We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Almunia del Valle
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My first stop on our honey moon was La Almunia Del Valle.

I was greeted from my car by the owners who gave my wife and I a tour of the grounds. We opted for dinner as we arrived in the evening, wisest decision taken on our holiday! We had an amazing 4 course meal cooked with the freshest of ingredients. Our room was the superior terrace room whih meant we had our own private view of the phenominal Sierra Nevada range from our room.

The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast i have ever been served and i have had a lot of hotel experience.

Simply put, its worth every cent and the food was amazing. Definately staying here again on my next visit to Andalucia!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ayousef90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    47
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
274
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Last year we spent a week in la Almunia del Valle, and had a perfect stay, so we decided to come back. This time we took the comfortable bus from Malaga to Granada, and a taxi to the hotel. It helped that we knew directions, because the hotel is 1 km outside Monachil (and some 150 m higher!), overlooking the valley and foothills of the Sierra Navada. Maria welcomed us again and showed us our room, one of the 4 new built rooms. We had the difficult task to compare it with the one we had last year. Both are excellent, with minor differences you won't notice when you are a first timer. Bed, shower, airco etc in one word perfect, "private" terrace, coffee/tea/water complimentary. Breakfast superb with toast, olive oil and mashed tomato, or home made cakes and pies, cold cuts, cheeses etc. Dinner on site is a standard 4 course meal (gazpacho, vegetables as salad or pie, meat or fish as main course, and dessert). You can probably ask for vegetarian if you want. There is a -relatively small- choice of wines that are very nice and affordable. On our last day Patricia, the owner, asked us what we wanted for dinner, because we had had the main course already on our first day. She proposed to make us lamb from her mother's recipe because we were considered to be VIPs as returning guests, and we never tasted such a delicious piece of lamb before.
The small scale of this cortijo with a staff of 10 persons (no changes from last year) made us feel as on a family visit, although we were treated as royalty.
Because we had no car this time- you definitely need one if you want to visit Granada, Cordoba, the Sierra Nevada, or when you don't want to walk to the supermarket or restaurants/bars in Monachil, and climb back to the hotel- and Maria offered to take us some 12 km up to 1500m, were we started a challenging walk back to the hotel over hills and through a canyon.
These 8 days were so relaxing, partially thanks to poor wifi and telephone signal, that it will be hard to decide to go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Of all the places we stayed during our two week trip in Andalusia, this was the best. Book immediately!
The location was stunning, the pool and gardens were relaxing, the terrace where we ate was lovely. There was even a masseuse by the pool, who gave the best massage I have ever had in my life!
We stayed with my parents in rooms 11 and 12, which were very private and great fun. There was a massive bath/wallow with shower. Incredible bed, seating area with the view of the mountains, private seating area outside the room.
The food was out of this world, very local and Spanish. The breakfasts were different every day, and delicious. But the dinners in the evening were exemplary. Several different starter courses followed by a main course and pudding. Truly delicious and we tried various dishes that we'd never had before. Most of the guests ate dinner there, because it was so amazing eating there with the sun going down over the mountains.
The location of the hotel was brilliant, it had the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere. I can imagine some people might find the single track road a bit hairy, but it was great! And within 20 minutes we were at the Alhambra.
Having seen the city of Granada we were so pleased to have stayed in this oasis in the countryside.

Room Tip: Room 12 was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Almunia del Valle is a little out above the mountain village near Granada Monachil, accessible only by a narrow road. Traveling by car is therefore essential. We were greeted on our arrival by the owner very warmly and were guided throughout the hotel. The entire hotel is beautifully and comfortably furnished, especially our room ("Superior" with terrace), that had a large glass facade with a wonderful view over the area of the Sierra Nevada. Also, the bed was very comfy.
The hotel has only about 15 rooms and the service is therefore very personal, but not intrusive. Due to the quiet location, the Almunia is particularly suitable for couples to relax at the pool, that features a self-service bar, or for a day trip to nearby Granada. It might be a bit boring for families with children, though.
On one night of our stay we had dinner in the hotel, which we would highly recommend. We had a lovely fresh 5-course menu at a very good price.

Negative points? Nothing significant. If something has disturbed me, it was perhaps the slightly pungent, lemony smell in the room (detergent?) and the somewhat noisy water pipes. Also cleaning material was forgotten/lost in and in front of our room once.

All in all, we'd highly recommend the Almunia.

Room Tip: Superior room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxylept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in this beatiful and isolated hotel in June with my family of 2 young children. The hotel is 25 min drive from Garanda city and used to be an old Cortijo (Andalusian farm house). We stayed in one of the newer rooms and quality is very good and clean. The small hotel also has a small pool. The staff is very friendly and food is good. For dinner will have to book in advance 1 day as the Kitchen only buys fresh items and does not keep them in the freezer. You only book the dinner without knowing what is the menu, whcih is a surprise the following day. The access might be challenging with a bigger car, as its road is quite steep and narrow up the mountains. Indeed a nice place to recommend and quite an unusual type of accommodation and hotel.

Room Tip: Stay better in the newer rooms, large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at La Almunia del Valle three nights on our 10 day road trip trough Spain. I am not exaggerating when I say that this part of our trip was our favorite. If you are in the area visiting the Alhambra perhaps or Granada in general you'd really miss something special if you don't spend a few nights here. From the minute we arrived we felt so welcomed by Patricia and Maria, you can see that it is very important to them that you are happy and enjoying your stay. It's a very relaxing environment, very low key. As others have said, don't expect things like turn down service, wifi in your room or luxurious toiletries in your bathroom, this is not that kind of place but it is beautiful at the same time. Our room was lovely, with a nice terrace to sit out on with a glass of wine to take in the incredible view. The food served here is some of the best we've ever had. Not only is it delicious but it is also styled and presented beautifully for both breakfast and dinner. There are some snacks and wine by the pool area that you can take on the honor system where you just write down what you have had. We were there on a sunday and they don't serve dinner on Sundays so we went down the road less than 5 minutes to La Cantina which was fabulous as well. Really nice people and a wonderful meal. Bottom line is that this place is sweet, simple and special. It's peaceful and quiet and a wonderfully beautiful romantic escape.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A breathtaking view of the Sierra Nevada, delicious dinners with excellent selection of wines, nice and cosy room. And of course very helpful and friendly staff. The time we spent in this hotel was memorable. there's nothing to dislike.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
628 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
927 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
El Balcon de las Nieves
#1 of 2 in La Zubia
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almunia del Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almunia del Valle

Property: La Almunia del Valle
Address: Camino de la Umbria s/n, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Almunia del Valle 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Almunia del Valle is a boutique charm hotel situated in one of the most beautiful spots in the Sierra Nevada Natural Park located in the municipality of Monachil, Granada, Andalucía. At just 8 kilometers form downtown Granada, the hotel gives the visitor the luxury to be able to enjoy a natural setting of the valley, surrounded by the high picks, and crossed by the river that gives its name to the village Monachil where light and silence claim our senses. The owners Jose Manuel Plana & Patricia Merino supervise daily and personally every detail, the high level of attention given to our guest by the hotel staff makes the stay in La Almunia an unforgettable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Almunia del Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Almunia Del Valle Hotel Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Monachil
La Almunia Del Valle Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing