We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed two nights in a superior room. The stay was in every aspect a wonderful stay, all the way from the very personal and informative reception. This is the rare kind of hotel where the star rating system doesn’t really tell you the level of service provided.

The room was bright, beautifully decorated and of decent size. It offered good views of the surrounding countryside and a private terrace. More or less perfect, but a better air condition would be preferable. Wifi in the room would also have been nice.

The property itself offers a huge lawn and a good pool. It also has sun loungers for all guests. The breakfast/dinner terrace was also spacious and offered the same wonderful views as the rest of the property. A few more tables in the shade would have been good for breakfast, as it gets too hot in the sun and the indoor breakfast room does not boost any views. The food served was of high quality, especially dinner. The concept is homemade, local food, and you do not get any choice of plates. This can be a bit too exciting for some, but for us they provided some of the best dinners on ours two week round trip of Spain.

As other reviewers have pointed out the road leading to the hotel is a bit narrow, but not too tricky. Our build-in GPS did not find the hotel, but the mobile app from TomTom did. There are also a couple of signposts showing the way from the village. It looked like there is just enough parking for everybody at the hotel.

To sum up I would say that this stay was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Spain. If you like good service, tranquillity and lovely views, this hotel is an excellent destination in its own right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IWG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Granada. Only for the views of the valley you should go to this B&B. We had a corner room with a terrace overlooking the property and the valley.
There is a nice garden with a small swimmingpool which is perfect after a day in Granada, here you can enjoy the tranquillity with a beer from the pool bar.

About the breakfast: in one word SUPERB!!! There is a large choice of fresh fruit, cereals, bread, cheeses and meat. You get fresh orangejuice at the table and coffee or tee.

You will need a car to get to this B&B, driving distance to Granada and Alhambra is 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Maunuel and Patricia welcome you into their home as the valued guests that you are. Patricia cooks like a dream, simple? Local produce prepared to order. Lovely wine to accompany. And on a perfect setting. Breakfasts on the terrace equally enjoyable. It's simple, the rooms comfortable, and well priced. All we would have asked for is wifi on the rooms and not just on the terrace. We will come back if we can.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Fabulous hotel, great views / location. Patricia was a fantastic hostess and great cook. Seriously, there is no need to go into Granada for dinner, let Patricia and her team serve you a 5 course dinner in beautiful surroundings and watch to light change over the hills as the sun sets. Dinner is served on the balcony at 8.00pm, at around 8.45pm you start to hear the sound of bells in the distance and then slowly, a herd of goats comes into view, being moved from field to field - idyllic! Room (superior) was great, comfortable bed, sunken bath, ipod docking station, private balcony. You won't regret booking hear, like us, your only regret will be not staying for longer - 3 nights was not enough!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room - great value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horman-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a wonderful welcome from Manuel and Patricia. A charming couple with a relaxed yet highly professional approach to their guests. All staff were very well trained and friendly. The food was just wonderful and a highlight to our week's stay, as it was served on the terrace with the fabulous views. Nothing was too much trouble for Manuel and Patricia and they were so helpful with arranging flamenco shows and guiding us in our trips to the Sierra Nevada. The location was perfect for Granada. Just a few miles to drive and then back to the perfect temperature of the hills. Granada itself was a fantastic city with so much to see and enjoy. We will return.

Room Tip: We had one of the newer rooms (2 available). Very comfortable and equipped, with an excellent balony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBlindleyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

What an absolutely beautiful hotel! It was so peaceful, the view was absolutely outstanding and just fantastic service - so thoughtful with all the advice and we felt so welcome. Definitely have a night in with the dinner, we had massages as well which were fantastic. Lovely walk near by which we'd wish we'd had longer to do. Grenada only 16 euros away in a cab, so pleased we decided to stay out here rather than in the town - it was an extra treat to be in the mountains. We had room 12 which was gorgeous, the shower was as fab as it looks in the photos and the bed was so comfortable. We loved it here - can't wait to come back for longer next time!

Room Tip: Room 12 is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123sun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We booked into La Almunia based on a picture of the view and the good reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed.

The welcome we received was genuinely very friendly from the owners and their staff. The food was good (we had one dinner in). The breakfast was also very good, especially on our second morning when the weather was nice enough to sit on the terrace looking at those lovely views. One of the things we liked is that the Hotel is relatively small and has a good lounge area for pre and post dinner drinks. This adds to the convivial atmosphere as the limited number of guests did chat to each other.

It's location is also very good for getting to the Alhambra (surely one of the wonders of the world). It's on the southern side of Granada like the Alhambra. You drive a few miles back towards Granada and then join the southern ring road and follow signs. This takes you straight to the Alhambra car park. We left our car there for about 12 hours at a cost of about 17 euros.

The road to the Hotel goes through a couple of large villages - you need to follow the Hotel's directions. After leaving the last one it becomes quite narrow and twisty, but it is tarmac all the way. It wasn't a problem.

We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
2.2 mi away
Hotel Granada Palace
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 8 in Monachil
705 reviews
7.9 mi away
El Lodge
El Lodge
#2 of 26 in Sierra Nevada National Park
161 reviews
7.6 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 12 in Nevada
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 12 in Nevada
588 reviews
8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
2 mi away
El Balcon de las Nieves
El Balcon de las Nieves
#1 of 2 in La Zubia
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range: £98 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing