We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tranquil beauty”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful place for 2 nights. We booked here to avoid having to drive into Granada, it was a great choice, the view across the Sierra Nevada was stunning and it was so peaceful. We had a first floor room with a big balcony looking out over the mountains, truly breathtaking. The room had great attention to detail with lovely furnishings and decoration, bathroom was excellent.
We had dinner here both nights and the food was really delicious. Breakfast was very generous, some self served some served to us, very good.
The drive to the hotel is along a very narrow road so we did not want to venture out at night, but there was no reason to.
I would highly recommend this place not only for a good base to explore National Park around the Sierra Nevada but also for a relaxing holiday or to visit Granada and the Alhambra.
There was a large swimming pool but we did not swim as it was not warm enough.
It only took about 20-25 minutes to drive to Alhambra which was our reason for coming here, well worth a visit, amazing place.

Room Tip: Book a first floor room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    47
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
270
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We recently stayed at this delightful hotel. It is situated about 8km out of Granada in the Sierra Nevada national park. You need the directions given by the hotel as the sat nav will get you to Monachil but no further. The directions were good and we managed to get to the hotel, though the road is only one car width and a little worrying in places but well worth making the trip. There is free parking at the hotel.

Jose Manual greeted us on arrival and gave us a tour of the hotel and its history. The hotel is decorated stylishly. Our room was number 7 and we were on the first floor with an outside balcony overlooking the pool which fantastic views of the mountains. The room was decorated tastefully and felt like a home. The shower over the bath was good and they provide most of the toiletries that you need. They are both very clean and the bed was comfortable. They even have a kettle for as Jose put it 'the English'.

The pool is a nice extra but is not heated so a little cold in early June. We had two days of rain which apparently is unusual but as you are so close to the mountains not surprising.

There are walks which you can do from the hotel or drive a little way and walk from there. The hotel provide games such as solitaire, cards, table football in the lounge.

We had breakfast on the terrace which was lovely and buffet style. We also had a tray the night before if we were leaving early for the day. We chose to eat the evening meal at the hotel on 3 out of our 4 night stays. Patricia does the cooking and provides a 5 course meal for 35 euros per person (wine was extra at about 17 euros per bottle). The normal routine is a tapas course of grilled bread with garlic, olive oil, tomato and some sort of sausage. Then a soup course followed by a vegetarian course. The main courses were: sea bass cooked in salt, roast beef and whole poussin chickens. This is followed by a small dessert. The food was lovely and it provided the opportunity to chat with the other guests over coffee in the lounge area. It made a nice change to not have a choice in what was for dinner so it was always a surprise.

We spent one of our days in Granada and chose to book a taxi so that we did not have to worry about parking and could have a drink or two. The taxi cost about 16 euros one way and coming back taxis were easy to get in the town centre, though you have to ask to go to Monachil old town and then direct the driver from there. It takes about 25 minutes to drive to the Alhambra.

We would definitely go back to the hotel and would recommend it to people who want something a little more individual, relaxed and quiet out of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil.B.P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This is such a beautiful hotel. ALL of the staff (and dog) are very welcoming and it very much feels like it is yours for the time you stay. The attention to detail is quite brilliant and fixtures and fittings very classy indeed.

We stayed in the room with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was superb.

We love our food, and the only criticism would be of the evening meal. It was ok and some of it was cold when it should have been hot. In saying that, we really do expect great food and in the whole grand scheme of things, it mattered very little and didn't taint our stay.

It's a little hard to find, but well worth the perserverance and the odd argument with the sat nav/girlfriend (!) as when you get there all your stress simply disappears into the Andalucian air.

Will definitely go back at some stage, can't praise it enough.

Ps. if the owner see this - sorry it has taken us so long to do this!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Podge29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Just returned from a wonderfull stay -Can't praise this establishment enough.
Superb in every way.
Our 4yr old daughter loved the 'swimming pool' sized bath.
We are looking forward to our return.
Thanks to everyone for looking after us!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We traveled for 2 weeks in Portugal and southern Spain, and La Almunia was at the top of our list for a fabulous B&B experience! What a place, what an experience, and what a great value!

Starting with the property and our room - impeccable! Our room - one of two that had a seperate patio overlooking the gorge and mountains - was spacious and well appointed. White linens, white chairs, modern and clean lines, and comfortable beds. The front wall was glass to enjoy the view (or close the curtain for privacy). One night we enjoyed watching the goats being herded with their bells chiming in the distance. Sunrises/ sunsets were a delight.

The bathroom was outstanding. A HUGE tub shower combo (for one/ two) with modern blue luminescent tiles and fixtures, fluffy robes and slippers - only a glass wall to separate from the bedroom makes it very romantic. :-)

Dining was in the main building. Breakfast was generous with patries, bread (hot!), fruit, yogurts, cereal, eggs, cheese, meats, juices, coffee/tea. You could dine inside or outside pending the weather/temperatures. Some guests who were leaving early got "to-go" service the prior night.

We decided to eat at La Almunia our first night. It was fun to meet so many other folks from around the world at cocktails, and the dinner was very good. We especially liked the bread ritual with rubbing galic, tomatoes and finishing with olive oil. Yummy! Service was personal from taking the order to the chef speaking with each table at the end of dessert.

We walked down the hill and into the gorge in the late afternoon. A very pleasant hike- not too strenuous. It was too cool to enjoy the pool, but the grounds were well groomed and welcoming. Several guests spent the afternoon in the sun reading and relaxing.

Directions- La Almunia gets an A+++!!! We really loved the photos of the signs on how to get to the B&B. It was a great accompaniment to the written directions and a super stress reducer for the driver and the navigator. (Just be prepared for steep hills, one way roads and hairpin turns up the final drive.) Likewise, for directions to the Alhambra. Very helpful with maps and info. Also, helped us set up an olive oil tour (in Zafra) on the day we left for the Hill Towns.

Would love to visit again and stay for more than 2 nights. It was a special treat and a highlight of our trip!

Tip- Plan a whole day in Granada for the Alhambra and the Albazin. There is so much to see; don't rush it. It is a remarkable collection of buildings and gardens.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Being a country girl and being as it's so hot in Spain in August, I didn't want to stay in Granada itself but a little drive away in the slightly cooler and quieter hills. La Almunia del Valle fitted the bill perfectly.

So many good things have already been written about this hotel and I can only agree with all of them. Our room, a superior, on the first floor with it's own lovely terrace was just perfect. Beautifully furnished, immaculate and well stocked with free water, juice and many toiletries (forget bringing your own shampoo, conditioner and moisturiser - there is loads in the bathroom and really gorgeous).

Maria at the front desk was just amazingly helpful and full of the best advice. You cannot go wrong following her suggestions. In the end we ditched the guidebooks and just referred to her for help. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Thank you Maria.

The setting is stunning. A hearty breakfast, which included just the best pastries ever, plus loads of other goodies, on the terrace overlooking the mountains was a wonderful way to start the day. We combined sight seeing with a couple of hours each day under the shade of the Olive trees by the lovely swimming pool reading and swimming. So very relaxing and quiet.

Monachil itself is a fine old (small) town. You can easily walk down the lane in the evening for dinner but getting a taxi back up is advisable unless you don't mind a mile or so walking up a steep hill and are lazy like us! The restaurants in Monachil will organise one for you. We ate out at Manolo and loved it. Rustic, full of locals, open until very late and with good food. Two other nights we ate out in Granada. We got a taxi in and out, which cost 16 Euros one way and meant we could down a hearty amount of mojitos and cava and not worry about driving. On the remaining night we ate at the hotel. A lovely setting watching the sun go down and then sitting amongst the lovely tree lights. My husband likes the more rustic, basic fare and their food, whilst very lovely, was a bit more french/stylish in style.

The Sierra Nevada is right on your doorstep and worth investigating. We had a little wander but was really too hot for proper hiking. We'd like to come back again in Spring and see all the flowers and do some proper walking.

Really there is loads to do and see on your doorstep and this Hotel is just a joy to come back to after every trip out.

Came home refreshed and happy and wanting to go back again, just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tegk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed in this hotel with two friends for one night in July. I was sorry to leave after such a short stay because the hotel is a charming, beautiful, intimate place. The views are superb, the terraces are quietly elegant and the pool is a peaceful, unpretentious and soothing place to relax on a scorching Spanish afternoon. The owners are kind and accomodating, and the entire staff is warm and inviting. I'd definitely return in a heartbeat.

One word of caution is the location. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive away from Central Granada, so not ideal if you are planning to spend the evening walking the winding Granada town streets. However, in my opinion, this hotel is well worth the drive outside of Granada.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
621 reviews
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
148 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,194 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
961 reviews
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Property: La Almunia del Valle
Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing