don't mind a mile or so walking up a steep hill and are lazy like us! The restaurants in Monachil will organise one for you. We ate out at Manolo and loved it. Rustic, full of locals, open until very late and with good food. Two other nights we ate out in Granada. We got a taxi in and out, which cost 16 Euros one way and meant we could down a hearty amount of mojitos and cava and not worry about driving. On the remaining night we ate at the hotel. A lovely setting watching the sun go down and then sitting amongst the lovely tree lights. My husband likes the more rustic, basic fare and their food, whilst very lovely, was a bit more french/stylish in style.

The Sierra Nevada is right on your doorstep and worth investigating. We had a little wander but was really too hot for proper hiking. We'd like to come back again in Spring and see all the flowers and do some proper walking.

Really there is loads to do and see on your doorstep and this Hotel is just a joy to come back to after every trip out.

Came home refreshed and happy and wanting to go back again, just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tegk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel with two friends for one night in July. I was sorry to leave after such a short stay because the hotel is a charming, beautiful, intimate place. The views are superb, the terraces are quietly elegant and the pool is a peaceful, unpretentious and soothing place to relax on a scorching Spanish afternoon. The owners are kind and accomodating, and the entire staff is warm and inviting. I'd definitely return in a heartbeat.

One word of caution is the location. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive away from Central Granada, so not ideal if you are planning to spend the evening walking the winding Granada town streets. However, in my opinion, this hotel is well worth the drive outside of Granada.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We visited this hotel at the end of July after a staying a couple of nights in Seville. We had a wonderful welcome by Maria who showed us around and to our room. All the rooms seemed to have great views across the valley. We had a standard double without a private terrace - we found the pool area very spacious and quiet most of the time. The terrace where breakfast and dinner were served was lovely. We really appreciated the quality and simplicity of the food - one meal for everyone. The team were quietly efficient which led to a relaxing stay for us, nothing was too much trouble. Our new favourite hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is possibly the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The rooms are perfect, every little detail seems to have been thought of. The view from our private sun terrace was outstanding, as was the view from almost every part of the hotel. Breakfast was lovely with lots of very fresh produce as was the evening meal.
There is no doubt a car is a good idea but once you arrive at this hotel you are in danger of never wanting to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
2.2 mi away
Hotel Granada Palace
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
604 reviews
7.9 mi away
El Lodge
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
145 reviews
7.6 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Santa Isabel la Real
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
892 reviews
7.7 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 13 in Nevada
559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huerta del Laurel
Huerta del Laurel
#4 of 9 in Monachil
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Property: La Almunia del Valle
Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing