We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel with friendly owner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with friendly owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Alicia Carolina is 15 minutes drive from Granada. It was difficult to find the first time - the directions on Booking.com state that it is on the left when it is in fact on the right, which didn't help and we drove around the area many times! We found that the area where it is situated is more suburban than we had expected; it is on quite a busy road with houses all around and is not actually in the village of Monachil, but in the Monachil barrio. However there is a bus stop right outside the hotel with buses to Granada about every 30 minutes, which was convenient and we did not always use the car. The hotel has a private car park, free of charge.
The hotel is typically Spanish, rather dark but this is not unusual. The slightly eccentric owner is very welcoming and helpful and advised us on buses, restaurants and the best areas in Granada for tapas bars, and supplied us with a map. The room was spotlessly clean and had a very good bathroom. The lighting could have been better for reading and there was little room for putting away clothes - no drawers at all which was a nuisance as we were staying 3 nights.
The breakfast was good and the homemade cake particularly welcome. We were given a glass of orange juice when we first arrived.
Overall we were quite pleased but I think we would stay in the Albaicin in Granada another time, or in the village of Monachil.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia H, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thank your for your review, we work every single day for improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Family owned hotel, typical spanish equiped rooms. Equal to a 4star hotel, only very small. The owner make you feel like a family member or an old friend, instead of a hotel guest. Continental breakfast with home made cake was wonderfull. Nice place in the mountains, only few minutes from Granada.
I have stayed in many hotels, but this was really something special.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PHweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia H, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su estancia en nuestro hotelito, nuestro trabajo va dirigido a que nuestros huespedes disfruten lo maximo de su estancia tanto en el hotel, como aconsejandole en sus visitas turisticas. Esperamos que nos visiten pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2007

This hotel was an excellent choice but a little difficult to find in the dark. The hotel and rooms were typically spanish and very welcoming. The receptionist did not speak a lot of English but she was waiting for us when we arrived later than expected. Breakfast was included in the price and contained everything that you could think of in a continental breakfast. There was room to park our hired car off the main road. Would definitely visit this hotel again as the views of the valley were fantastic.

  • Liked — The interior decor of the hotel and courtyard
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SianP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia H, Gerente at Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Thanks a lot for your review, we were sorry because in that occasion the receptionist was new one and she didn`t explain properly everything. We work hard to improve,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monachil
0.7 mi away
Hotel Granada Palace
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
9.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Huerta del Laurel
Huerta del Laurel
#5 of 9 in Monachil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
9.1 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 13 in Nevada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
9.2 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina

Property: Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina
Address: Calle Granada 1, 18193 Monachil, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Monachil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Monachil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel Alicia Carolina is located in a strategic position thus for visiting the historic center of Granada and the Alhambra (7 min drive) or venture into the wonderful National Park Sierra Nevada. The building is made according the traditional way in the area, with a magnificent orientation that offers spectacular views of the mountains of Sierra Nevada, Monachil Valley and Granada. All our rooms are spacious and lovingly decorated, creating a fusion between traditional and modern furnishings. They are equipped with everything you need so you can enjoy your stay with all the comforts. We have a cozy reading room with fireplace, Andalusian patio, terrace with spectacular views. We have heating, air conditioning, WIFI, TV and amenities in all our rooms. The hotel uses local products to prepare dishes based on traditional recipes. In addition to exquisite handmade pastries. Free parking for our customers and bus stop outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Boutique Alicia Carolina Province Of Granada/Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing